We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't Wait to Visit Again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of William's Grant Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
William's Grant Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Bristol B&B and Inns
Mystic, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't Wait to Visit Again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Inn on a Friday night for a wedding we attended in the area. It's in a great neighborhood, with several restaurants and the waterfront just blocks away. Diane greeted us when we arrived, and she was an incredibly friendly and gracious host. Our room was perfect (see more below), and our overall stay was excellent - left nothing to be desired.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room in the back next to the kitchen. It was a tiny bit noisy, but the room had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank csmystic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamsgrantinn, Owner at William's Grant Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. Glad you had a good time and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    19
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
64
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
237 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I had to come to RI unexpectedly, so a friend put us up here. Given we didn't get here until 11:30p.m., Warren the innkeeper was very accomodating about letting us arrive late and overall was an excellent host. We checked into our bedroom that was decorated very nicely and had excellent chocolate chip cookies waiting, that my husband ate very quickly. Breakfast the next morning was served right in the owners kitchen and apple cinnamon pancakes with MA state maple syrup and an Amish butter, to die for. Considering we had a very busy day ahead, it was an excellent start and I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to others. Thanks again, Gina and Sean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoneRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamsgrantinn, Owner at William's Grant Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We absolutely loved the town of Bristol and had a very comfortable and happy stay at the William's Grant Inn. First off, if you love historical buildings and architecture this is a great town for that. There are so many quaint unique little shops and a pretty little waterfront without being over crowded or too touristy. The location was walking distance to the place we went for dinner, the lobster pot, which we really enjoyed also.

We stayed in the Blithewold Room which is the first one when you walk in and found it to be perfect for us, the house itself was very cute and old-fashioned but the rooms were spacious and had good water pressure in the shower. Also breakfast was fantastic- I think that the banana pistachio muffins were my favorite part.

We would definitely go back and stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCGirl5201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamsgrantinn, Owner at William's Grant Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Very old home,1808, with a lovely couple as innkeepers. Everything was wonderful. The location was within walking distance of everything. The home was clean, beautifully decorated, the room was comfortable and the round shower was fun. Breakfasts were wonderful and Warren and Diane could not have been more helpful. The upstairs parlor was very nice with a small fridge stocked with water and sodas. We loved Bristol and would return to the Williams Grant Inn in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: The five rooms were all about the same. Might have preferred a room on the first floor, but The Gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank igsess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamsgrantinn, Owner at William's Grant Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cos Cob, CT
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed one night at William's Grant Inn while college visiting (at Williams Rogers University). Our room (Middleburg) was cozy and very comfortable (with an extra cot for our daughter), and the 2nd floor parlor was a nice place to hang out and read, etc. Dianne and Warren are gracious and friendly hosts. Little touches like liqueurs at night, and fresh baked cookies in the room were nice. The private bathroom was nothing special, but perfectly adequate. Bristol itself is an absolutely lovely town, well worth a visit. The Inn is perfectly located for walking around.

Room Tip: We were on second floor in Middleburg room. Very pleased with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merlot94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamsgrantinn, Owner at William's Grant Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed at William's Grant Inn for one night in July 2013 in the Middleburg Room. The room was spacious, clean, and quiet, the bed was comfortable, and the breakfast was excellent. Diane and Warren were wonderful hosts and gave us great suggestions on dining and things to do. The Inn's location is great. Restaurants, shops, and the gorgeous waterfront are an easy 5-10 minute walk away, and Blithewold only a few minutes drive. Our only regret is that our stay was limited to one night. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were extremely happy with the Middleburg Room. It overlooked the front of the inn and High Stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andrea s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamsgrantinn, Owner at William's Grant Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Tank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Our stay was short but the setting and service was over the top. The room was beautiful, clean and well taken care of. The Inn is located within walking distance to all the wonderful sites in Bristol. William's Grant is a true gem.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamsgrantinn, Owner at William's Grant Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bristol
0.4 mi away
Bristol Harbor Inn
Bristol Harbor Inn
#1 of 1 in Bristol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Fall River/Westport
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Providence-Seekonk Inn
12.5 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
12.6 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to William's Grant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about William's Grant Inn

Property: William's Grant Inn
Address: 154 High Street, Bristol, RI 02809
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Bristol
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — William's Grant Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
William’s Grant Inn is an old sea captain’s home built by William Bradford in 1808 on a quiet street a short distance from Bristol town center. It is a 5-bay Federal Colonial style, furnished throughout with antiques. Visit the large collection of teddy bears from many parts of the world, nestled within the collections of American and foreign furniture and curios and art.Many of the hanging artworks are family heirlooms done over the past century together with wonderful copies of the great masters. There are fifteen large koi in the fish pond placed in the back gardens, an oasis of fern and other greenery. The rhododendrons are magnificent in the spring.Each room is decorated in its own style with antiques. Each has a queen bed and a private bath. A full gourmet breakfast is included for all guests. Gas coal basket fires in three rooms—Blithewold, Sturbridge and Nautical Rooms. The guest parlor has television/DVD/VCR for your pleasure and a piano for those so inclined. Complimentary cold drinks, port, sherry and liqueurs are in the parlor for your enjoyment.The inn is a short walking distance to many fine restaurants and numerous shops featuring antiques, arts and crafts. Bicycles and kayaks are available for rent near the harbor. The East Bay bike path is famous for its gentle grades located upon an old railroad bed—it travels along the water for 15 miles from Bristol to Providence. Many museums and historic buildings are located in Bristol, such as Blithewold Mansion, Herreshoff Marine Museum, Americas Cup Hall of Fame, Linden Place, Coggeshall Farm, and more. Colt Sate Park is a beautiful park off the bike path adjacent to Narragansett Bay, an ideal location for open air picnics, fishing or swimming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your William's Grant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
William`s Grant Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing