We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So this is where great customer service has been hiding.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Yorktowne Hotel
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in York
Hunlock Creek, PA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So this is where great customer service has been hiding.”
Reviewed October 24, 2009

We stayed here for one night in September. The hotel is very beautiful although I can't say the same for the location. Because they are a pet friendly hotel we brought our cocker spaniel but we weren't comfortable taking her for a walk late in the evening. We didn't encounter any problems but the area just didn't appear safe to us.

Our room was spacious, clean and included a jacuzzi bathtub. The staff was extremely polite and helpful. I honestly can't say enough about this friendly staff except for this is where great customer service has been hiding.

We had breakfast at the OffCenter Grill which is attached to the hotel lobby. The food was reasonably priced and the staff were professional and friendly.

Despite its less than stellar location, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pabarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    99
    53
    31
    21
See reviews for
50
78
24
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Western Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

My spouse and I have stayed in this hotel a few times in the past. We have found the beds extremely comfortable. The staff has always been very professional and accomodating.

On out last visit, the staff exceeded anything I would expect. We suddenly had a need to extend our stay, and all was booked for the addtional time. The General Manager became involved, shifted rooms around so that we could utilize a late opening room while we took care of business, moved our luggage and extended a wonderful time for us.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank TwoinCollege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2009

All staff that we encountered were very friendly. They were quite refreshing to deal with compared to the crabby or cold service I find in many hotels these days! the lobby area, reastaurant/main floor is beautiful. The upstairs hallways need new carpet as it is old and stained. The rooms are huge and clean. The hotel is very clean throughout but does show some wear in the rooms and upstairs hallways.

Valet parking is $7 but they are very courteous and quick. The only other parking is on the street. I would recommend the valet as it is right downtown and it was quiet on a Friday night in July but downtown York "appears" a bit seedy.

There is free WIFI and free laundry facilities. You can get this place for $50 -60 on Priceline. Not bad for a night if passing through town but I wouldn't spend a vacation here. (Who vacations in York, PA anyway?).

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CdnOsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2009

The valet staff damaged my car and would take no responsibility for it. The valet drivers back the cars in to a yellow fence in their garage, and when I got my car back, the car had yellow scratches on the back bumper. It was difficult to get the hotel manager to call me back, and when he did, he took absolutely no responsibility for the damage. Do not stay here, and do not allow them to touch your car.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusinessTraveller98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2008

We booked our stay at the Yorktowne through Genesis Golf Trips. We were looking for a combination of golf, shopping and sightseeing. The Yorktowne is a lovely, old hotel centrally located for trips to Hershey, Lancaster and Gettysburg. The rooms are large and nicely decorated. There is a casual grill for all meals and a four star dinner restaurant that is outstanding. In addition, the staff is particularly cordial and helpful. There are numerous outlets, shops and factories tours in the area and many excellent golf courses close by. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Hotel decor and service
  • Disliked — -----
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RetiredLibrarian_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2008

Stayed there for a wedding, everything was fine initially. this is a historic building, lobby was great.

room was different story. old and tired. rug wasn't very inviting. bed was great. wallpaper been up too long, just a lot of wear and tear. woke up sunday morning because wife is yelling for me to come into the bathroom, big cockroaches in there.

on the way out i asked to talk to the manager, and that's where the problems started. i mentioned the cockroaches, and they asked me if i wanted a free breakfast. not very thoughtful on the front desk clerks part. visions of cockroaches on my food running through my head. i said no, i wanted them to take something off the bill.

the manager wasn't very happy about it, asked if i had reported it to housekeeping. i said i didn't know the reporting procedure for cockroaches. then my wife mentioned that we hadn't gotten our discount for being in the wedding party. so the manager asked me if we got the discount we were already entitled to would that be OK.

the manager apologized and said that they were doing renovations and were tearing out walls. i said i could understand about the cockroaches if they're doing that. the manager relaxed and said it wasn't so bad now.

anyways, if you're considering staying there ask if they've finished renovating.

the hotel is downtown, and there's nothing open on the weekend. we couldn't find a restaurant for breakfast so ended up at the hotel. food was good, but i was sort of skeeved out.

  • Liked — is historic place, very nice lobby.
  • Disliked — accomodations
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davec1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2008

We have stayed twice now at this hotel. It is a beautiful old building right in downtown York. The rooms are clean, spacious and well-kept. They have nice amenities but don't expect luxury - they are nice rooms. The front desk is very professional and helpful - they will give you a map of the local area! You are in walking distance of several bars and restaurants. There is a fancy restaurant and bar/grille on site. There was even a stand alone bar in the lobby when we checked in. They have a valet parking garage that is a bit crazy to get to because of the one-way streets... but it is no problem. I have absolutely no complaints about this hotel. It's a great location and great property! I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyWanderer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham York
3.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton York
2.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden York
Wyndham Garden York
#6 of 26 in York
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton York
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn And Suites York South
1.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yorktowne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yorktowne Hotel

Property: The Yorktowne Hotel
Address: 48 E Market St, York, PA 17401-1613
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Yorktowne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1925, The Yorktowne Hotel proudly opened its doors as York's Community Hotel. The Yorktowne Hotel features the elegance of a grand hotel paired with modern conveniences like wireless high-speed internet access. With 121 luxury guest rooms, an on-site restaurant and full service spa, conference and meeting facilities, and luxurious amenities, hospitality and convenience reign supreme at this historical property. The hotel is located in the heart of York's historic district, within easy walking distance of Continental Square, the Strand-Capitol Performing Arts Center, the historic Central Market, Santander Stadium and dozens of restaurants. While you're here, you are less than 100 miles from state and national government centers, premier recreational and golfing facilities, and historic sites that forged our nation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Yorktowne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yorktowne Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing