We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheapest place to stay within 30 minutes of Hershey Park” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Westgate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Westgate Inn
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in York
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cheapest place to stay within 30 minutes of Hershey Park”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed one night with our whole family. It was fine for what it was- a place to stay near Hershey. It was the only hotel we could find at a reasonable cost that had vacancies that weekend. It was also convenient to have 3 restaurants to choose from in the parking lot and several across the street.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcompoundsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    91
    59
    36
    33
See reviews for
84
74
22
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed at this property in June while travelling to DC. We were simply there to catch some rest and get on our way. Nothing much to report. It served our needs. The breakfast room could be bigger.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5onourway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed here twice for college reunions and have never had a problem. The free breakfast is good and there has never been a problem with seating like there is in some hotels. The room is clean and the staff is easy to deal with. Shirt ride to downtown York, and really anywhere in the town/city. Would recommend to anyone visiting York.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jatravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

When we arrived, the front desk clerk could not find any indication that our assigned room had been cleaned, so he asked us to wait while he checked the room. About 10 minutes later he came back and assigned us a room at the far end of the building and told us to park by the access door there. We moved to the door and after multiple tries to open the access door with our key, we entered into a stairwell. The clerk did not explain clearly that there was an elevator available so we walked up to the 3rd floor. When we used our key on the assigned room, we discovered someone else at the desk in the room. The man in question stated that he had already been assigned the room. We all went back down to the front desk and it was determined that the man, who appeared to be an employee of the hotel, was assigned the room. We spent the rest of the stay wondering if someone other than the housekeepers would attempt to open our door.

On the second night of our stay, the toilet overflowed all over the bathroom floor. We called twice to have help in cleaning up the mess, and when someone arrived all they did was use the bath towels to sop up the mess and wring them out in the bath tub. They were at least kind enough to bring us fresh towels, even though we had to ask for them.

Finally, the elevator near the main entrance was having mechanical problems all weekend. The mechanical room access door was left open and there were times that the elevator would not work at all.

On the plus side, the rooms were pleasant and seemed to be generally well kept. There was hot water available at all times and good water pressure in the shower. The morning breakfast was good and there was plenty of room for all comers. If it weren't for the issues I listed above this would have been a pleasant stay. But because of those problems, we will not be staying at this location ever again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these York hotels

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

This hotel is GREAT! From check-in to check-out, the experience was Great. The room was very large. Not your average size hotel room. We had a King Bed that was very comfortable. The In Room Jacuzzi was deep and big enough for Two Adults of a little over the 235 pound mark. Even the Bath room was a good size. We had plenty of towels, wash cloths and hand towels to last for our 2 night stay. We were on the 2nd floor, which is a Non-Smoking Floor. There is plenty of shopping and eating places in the area around the hotel. The hotel is back off the highway enough so you don't get any road noise. Breakfast was good. The only drawback is the long wait for the waffle iron. If they had 2 of them, it would greatly improve the breakfast area. The fruit was fresh and the coffee was good and hot. As items became empty, the Hostess was there to refill quickly. I will be back soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Getaway4613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meg S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Westgate Inn, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 717-767-6931.

Thank you again for taking the time to tell other guests what you liked about our Best Western Westgate Inn. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Megha Shah
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Westgate Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

The hotel was a bit difficult to see if you're always lost in your zone and not paying attention to the world. Going down 30 with your eyes open, No one should miss the sign for Best western. The beds are extremely comfortable. The room is spacious, the hot water is available at any time of the day or night as far as I know. If you are a non-smoker try to get a room on the 1st or 2nd floor, the 3rd floor smells of smoke residue. The staff is friendly, the breakfast is ecstatic, We were here during street rods, so got to enjoy the view of some really fancy cars with my sister and brother in law.

Room Tip: 3rd floor primarily smokers, hallway will smell, but inside the room it smelled just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cooper G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meg S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Westgate Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear Mr. Cooper,

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 717-767-6931.

Thank you again for taking the time to tell other guests what you liked about our Best Western Westgate Inn. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Megha Shah
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Westgate Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg PA
Level Contributor
176 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

First of all the motel was hard to find and we drove by it and it took several miles to reach an exit where we could get off and come back on 30 to look for it. The clerk was average but did not give clear dlrections on how to get into the building from the parking lot. Then when I went down the hall to the end to figure out how to get in from the parking lot, the back door was blocked open with a rock. I released the door but thought that this should have been monitored by the person at the desk. The room was fine and AC worked well. Dark room and quiet enough even though it was close to Route 30. Did not stay for breakfast.

Room Tip: Probably would be a good choice to choose those in back if you don't plan to run the AC or fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EVGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites - York
1.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham York
6.1 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden York
Wyndham Garden York
#6 of 25 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
5.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn And Suites York South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Westgate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Westgate Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Westgate Inn
Address: 1415 Kenneth Road, York, PA 17404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > York
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Westgate Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Best Western, HotelsforEveryone and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Westgate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Westgate Hotel York
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing