We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for Take Out and nicely topped Pizza”
Review of Pizza Wave

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pizza Wave
Ranked #49 of 84 Restaurants in Bristol
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Description: n/a
Warren, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
272 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Good place for Take Out and nicely topped Pizza”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

I recently picked up some take out after utilizing a deal from Living Social.

We got a thin crust pepperoni and Bacon Pizza and steak tips entree to share.

The pizza was REALLY good and toppings were generous. It was a bit greasy at times, dripping onto the plate, but overall delicious.

The steak tips entree was good, we paid extra for sweet potato fries which were thick cut (unusual?) and therefor more soggy than crispy and just okay. The mashed potatoes were bland and had no seasoning or anything to make it taste better.

The marinated tips were good, cooked more medium well than medium as requested, and some pieces were more tender than others. The portion size of tips was generous.

Service could have been a bit quicker as getting in and out was slow, even though the place was dead, as it was around 8 on a Monday. They did appear to be getting alot of calls for take out, and cook in back with blonde goatee appeared visibly upset when an order would come in... with an open kitchen, suck it up...it is your job.

I would recommend this place to anyone for eat in or take out. I like how they recently painted the facade and added more landscaping which looks great! If you have never been, check it out, the food is good!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pizza & lots more”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Very consistent !! Good food at very reasonable prices. Willing to make almost anything meatless. Clean and good view of the kitchen. Menu is very extensive.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nanbillf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
129 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great food & service.”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Visited last Saturday night w/my husband. Surprised to find restaurant quiet, only a few tables occupied. Ordered the fish & chips, my husband picked the weekend special-prime rib. Both meals were very good & the waitress was attentive & checked if everything was alright. There is a large menu of the traditional fare- pizza & calzones, but also some other dishes you would think to be on the menu. Prices reasonable. Beer & wine also available. Should not be a problem for anyone to find something to their liking. Will definitely return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sea4Me2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
272 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Recently picked up some take out from Pizza Wave but wasn't impressed...”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

My friend used to work here years ago and would occasionally bring some food home after work when we'd hang out. The food was pretty good as I remembered it, and when I saw a recent Living Social Deal online, i tried to give Pizza Wave a try.

I ordered some food and picked it up on a Monday evening. I arrived around 8:20 and there were no customers. They do have nice weekly specials including cheap Pizza's on Monday.

We ordered a dozen Chicken Wings, large steak and cheese calzone, and large Italian sub. The best part was the wings, they were pretty spicy but balanced well with blue cheese.

The calzone was large and heavy, although it didn't have onions or mushrooms and the steak was too fatty. Too many bites had to be dissected to remove the chewy pieces of fat. That was really disappointing. The calzone was okay but nothing to write home about and kind of bland.

My girlfriend was even less pleased with her Italian Sub. She says they are better from Warren House. She got a stomach ache from it and didn't particularly like the 4 different meats in the sandwich. I had a bite and it was okay, but was kind of bland. She thinks they toasted the bread and then made the sandwich instead of toasting it all together.

Luckily the wings were pretty good and a decent size although there were only 3 actual wings out of the dozen and the rest were drumstick like.

Honestly, while the menu is large and has a lot of choices, from our sampling, we won't be rushing to go back. We eat out often but not sure if Pizza Wave will make it onto the list of the restaurants we like to frequent. It was kind of pricey for what we got too, even with the discount.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
“This place is a diner not just pizza!!!!”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Came for pizza with the family Friday night, place was packed, but hostess sat us done quickly. Need a few minutes to go through the extensive menu, we normally have them deliver to us, but this was our first time eating in. The place is very large with a really fun beach theme going on. I ended up have the steak tip dinner, wife had the mussels that where on special, and kids made their own pizzas. Service was excellent and not overbearing , food was full of flavor , steak was super tender and the mussels was best she ever had, it was in a garlic wine sauce with whole sautéed plum tomatoes and banana peppers, yum. We finished with 2 cappuccinos , 2 chocolate milks and a huge brownie sunday. The best part is that its a super value large portions at a discount. An honest family restaurant that you can come every week for home cooked meals that wont break the bank!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Livetolaugh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Wave also viewed

 

Been to Pizza Wave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing