We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, pleasant French dining”
Review of Le Central

Le Central
Ranked #10 of 85 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Farm to table neighborhood French bistro serving modern versions of French classics.
South Kingstown, Rhode island
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Excellent service, pleasant French dining”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

On the main street paralleling the waterfront this French style bistro offers excellent service, good food and good cabaret style music to dine with and a nice atmosphere with candles and white tablecloths. The appetizer menu is more interesting than the entrees which are fairly typical of an American French style bistro. The waitstaff were amazingly attentive and did not rush us. They paid close attention to empty plates and water glasses. No plate was removed until all had finished their dishes. The salad portions were very generous, more than enough for two and reasonably priced by today's restaurant standards for this quality. The greens were nicely dressed and the 4 Coriander grilled shrimp served with avocado, cucumbers and tomato on a bed of mesclun greens were excellent. They offer a special menu as well as the regular menu. The charcuterie plate was bit pricey as half the plate consisted of pickled vegetables with smaller amounts of sausage, pate,and a terrine. Mussels that evening were on the special menu and were served with a super abundance of pommes frites that were hot,crisp and not oily. The mussel portion was also generous. The have a very large hamburger platter with local beef which also came with French fries and greens.There are special desserts as well as those on a regular dessert menu and not all were chocolate. The restaurant is pleasant , the service is excellent and the atmosphere is very conducive to a pleasant dining experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fergrimes-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    38
    9
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely French bistro!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The French music was lovely along wih the atmosphere but, most important, the food was excellent! We stopped in for Easter brunch and we're fortunate they had a table. The produce was fresh, the eggs were from a local farm, and the dishes extremely creative. The ratatouille omelet was excellent and the Caesar salad with grilled chicken and fig-anchovy crostini was wonderful! I look forward to having dinner here the next time I visit my RWU student.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travlin'cook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A Bit Of France In Rhode Island”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Wonderful experience. A lunch time menu of various meat/fish/veggie offerings. Soups(onion and fish base) were excellent. Luncheon portions were wonderful,in size and quality. Wine list is adequate but overpriced. Waiter was pleasant and allowed time for converstaion. Worth the trip to this Bristol Main St restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alfred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming, United States
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nothing Spectacular”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We decided to try this out for a much needed date night. The food was very bland and not exciting. That being considered, I would say that it was overpriced for the quality of food that you got. I would probably not dine here again. Service was great though, but the food just disappointed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Another Great Evening In Bristol Starts Here”
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I arrived just before six Friday evenin and enjoyed a cocktail and dinner sitting at the small bar. My pâté and coq au vin were excellent. My wife enjoyed soup then a sale and a side as her entree. The food was served at a good pace and looked and tasted great. Because of Le Central's central location in downtown we thn walked around and went in a few shops. We go back because it is a great value with good food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank KirD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Central also viewed

 

Been to Le Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing