We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brunch to Brag About”
Review of The Accomac

The Accomac
Ranked #26 of 445 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
111 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Brunch to Brag About”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Accomac has been a favorite for special dinners since I first learned about it almost 20 years ago. Our Sunday brunch yesterday upheld the we'll-be-back dining experience. Sitting on their porch and enjoying the slight breeze makes you feel like you're at an exclusive resort by the water - it's right on the Susquehanna. Two couples went, all four people enjoyed their dinners very much. Don't forget dessert, especially their amazing homemade sorbets! The only negative was the strange angle of the chair backs: You either had to sit totally upright and support yourself/ lean front on the table, or you had to lounge kinda far back. In the past they had classic, slatted white chairs that were more comfortable. I know Accomac rebranded in recent years and among other things changed the porch decor (mostly good), but if you have any kind of back issue, better eat inside.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    35
    21
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Father's Day Hit for waterfront dining!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

the porch overlooking the river was perfect for a summer night! even with the rain showers, and the Food was 5 Star from the bread, salad, appetizers of lobster, shrimp and scallops to prime rib! To top it off with Banana foster. Will definitely go back for summer birthdays! Nick was very attentive and a great waiter.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eaglemaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food and location terrific”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We've been here several times over the years for romantic dinners. This year we brought our dear friends from NJ for a special treat. Staff was very attentive and helpful, and the kitchen turned out unusual and delicious food. The tableside steak Diane was a hit, as were the mini fruit tarts for dessert. The only mild disappointment was the new waiter - when we asked for the Bourbon and Scotch selections, gave confused responses. Once he checked at the bar, the choices were far less interesting than ?I remembered.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SamuelOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
700 reviews
355 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 523 helpful votes
“Mothers Day brunch”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I took my wife back to the Accomac for a nice brunch. The first thing that caught my eye was the very reasonable prices--must be the economy! The swordfish and pork loin were terrific and then exceeded by the desserts. The Inn is in mostly good shape after another harrowing hurricane escape last year. The carpets are wearing though and they need to spray for stinkbugs. Still always a nice view of the river.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IrishFan-80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
192 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Tis the season”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Since it's Spring, baseball is a good analogy. Setting and ambiance gets you in the batter's box. Service gets you to first base. Great wine selection and you're on second. Excellent food in both taste and presentation gets you to third. But the only way you score is if you have a relief-restaurant because unless you're a bird or a runway model you'll leave very hungry. And pay dearly for that hunger. We thought the first visit might a fluke but the return was identical. It's an absolutely fantastic experience if return on investment isn't an issue.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ossenfogva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Accomac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing