We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Place”

Blithewold Mansion, Gardens & Arboretum
Ranked #2 of 19 things to do in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Blithewold, named in Yankee Magazine's 2010 Best 5 Public Gardens in New England is located on Narragansett Bay, 25 minutes east of Providence and 60 minutes south of Boston. Blithewold, a 33-acre summer estate with grand views of Narragansett Bay, is nationally significant in American history as one of the most fully developed and authentic examples of the Country Place era. The property features a 45-room mansion filled with family heirlooms framed by a series of lovely gardens that range in character from mysterious to exotic and from poetic to practical. An exceptional collection of rare and unusual plants, specimen trees, an accessible greenhouse, and whimsical stonework project a character that is romantic, fresh and inspiring - and unique to Blithewold. Come...and be inspired.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
CT
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I had the pleasure of attending a wedding here over the weekend. The view is fantastic and the grounds immaculate. I also liked that during cocktail hour my fiance and I were able to tour the mansion itself and read some of the history on it. If you are planning an event here I would say the staff is top notch and were very attentive to any needs of the Bride and Groom.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BAvallone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    49
    5
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Haven
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Breathtaking...worth a visit”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Pennsylvania coal magnate Augustus Van Wickle and his wife Bessie purchased these beautiful seventy acres and current mansion built in 1908. An absolutely breathtaking and worthy of a visit. Take a walk down "Lovers Lane" to the edge of the ocean. Enjoy the view from the edge of the lawn, sit in the adirondack chairs and daydream...the Mansion itself is just as beautiful as the grounds...you can now take photos inside the mansion, so don't forget your camera. The rooms are beautiful and quite livable. :) The Grand Staircase is beautiful, but if you have climbing issues, there is no elevator, so tour the ground floor....it is just as impressive.
The Bathrooms are located to the right of the mansion...but be aware that you must go down a flight of stairs to reach the bathroom, which Ironically has a Handicap Bathroom...(But you have to climb the stairs first!) I found that ironic. If you have a AAA card there is a discount so bring it along. There is a lot to see and a lot of walking, so bring good walking shoes. :) I hope you enjoy your visit as much as we did.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank chemoangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Blithewold...breathtaking”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We went to the Breakers in Newport first, and while it was lovely, it was ridiculously ornate and not user friendly. Then...we went to Blithewold in Bristol. It is fantastic. The house is nice and feels way more lived in-and enjoyed-than the Breakers. And the gardens...sigh...amazing. I wanted to spend hours/days just wandering and relaxing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank hotrodgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sauquoit, New York
Level Contributor
132 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We toured the mansion and grounds. If you have a AAA card, there is a discount. Self guided tour in the mansion, but there are volunteers available to answer any questions. The grounds are beautiful overlooking Narragansett Bay. There is a bamboo garden, a vegetable garden, flower gardens, and the largest Sequoia Tree East of the Rockies. Very pretty. Bristol Rhode Island is a quaint town, and you don't have to pay for parking like you do in Newport. Very enjoyable and relaxing time visiting Blithewold Mansion.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
429 reviews
172 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Enjoy the opulent former summer homes of the rich”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

If you have never visited the Newport Mansions, then you must adjust your list of things to do. To see how the rich and famous of years gone by lived is trully awe inspiring. And Blithewood is one of the most beautiful of the homes as it has what is arguably the finest gardens. Make sure you stop by.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank hll333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blithewold Mansion, Gardens & Arboretum also viewed

 

Been to Blithewold Mansion, Gardens & Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing