We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”
Review of Spring House

Spring House
Reserve with OpenTable
Spring House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 62 Restaurants in Block Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: The Main Dining Room consists of our grand indoor dining room, as well as our ocean view patio, and provides patrons with exquisite fine dining. When available, the Spring House Hotel kitchen strives to use vegetables from our very own gardens, Many of our dish’s are created solely to utilize what we grow in our own backyard. We believe that self sustainability with organically grown herbs and vegetables is the healthiest way to cook. We strive to source all produce organically and or hormone and pesticide free if available, collaborating with Farm Fresh Rhode Island, we are able to source local farmers and purveyors throughout New England.
Oak Beach, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Most of the places on block seem to not take reservations, glad the spring house does. Great food and very nice staff. Would go back again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank THECURCIOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    52
    16
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
w. haven
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Porch Lunch Place”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Great place to have lunch or dinner but we usually do lunch. Disappointed with the lunch pizzas this year. The one I picked just had tough thick procuitto and arugala spread on top of a cooked cheese pizza that was medium size. Used to be nice little individual where everything was cooked on top. Others in my group had nice sandwiches and soups.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank rere1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Only if you are a large group”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We used to stay at the spring house and were always treated as if we were doing them a favor. One year the staff could not find us a working fan in the middle of a heat wave. The next year we were told that we could not eat breakfast outside on their lovely patio because it was reserved for a large family reunion even though they were only using 1/2 of the patio - fortunately we wandered down to the 1661 Inn and had a lovely breakfast - that is where we now stay when we take our yearly trip to Block.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
106 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great dinning on the veranda”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We had a wonderful lunch on the Spring House veranda. The service was excellent. The freshly caught tuna melt was outstanding. The salad was made with greens from the garden. The view over the bluff was beautiful. The pizza was all excellent. The grandkids were catered to. The picture the waiter took of all of us came out great. We look forward to eating there again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Butch42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Very. good food . Priceless Views”
Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

On Block Island with friends and dined at The Spring House last night. All our meals were world. class if a bit pricey. I had fresh local Striped Bass while my pals had The Swordfish special. Both were cooked to perfection . We dined outside on one of their porches , high on a bluff overlooking the ocean. Do not miss it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seahorse57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spring House also viewed

New Shoreham, Block Island
New Shoreham, Block Island
 
New Shoreham, Block Island
New Shoreham, Block Island
 

Been to Spring House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing