We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suprisingly Enjoyable! Not what you would expect!”

Mexitaly Brick Oven Brewhouse
Ranked #20 of 445 Restaurants in York
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Mexican, Pizza, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Long Pond, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
163 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Suprisingly Enjoyable! Not what you would expect!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I went in thinking this was a fancy italian restaurant...not quite. So, just plan that in your mind right away. Also, extremely important tip...its Mex-Italy, Italy pronounced like (Itally), kind of like the work Rally with an I in front of it. Not that we have settle the important things, let's talk food.

We ordered a Chicken Pesto Pizza and a Five Cheese Pizza. Both pizzas, I believe were 16 inches, so plenty for four people to enjoy and definitely filling. I loved the five cheese and my wife practically swallowed the Chicken Pesto whole it was so good. What also makes this a nice place to enjoy a meal is it is BYOB and the last B doesn't stand for butter. We brought a couple bottles of wine, which was nice, though they did give us styrofoam cups. It seems to be more of a beer bottle type place.

Nonetheless, super friendly, great food and a nice atmosphere (though a little compact with seating). Definitely worth checking out...so quit reading and check it out! :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheGovernor31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    59
    24
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Better Than Expected”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This restaurant has a unique menu, a great atmosphere, and friendly staff. Their habanero-mango hot sauce (homemade) is the BEST, and the deep fried stromboli's, though not very healthy - are excellent. very filling and great prices. Very good menu choices - I could not decide what I wanted - and no complaints about anything. They give you a good bit of food, and it is hot with a great flavor.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Does not get any better than this!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Cooking this good runs in the family! I grew up eating some of the best Italian food that Greg's mother served in her restaurant in western Pa. and he is following right in her footsteps here in York Pa. Oustanding soup and specials and I have yet to be unhappy with anything on the menu. If you have not tried this place you truly are missing out but be prepared you will find yourself coming back again and again! I cannot say enough about Greg and his staff at Mexitaly and as long as they are serving food I will be a customer!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rick c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ahead of their surroundings”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

York is a town that is behind on the curve. By this I mean that they are slow to change, slow to update, always a few steps behind when it comes to being current when it comes to a lot of things. Restaurants is one of them. It is hard to find a restaurant in York delivering fresh food full of flavor and using a wide range of ingredients. I love Mexitaly because it is the closest thing in York you get to the modern world with food. You can find places like Mexitaly in bigger towns or cities, even surrounding towns that aren't necessarily bigger than York. So if you're traveling through York or you live in York and you want great Mexican and Italian inspired food, you gotta hit this joint.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank IronRakkasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mexitaly - The un-Chained Restaurant”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Are you tired of frequenting chain restaurants? Tired of sub-standard food and helping to finance corporate America? Then pay a visit to Mexitaly.

This locally owned and operated restaurant is a hidden gem. The food quality is outstanding with multi-layered flavors prepared by a staff that has a passion for their creations.

The menu is extensive, but the off-menu "specials" are definitely something to try. The combination of ingredients are unexpected but they have been selected to produce a masterpiece. Who would have thought of putting beer brazed pork and potatoes in a Green Chili? Broccoli Rabe on a flatbread? The flavors are incredible and need to be sampled.

The serving sizes are generous and the prices are low - 2 people can easily eat for less than $20. The decor is basic, but clean and well maintained. The location is a little unusual, but once you have found the place then there are no problems coming back - frequently.

Mexitaly is the food experience that we all want, but unfortunately is such a rare find.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nickhull123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mexitaly Brick Oven Brewhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing