We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food ...love the restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DeWolf Tavern

DeWolf Tavern
Ranked #10 of 84 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: DeWolf Tavern serves Contemporary American Cuisine in a beautifully situated, historically renovated stone warehouse, located on the Thames Street Landing waterfront in the heart of downtown Bristol, Rhode Island. Our guests can enjoy the bay breeze with cooling cocktails on our casual patio, come inside for a glass of wine and a light meal in our downstairs Tavern or head upstairs to enjoy the view and fireplace with a bottle of fine wine and a special meal prepared by Chef Sai Viswanath. Open Seven Days a Week. Breakfast: Friday to Sunday 7am to 11:00am Full Menu: 11:30 am-10:30pm Monday through Saturday Sunday 11:30am-9:30pm
Barrington, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food ...love the restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Everything...Food was great...staff helpful and the ambiance is wonderful....always an enjoyable evening.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ann m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    72
    32
    22
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Lunch with a view of the bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I'm a native Rhode Islander but wanted to try something new on a beautiful September day. The drive to Bristol is always great with picture perfect glimpses of the upper bay. We took the top off the jeep and ended up at the DeWolf. The hostess was very pleasant and seated us (3) outside on their patio. There was a great choice of beers on draft and an extensive wine list. My son and I each had soup for a starter. I had the seafood chowder and he had the tomato bisk. Both were very good. My wife and son both had the filet mignon sandwich with Swiss and caramelized onions.....awesome! I had the lobster, shrimp and scallop sandwich....again, really good. Each sandwich came with a sizable salad and house made chips, all on the same plate. It was beautifully presented and delicious. We split two desserts. The flourless spicy chocolate cake and the house special cheese cake. Both we perfect. The chocolate cake had just a bit of a bite to make it interesting. So, 2 soups, 2 beers, 2 wines, 2 cokes (served in a glass bottle, no fountain.....nice!) 3 sandwiches and 2 desserts, with tip was $138.00. Maybe a bit more than usual, but the view, the staff and especially the food was worth it.

Helpful?
Thank ssaccoccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Waited almost two hours for our dinner”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had a party of four on a Saturday night and had to wait almost two hours for our dinner. It seemed that the kitchen was overwhelmed with some private event that evening and couldn't handle their regular customer workload. On top of that, it appeared that they may have lost or misplaced our order.

Our waitress was mortified. When I asked to speak with the manager, all she offered was another round of drinks (and we had already had our limit). She then agreed to buy us dessert. Quite honestly - the manager should have comped the entire dinner.

Once the manager spoke with us, she avoided us the entire rest of the night. She never came back to apologize, never asked how our dinner was, never asked if there was anything else she could do to help. The manager should be fired given how poorly she handled the situation. She completely avoided us and knew that she was in the wrong.

This restaurant should be shut down or go out of business given how poorly they treated us (and we've been there several times before - but never again).

Stay away - there are other restaurants that would value your business more than the DeWolf Tavern.

Also the restaurant is so noisy you need to go outside to hear yourself think.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ksgoldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Evening Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Situated right on the water in Bristol, the DeWolf Tavern is a renovated 1818 stone building with great wooden rafters upstairs where we had our dinner. I had the Lobster Popover, which was listed as an appetizer but was a generous enough portion to be a enough for dinner for me. It was packed with chunks of lobster and had a nice small salad on the side. My husband had the Tandoori Lobster and our friends shared a 20-ounce Cowboy Steak – one of the evening’s specials. Everyone enjoyed their meal and the service was great. Next time we’re in Bristol we’ll probably stop in again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 3parrotfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemere, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“experience was sublime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

all i can say is that it was the best experience at a restaurant i've had all summer. myself and two guests were seated at a lovely table outside on the bustling patio. after hearing the specials, my guests were sold on a 14 ounce new york sirloin strip, which were amazing!! appetizers for the table: steamed littlenecks, shrimp pakora, and a few raw oysters. the littlenecks were unreal, the shrimp pakora was heavenly, and the guests enjoyed the fine selection of oysters. i had the filet philly naan sandwich, which i am told is probably the most popular thing on the menu, and i can see why!! tender meat, with an interesting blend of swiss cheese and horseradish sauce on deliciously fresh naan bread.. service was fantastic as well!! will DEFINITELY be returning to DeWolf as soon as I am in the area again!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maurice r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DeWolf Tavern also viewed

 

Been to DeWolf Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing