We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Special" Dinners” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spring House

Spring House
Ranked #9 of 62 Restaurants in Block Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: The Main Dining Room consists of our grand indoor dining room, as well as our ocean view patio, and provides patrons with exquisite fine dining. When available, the Spring House Hotel kitchen strives to use vegetables from our very own gardens, Many of our dish’s are created solely to utilize what we grow in our own backyard. We believe that self sustainability with organically grown herbs and vegetables is the healthiest way to cook. We strive to source all produce organically and or hormone and pesticide free if available, collaborating with Farm Fresh Rhode Island, we are able to source local farmers and purveyors throughout New England.
Weston, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"Special" Dinners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We've eaten dinner on the patio looking over the Atlantic Ocean many times and never tire of it. The food is New York City quality and the view is the best on Block Island. This venue is good for special occasions, as it can be pricey, but if you're looking for lighter, less expensive fare with the same wonderful view, try the Spring House Bistro. The grilled chicken, roasted red pepper and scallion pizza was great, even for a girl from Brooklyn, New York! Try it, you won't be sorry!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Leesie424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    50
    15
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Rip off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Cold food. Lousey service. High prices. Not worth it dont waste your time or money. You can enjoy the view from many other places. Eating at the mahogany grill is actually a step up from this high priced dive

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rpiparent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Beach, New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Most of the places on block seem to not take reservations, glad the spring house does. Great food and very nice staff. Would go back again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank THECURCIOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
w. haven
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Porch Lunch Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Great place to have lunch or dinner but we usually do lunch. Disappointed with the lunch pizzas this year. The one I picked just had tough thick procuitto and arugala spread on top of a cooked cheese pizza that was medium size. Used to be nice little individual where everything was cooked on top. Others in my group had nice sandwiches and soups.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank rere1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Only if you are a large group”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We used to stay at the spring house and were always treated as if we were doing them a favor. One year the staff could not find us a working fan in the middle of a heat wave. The next year we were told that we could not eat breakfast outside on their lovely patio because it was reserved for a large family reunion even though they were only using 1/2 of the patio - fortunately we wandered down to the 1661 Inn and had a lovely breakfast - that is where we now stay when we take our yearly trip to Block.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spring House also viewed

New Shoreham, Block Island
New Shoreham, Block Island
 
New Shoreham, Block Island
New Shoreham, Block Island
 

Been to Spring House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing