We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely historic inn”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bristol
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Mount Hope Farm
Ranked #4 of 5 Bristol B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lovely historic inn”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Gracious house with antique furnishings, delicious breakfast, and friendly staff, reasonable, and offers a lovely walk to the Narragansett Bay as well as short drive to Bristol's other sites. WE also enjoyed an excellent dinner at Persimmon in Bristol.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGT11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    15
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
23
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I joined my wife for one night of a business trip. The grounds and living quarters are beautfiul. The service is extraordinary and the rooms have an old world B&B feel with modern amenities.

It is all about the experience and would not reccomend this to someone who typically stays at large chain/ resort type hotels.

Overall the place is beautiful and accomodations excellent. I will say the walls are kind of thin and you may hear a muffled conversation or a door close at a room nearby.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisJohnson97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

My girlfriend and I were fortunate to spend Christmas night at this beautiful Inn. One of our relatives was unable to make it to our home for the holiday and offered us their room. Living in Bristol we would never have considered staying here, we would have missed a special place. The manager handled things with ease and confidence even with the last minute changes and the holidays. Our morning at the sunny breakfast table was a joy; delightful food and wonderful conversation with our host and the manager. If you are looking for a Bed and Breakfast in East Bay RI to see all its beauty and charms this would be a perfect choice.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main house were all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PandT_RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My mom and I stayed for one night while dropping off my son at camp. The farm is stunningly beautiful, quiet, and low-key. Had a friendly reception at the door and a tour of the elegant main house filled with antiques. Our room was in the Pool House (no pool anymore) with a queen in one room and a twin in the other, and bathroom in between. Small, but very pretty and comfortable. Windows on three walls for panoramic views and fresh air. Went down the road to the ocean front cabin at sunset and had the place to ourselves with gorgeous fragrant hydrangeas and other flowers blooming. Sat outside at dusk, no bugs, wonderful peaceful atmosphere away from it all. If you want modern fancy decor, pool, TV, hot tub, vending machines, exercise room, etc. this is not for you. If you like to drift off to sleep listening to owls outside your window and wake to sheep bleating in the morning, with 127 acres of unspoiled farmland surrounding you, this is the place to be! Nice, generous breakfast of blueberry pancakes, eggs, ham, yogurt, granola and the freshest fruit, choice of three juices, coffee and tea. Highly recommended, although pricey at $228.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shadylady03259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2012

It was so nice to be at such a wonderful location with great rooms and delightful people to take care of whatever you needed. I think you would be hard pressed to find anywhere better to stay. And the breakfast are just unbelievable. Don't miss this one.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 782cth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepachet, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Just returned from my brothers wedding and had a great time! They were married on the beautiful lawn and had reception inside the barn. Place was spectacular..breakfast was amazing...beautiful walk down to the ocean with lots of wildlife..very rich in history as George Washington had visited the house during Revolutionary War times...the only negative would be the rooms adjoin with a bathroom door and you can hear a lot through doors..but this is minor..and it is a bit expensive around 225-250$..The rooms were decorated perfectly for the setting..would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wojo1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belchertown, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We recently were lucky to be given a three day getaway from our daughter at Mount Hope Farm. We were impressed with the beautiful grounds and the condition of the property. Our stay was great from the beginning to when we left. Very friendly and knowledgeable staff to make you feel welcomed. Our breakfast cook, Donna, was a great cook and very familar with the area to give us daily ideas of what to do.
The town of Bristol has many historic sites to visit. We highly recommend staying at this B+B.

Room Tip: Stay in the King room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisettemiron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bristol
1.1 mi away
Bristol Harbor Inn
Bristol Harbor Inn
#1 of 1 in Bristol
195 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Fall River/Westport
3.0 mi away
Founder's Brook Motel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
9.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Fall River
9.4 mi away
Best Western Providence-Seekonk Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Mount Hope Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Mount Hope Farm

Property: The Inn at Mount Hope Farm
Address: 250 Metacom Ave, Bristol, RI 02809-5180
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Bristol
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate and historically charming getaway with warm hospitality, The Inn at Mount Hope Farm is a escape from everyday life where guests come to unplug and enjoy the peacefulness and simplicity of history and nature. The 12-room Inn dating back to 1745 offers individually-styled rooms, many with antiques, that ensure comfort and relaxation. Architecturally designed gardens and expansive landscape provide beautiful views from every angle and our central location provides easy access to major happenings in Bristol, Newport and Providence, and is just over an hour from Boston on Route 24. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, Mount Hope Farm's grand country estate sits on the shore of Mount Hope Bay and encompasses 127 acres of preserved open space, offering miles of easy and beautiful forested walking trails. Families love visiting with our goats, sheep, chickens and donkeys. Mount Hope Farm is the preferred setting for hundreds of weddings, special events and milestone occasions throughout the year. We host family reunions, corporate events and weddings. The Inn consists of three different buildings, one of which is a 4 bedroom 4 1/2 bath guest house which may be rented as a single unit. A full country breakfast is served during the summer with a continental breakfast served during the rest of the year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Inn At Mount Hope Farm (Governor Bradford House) Hotel Bristol
Country Inn Bristol
Bristol Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing