We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comforting and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
William's Grant Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Bristol B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My husband and I had a nice getaway to the great all-American town of Bristol. We loved meeting Diane and Warren and their home was delightful. We were there on a Monday and unfortunately some of the attractions and shops were closed. But we still found time to explore gardens and the shoreline and enjoy some fine meals. Diane directed us to all the best spots and shared her knowledge of history of the area.
Our only issue was sharing a queen size bed but we knew that going in ! Got to work on that snoring!
We can't wait to return to this beautiful place.

Room Tip: It was very quiet upstairs! (except for my husband's snoring!)
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrcurls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for William's Grant Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 101 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

My high school reunion was in Bristol, RI on July 13, 2012. We booked a room in this Historic Bed and Breakfast because it was close to the restaruant the Lobster Pot where my reunion was held. Hosts Diane and Warren were like family. They are so friendly and warm. Great suggestions if you need them. Parking is on street or in back. This is walking distance to Bristol harbor, restaurants, bike path. The room was comfortable with new shower stall and nice linens. Comfortable bed, AC and coffee/tea in room..also chocolates. Nice touch. My husband and I stayed one night. Breakfast was great. Fresh fruit, coffee, juice, muffins and omelet with choices for fillings. Cute porch in back yard with a poi pond and flower garden. We enjoyed reading for a little while with our coffee after breakfast. I would definitely stay here again. In fact we are planning on going back next summer for a couple days. This is also on the route for the 4th of July parade.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MJCRhodeIsland_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

A very comfortable room with all the amenities in a beautiful historic home. The breakfasts were first class and the owners, Diane and Warren, were very friendly and personable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We spent one night with Warren and Diane at their B&B on the way to pick up our daughter. We were delighted by the room, the neighborhood and the lovely amenities in the small town of Bristol all within walking distance. Dinner at the Persimmon was absolutely delightful (Diane's recommendation). For world travelers like us Warren and Diane's international experience was a special treat. Recommend this highly if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deepeekomal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We felt right at home in this beautiful historic house. The breakfast could have been made by a five-star chef and the service was impeccable. Bristol itself is an idyllic town - a welcome retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city. Diane and Warren go the extra step to make your visit enjoyable. Fluffy and adorable Kodi is just the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graciouscho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

You could probably pay much more or find a place that is a little more "fancy" but you would have to look far and hard to find a better place to hang your hat while in the Bristol/Newport area. Warren and Diane make you feel like one of the family. The food is simply stunning and the bed was so comfortable.. I am already planning a trip back. Diane and Warren know so much about the area, the accommodation in itself is a learning experience and I must say, I loved it. So did my Mom, who accompanied me on this adventure. Thank you so much William's Grant Inn. You earn five stars all around from me!

Room Tip: We slept in the Sturbridge room which served our needs nicely. The bed was high off the floor and we...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank datkat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We stayed last weekend at the William's Grant Inn. We went there based on a Living Social Deal. Based on wonderful experience there, we will gladly go back again, and again. We had a very large room with en suite bath, a romantic gas fireplace, gorgeous linens and Persian rugs. The sitting room was quirky and sweet. Liqueurs for the guests, games, books, and a TV. There is wireless throughout the house. The breakfast was served by Warren and Diane and it was great. A definite, new favorite.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aggada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bristol
0.4 mi away
Bristol Harbor Inn
Bristol Harbor Inn
#1 of 1 in Bristol
198 reviews
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
3.1 mi away
Founder's Brook Motel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Fall River/Westport
10.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
12.6 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to William's Grant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about William's Grant Inn

Address: 154 High Street, Bristol, RI 02809-2123
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Bristol
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range: $178 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — William's Grant Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
William’s Grant Inn is an old sea captain’s home built by William Bradford in 1808 on a quiet street a short distance from Bristol town center. It is a 5-bay Federal Colonial style, furnished throughout with antiques. Visit the large collection of teddy bears from many parts of the world, nestled within the collections of American and foreign furniture and curios and art.Many of the hanging artworks are family heirlooms done over the past century together with wonderful copies of the great masters. There are fifteen large koi in the fish pond placed in the back gardens, an oasis of fern and other greenery. The rhododendrons are magnificent in the spring.Each room is decorated in its own style with antiques. Each has a queen bed and a private bath. A full gourmet breakfast is included for all guests. Gas coal basket fires in three rooms—Blithewold, Sturbridge and Nautical Rooms. The guest parlor has television/DVD/VCR for your pleasure and a piano for those so inclined. Complimentary cold drinks, port, sherry and liqueurs are in the parlor for your enjoyment.The inn is a short walking distance to many fine restaurants and numerous shops featuring antiques, arts and crafts. Bicycles and kayaks are available for rent near the harbor. The East Bay bike path is famous for its gentle grades located upon an old railroad bed—it travels along the water for 15 miles from Bristol to Providence. Many museums and historic buildings are located in Bristol, such as Blithewold Mansion, Herreshoff Marine Museum, Americas Cup Hall of Fame, Linden Place, Coggeshall Farm, and more. Colt Sate Park is a beautiful park off the bike path adjacent to Narragansett Bay, an ideal location for open air picnics, fishing or swimming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your William's Grant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
William`s Grant Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing