We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Say NO!!”
Review of Motel 6 York North

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 York North
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in York
Tennessee
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Just Say NO!!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Where to begin? My nephew and I booked this room for a visit to the 150th Gettysburg Battle Anniversary. I give the Motel a 2 only because of the friendliness of the front desk staff. After the check-in experience it was all downhill.

The hall on the 3rd floor stank. After we booked we realized this was a pet friendly inn. We had little other choice since everything for miles was filled to capacity. Had that not been the case, we'd have left after the first night. The smell in the hall may have been animal urine. I can't be certain, but it was bad. In my room, the lid to the ice bucket had black speckles across it. It looked like someone had spit tobacco out on it. (I wish I had taken a picture.) There were hairs all over the bathroom floor. The air conditioner in the room would not get the room below 70, which was a bad thing for me. The edges of the carpets had not been vacuumed with an edge tool in months. Under the bed was just nasty.

If you're looking for a place that reeks of odor and the housekeeping staff is obviously too lazy to do their job, then this is the place for you.

I'll add this caveat: If you think I'm someone who is impossible to please, you should read some of my other reviews before booking this place. This is the only time the reviews on TripAdvior have failed me because I booked this based on contributor reviews. All I can say is; this place must have deteriorated quickly, or, knowing how hard it is to find a pet friendly facility, perhaps this place ranks highly in that category.

Otherwise, just say NO! to this place unless it’s a last resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garnmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    56
    32
    21
    14
See reviews for
47
46
31
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vineland, Nj
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This Red Roof York is a good economy motel that provides a traveler's basic needs at a decent rate.
The motel and rooms are generally well-kept. The fridge/microwave, desk area, and free wireless internet are all good perks.

There is no free breakfast (though plenty of food places nearby, and a grocery store in a plaza right there). Also, pack a hairdryer, as the rooms do not have them. No biggies, though.

Room Tip: upper level rooms on roadside allow you to see your car.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
240 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The initial reason that we looked at the Red Roof on Arsenal in York was because of its location between Baltimore and Lancaster. However, the rooms are updated, the staff accommodating, and the price and location were a perfect fit.

They don't provide any amenities (breakfast, pool, computer, irons, hair dryers, etc) but those items could be signed out at the desk. The only reason it's not a 5 star, is that exiting the property going west is a bit tricky. You have to drive out the side entrance and do a U-turn on a fairly busy street.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elbojbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
178 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We were on our way to tour the Harley factory and picked the Red Roof inn due to it's location and reviews on Trip Advisor. The hotel is very good for the price. The front counter staff is friendly and helpful
The price was low but the standards are high.
I reccomend this hotel to anyone who needs a place to stay in York....

Liam & Colleen
New York

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fglawihio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE! I decided to book this hotel at the last minute for Memorial Weekend. I chose this place because the reviews weren’t too bad, and it wasn’t too far from Hershey Park. But do you believe I requested a non-smoking room, and when I got there on Saturday – the guy attendant told me they didn’t have any more of those non-smoking rooms. I said well that’s not my problem, I booked a non-smoking room. His only response to me was, well I can wait around to see if someone will cancel their reservation 2-Nite. Unreal.! So my follow up response was, no thank you – just please cancel my room. I WILL NEVER GIVE THIS PLACE A THOUGHT AGAIN!!!!!! I ended up staying at the TownePlace Suites in Harrisburg and then the 2nd night we stayed at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue in Hershey. Both of them were much more money, but beautiful properties. Definitely worth it!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We originally had reservations for Mon - Thur, but arrived 1 day early. Called & Red Roof was kind enough to add the additional day. Location is centrally located in Central PA by I-83 with easy access to Lancaster, PA outlets, Hershey Medical Center to visit very sick friend, and family in Chambersburg and York.

Rooms are clean and when I inquired about refrig and microwave, they were kind enough to offer another room where there was one.

Con for my visit was that WiFi was down 1 1/2 days and I needed it for my job, but otherwise, it was a very pleasant visit especially after returning from visiting friend in hospital several days.

I would recommend this hotel for reasonably priced and cleanliness.

Room Tip: There is NO swimming pool or Fitness center at this location. If you are driving East on Route 30, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croghan, NY
Level Contributor
94 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here overnight. Front desk clerk was exceedingly pleasant and helpful. Room was super clean, pleasant and comfortable. Basic amenities at a very reasonable price. Only complaint...no hair dryer.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rubyCroghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
4.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton York
0.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham York
0.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Westgate Inn
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#20 of 25 in York
3.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
2.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden York
Wyndham Garden York
#6 of 25 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 York North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 York North

Property: Motel 6 York North
Address: 125 Arsenal Rd, York, PA 17404-1802 (Formerly Red Roof Inn York)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 York North 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 York North is located off of I-83 at Arsenal Rd/US 30. Restaurants and shops are nearby. Visit the Harley Davidson Plant Museum 1 mile, or York College and PA State University less than 3 miles. Enjoy our free Wi-Fi and truck parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Motel-6, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Motel 6 York North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn York Hotel York
York Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing