We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Tranquility”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bristol
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Mount Hope Farm
Ranked #4 of 5 Bristol B&B and Inns
Rocklin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peace and Tranquility”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

If you want to get away from the noise and clanging of city life, this is the place. This historical property is like an oasis, its extensive grounds spreading out a welcome mat as you drive past the strong stone walls that surround the old house once owned by the first governor of Rhode Island. The laid back but helpful attitude of the staff fits right in with the gentle landscape. There are not many rooms to choose from, but they are large and cozy at the same time. The common areas are charming and the grounds lovely, rich with ponds and old trees and a large barn and sweet little out buildings. A great place for long walks and contemplation. The gardens here draw you outside, as do the animal enclosures. We had a fun visit with a group of baby goats and the chickens provide the eggs for some of the best breakfasts I've ever had at a bed and breakfast. We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    14
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
18
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Canaan, CT
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We've been visiting Bristol for many years because two of our three children went to Roger Williams University. Of all the times we've visited, we've never had a chance to stay at Mount Hope Farm. It was always one thing or another: if I could get through, they were booked, if I couldn't get through, I just gave up. There have been some changes and the management is much improved! I called last minute on a Friday in August (not expecting any luck) but they did have one room left (Massasoit room 10) in the Pool House (no pool, but that's fine). I spoke to David, who was great and sounded truly excited about our visit. There was a wedding the same night as our visit so I was a little worried about noise but we were not bothered at all! The room was in a separate building than the main house but we had an entry way, very large bathroom, a bedroom and another sleeping alcove: so plenty of space. The bed was small but comfortable and the room was impeccably clean. There are no TVs or Wifi....It had a beautiful patio that it shares with the other rooms in the little house. The views are of trees and meadows. It really is a farm: chickens, baby goats ......Plus there are trails all through the woods for walking and biking.
The breakfast was really great. Susie made omelets and blueberry french toast. There was fresh fruit, yogurt and a variety of juices. Breakfast is at 8:30 but coffee is out earlier and they do have a stocked Keurig machine in case you need coffee any other time.
The house is beautiful and the service was great. I would highly recommend this as an option when in Bristol. We've stayed at Point Pleasant (very $$$), and Bristol Harbor Inn (near the water but rather blah). This really is a farm and a B and B, not a hotel. It's a different experience.

Room Tip: We had room 10 in a separate cottage and liked it very much, but I think we'll try a room in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jtperreca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The friendly staff at Mount Hope Farm was so welcoming and charming. The rooms vary in size, and they are all clean, quaint and comfortable. But they are not particularly luxurious, as one might expect from a bed-and-breakfast on a farm. And speaking of breakfast, the homemade breakfasts are great, cooked by yet another charming staff member. The inn is situated on a huge plot of land that affords great views of the water and great nature walks. From Mount Hope Farm it is a short 5 minute drive into downtown Bristol and about a 40-minute drive to Newport. It's a really lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjk_ontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We had two nights in Room 11 which is the entire upper floor of the pool house don't be mislead into thinking there is a pool though as we were. We'd packed our bathing suits but weren't too disappointed as it rained most of the weekend anyway! David also, very kindly allowed us to use the kitchen downstairs so we had the use of a refrigerator and could make tea and coffee etc. without having to go up to the main house. The grounds are lovely and I would have liked to have the time to explore but we were visiting for a family wedding that was held on the other side of Bristol so we were out a lot. The shower was very good the first day but the second day my partner struggled to get any water pressure and had difficulty washing his hair. Also, despite the lovely space we had in our room we felt the furnishings could do with being updated. The sofa was not particularly comfortable to sit on, the carpet was a bit industrial and the curtain pole was not the easiest to operate leaning over the railings of the narrow spiral staircase. We didn't feel the railings were particularly secure either. The toiletries weren't very special either. However, breakfast was amazing all freshly made by Suzy. We sat at a shared table, beautifully laid and enjoyed good company and great food. This was by far the most expensive place we stayed at during are 5 night trip but I'm not sure we had very good value for money mainly due to water issues but also because there was one particular member of staff who seemed more interested in getting home than in helping us resolve a problem we had making a phone call. In summary, bits were excellent but other bits let them down. If they correct those few small failing it could be a truly amazing place.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heloli1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My relatives stayed in the inn during my wedding at Mount Hope Farm. They reported that the inn was quaint and the service was friendly. They also loved walking the trails on the property and the proximity to my ceremony by the water. Can't recommend this place enough, for weddings or a simple weekend getaway.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egrande25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Gracious house with antique furnishings, delicious breakfast, and friendly staff, reasonable, and offers a lovely walk to the Narragansett Bay as well as short drive to Bristol's other sites. WE also enjoyed an excellent dinner at Persimmon in Bristol.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGT11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I joined my wife for one night of a business trip. The grounds and living quarters are beautfiul. The service is extraordinary and the rooms have an old world B&B feel with modern amenities.

It is all about the experience and would not reccomend this to someone who typically stays at large chain/ resort type hotels.

Overall the place is beautiful and accomodations excellent. I will say the walls are kind of thin and you may hear a muffled conversation or a door close at a room nearby.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisJohnson97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bristol
1.0 mi away
Bristol Harbor Inn
Bristol Harbor Inn
#1 of 1 in Bristol
185 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Fall River/Westport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Founder's Brook Motel & Suites
9.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Fall River
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Seekonk
Hampton Inn Seekonk
#1 of 8 in Seekonk
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Mount Hope Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Mount Hope Farm

Property: The Inn at Mount Hope Farm
Address: 250 Metacom Ave, Bristol, RI 02809-5180
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Bristol
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate and historically charming getaway with warm hospitality, The Inn at Mount Hope Farm is a escape from everyday life where guests come to unplug and enjoy the peacefulness and simplicity of history and nature. The 12-room Inn dating back to 1745 offers individually-styled rooms, many with antiques, that ensure comfort and relaxation. Architecturally designed gardens and expansive landscape provide beautiful views from every angle and our central location provides easy access to major happenings in Bristol, Newport and Providence, and is just over an hour from Boston on Route 24. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, Mount Hope Farm's grand country estate sits on the shore of Mount Hope Bay and encompasses 127 acres of preserved open space, offering miles of easy and beautiful forested walking trails. Families love visiting with our goats, sheep, chickens and donkeys. Mount Hope Farm is the preferred setting for hundreds of weddings, special events and milestone occasions throughout the year. We host family reunions, corporate events and weddings. The Inn consists of three different buildings, one of which is a 4 bedroom 4 1/2 bath guest house which may be rented as a single unit. A full country breakfast is served during the summer with a continental breakfast served during the rest of the year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Inn At Mount Hope Farm (Governor Bradford House) Hotel Bristol
Country Inn Bristol
Bristol Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing