We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 York North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Motel 6 York North
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in York
Oakland, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Can't beat the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stay at this RRI every 6 months and always find it pretty bare bones BUT clean. The staff, especially Diane at the front desk was very courteous, helpful and friendly. I had a couple of minor things wrong in my room like the refrigerator didn't work and (OK, I admit it despite being an engineer) how to set the time on the alarm clock! Both problems were resolved within minutes by the friendly maintenance man (in my defense, you had to press two buttons labeled with some other function simultaneously to set the time - go figure.) The cleanliness, price and location can't be beat for my purposes and the staff is icing on the cake.

Room Tip: The elevator is slow so if you can get a freshly refurbed room, try for the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThriftyAndClean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    55
    30
    21
    12
See reviews for
43
43
29
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Got in very late and the man at the front desk was great and helped with bags. The room was very clean and everything worked just fine. No there is no continental breakfast. But why pay a lot more for a little bad food. Went to an event three miles down the road and that hotel was twice as much. Our room at Red Roof was bigger, had a small dorm fridg and micro. Great value and would book a room there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Magicalragdolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Plymouth, New York
Level Contributor
133 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We booked non-refundable reservations, taking advantage of discount. Then Hurricane Sandy came through preventing travel. Emailed home office asking if they would work with us in rescheduling without forfeiting. Referred us to the York Manager, who couldn't have been more pleasant and accommodating because of the circumstance and allowed us credit. The place is clean and comfortable. Would suggest booking a room in the back. Route 30 running in front has horrendous noise and traffic 24/7. Centrally located to many restaurants and although within walking distance, but again, traffic so awful, it would not be safe to cross any of the nearby highways. It's just the nature of the area, no fault of the establishment. In all, we were very satisfied. Red Roof Inns tend to be very decent establishments with polite, helpful employees.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ljc2tall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel was really nothing special. No continental breakfast... It is surrounded by restaurants which is good. When we arrived (it was about 10pm) there was this foul... Well maybe worse than foul odor. The guy who checked us in was friendly though. Our room was on the first floor. The room was clean but the ceiling looked to have some water damage and it looked as if mold was growing there. The bed was comfortable. There was no noise at all from other ppl. I did notice someone had their dog so this is a pet friendly hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brittany G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
146 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I like the Red Roof Inns that have the interior room entrances. I rode the elevator to the 3rd floor. The elevator was okay a few times and a few rides it was so bumpy and scary.

I arrived to my room and my door and several others were propped open with the door latch. I called downstairs to ask what the deal was with the doors. The girl was surprised that the rooms were open and said that was not normal. She said the room was fine and she was sending someone up to check out things. Was apologetic. Overall a good staff.

My room was big. It had brand new carpet, fridge, micro. The room was clean but the shower could have been cleaned a little better. I liked staying on the 3rd floor facing the back of the hotel. It felt private with the curtains open and had a view of some nice trees.

The hotel is at a good central location and not bad for a few nights stay.

Room Tip: 3rd floor back of the building if you want to open your curtains and have somewhat privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank offseasonfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant, Michigan
Level Contributor
603 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 515 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Nice place,a good clean room, no extras other than free coffee in the lobby. This is really a no frills place. It does the job if you are looking for a place to sleep, then go on your way.
It is like living in a quiet apartment because you see very few other people other than the motel clerk. A most unusual amosphere for a motel I have ever experienced--there was no amosphere.
Can be a little challanging to enter the parking lot due to a small entrance. The side entrance is a bit tricky, too. The traffic in that town goes very fast, and it is plentiful.
WiFi worked just great. I also got the neighbor motels WiFi.
I would stay here again. It was fairly priced. It was all we needed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Impala guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circleville, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We spent a Friday through Sunday in York to do a job there on Monday. I always book the same room when calling "King bed, refrigerator/microwave". I also always confirm that they have truck parking (Ford 550 and 30 ft. trailer), was told they had plenty. We found out beforehand that the local Penske dealer had a lot and was just a few miles away so we chose to go there and drop trailer first, glad that we did because lot is really not big enough. Upon getting to our room, we discover that we are in a room w/ double beds, we go back down only to be told that they have no other rooms? So we stay in it for the night with a promise of a king room the next day. Then when we finally get around to getting into bed the 1st bed has hair all through it!! Moved to 2nd and it was ok. Next day moved to King room but they made it seem like we were putting them out, all except the housekeeper, who heard about the hair and checked out the king room before we moved into it. She was awesome!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorkinTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham York
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#18 of 24 in York
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites - York
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton York
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Westgate Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 York North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 York North

Property: Motel 6 York North
Address: 125 Arsenal Rd, York, PA 17404-1802 (Formerly Red Roof Inn York)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 York North 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 York North is located off of I-83 at Arsenal Rd/US 30. Restaurants and shops are nearby. Visit the Harley Davidson Plant Museum 1 mile, or York College and PA State University less than 3 miles. Enjoy our free Wi-Fi and truck parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Motel-6, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Motel 6 York North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn York Hotel York
York Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing