We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improved”
Review of Motel 6 York North

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 York North
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in York
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Painted interior and new carpets and furnishings since two years ago. No breakfast but clean, handy location at reasonable cost. Friendly staff, helpful with directions. Soundproofing a bit weak. Coffee machine in lobby and lots of "fast food" eatery's nearby

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wsxedc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 175 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Here for work at the york expo three nights beds and bathroom are clean the hall way carpets look new. Diane at the front desk was super nice and very helpful.would stay again. The room looks like it was remodeled . It was quite at night

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Very clean and comfortable for the price! The staff was extremely friendly! My only complaint would be that they do not have any type of breakfast. They do have a 24 hour coffee machine that also dispenses lattes and hot chocolate.

Room Tip: Get as far away from the road as you can. The trucks can be noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bt2764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This motel is close to getting a five-star rating from me. Unfortunately, they gave me a room with a very loud motor in the ceiling associated with the ventilation system, and it never quit. It was so loud, it could not be drowned out by the heating system, which, ironically, is very quiet. I didn’t sleep.

The “off” button on the heater did not work, so I had to adjust the thermostat frequently. The room is very nice, but I don’t like having the sink right by the entrance door. It does have a huge counter, though, so it is worth it. The room is a very good size and clean. It had a very nice table for working and excellent lamps, but an old 19” CRT TV and a poor selection of cable channels. I thought the people working there were very friendly and helpful. Note that there is no breakfast, but they sort of make up for it with free long distance phoning.

Scooper47’s top tips: 1. Ask for a room on the second to fourth floors for privacy and to see the room before you pay. If there is no motor noise in the ceiling above or below the bathroom and entrance, take it!
2. Route 30 (Arsenal Rd.) is a nightmare. No left turns except at traffic lights. The problem is, there are no U-turns allowed at some traffic lights. Believe it or not, you have to take a RIGHT turn, go down the street and turn around in a parking lot. Great planning, York!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scooper47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Red Roof Inn in York on a Saturday night with my girlfriend and our dog. This hotel is located conveniently off of I-83 with plenty of amenities close by.

It's a standard priced hotel by Red Roof Inn standards, which means it's pretty cheap. I used hotels.com to reserve the room, and check in was painless as the receptionist pulled up my reservation seamlessly.

The public exterior and interior of the hotel is clean and decent looking. The room we got (Non-smoking King) had ample space, a decent TV, a nice King bed, a mini fridge, and a desk. Best of all, it was clean!

I'd definitely recommend this place if your along this part of I-83. It's well worth the price especially if you have pets!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suppressor86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

After looking at all the reviews on tripadvisor for this area we choose this location. It matched the reviews exactly - basic, older decor but clean and comfortable. The staff was pleasant and helpful. We were working so we wanted value and clean and we got it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BrianKelly_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stay at this RRI every 6 months and always find it pretty bare bones BUT clean. The staff, especially Diane at the front desk was very courteous, helpful and friendly. I had a couple of minor things wrong in my room like the refrigerator didn't work and (OK, I admit it despite being an engineer) how to set the time on the alarm clock! Both problems were resolved within minutes by the friendly maintenance man (in my defense, you had to press two buttons labeled with some other function simultaneously to set the time - go figure.) The cleanliness, price and location can't be beat for my purposes and the staff is icing on the cake.

Room Tip: The elevator is slow so if you can get a freshly refurbed room, try for the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ThriftyAndClean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Western Westgate Inn
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites York
0.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#22 of 26 in York
97 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites - York
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 York North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 York North

Address: 125 Arsenal Rd, York, PA 17404-1802 (Formerly Red Roof Inn York)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in York
Price Range: $54 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 York North 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 York North is located off of I-83 at Arsenal Rd/US 30. Restaurants and shops are nearby. Visit the Harley Davidson Plant Museum 1 mile, or York College and PA State University less than 3 miles. Enjoy our free Wi-Fi and truck parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Motel-6, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Motel 6 York North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn York Hotel York
York Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing