We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the Line restaurant in York”

Left Bank Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #1 of 445 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
York, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
102 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Top of the Line restaurant in York”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The food alone. It is prepared by a seriously wonderful chef, and done perfectly. The staff are curteous, take the correct orders, and so much more. It takes a little longer at times, but as it comes, you begin to salivate, knowing this will be a treat you'll not soon forget. Just excellent in all facets of the dining experience. Superb !!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank LW M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    69
    19
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I visited The Left Bank as part of York Restaurant Week in March 2014. We chose this restaurant because it is one of the more expensive places in York and the Restaurant Week menu was a fantastic deal.

Upon arrival we went to the bar as we were early for our reservation. The bartender was very friendly and allowed my husband to sample the beer he wanted to try before pouring him a pint. I had a generous glass of Merlot.

We were seated promptly at our reservation time and were seated closed to the kitchen. The hostess offered to take our coats, then we sat. We were given both the Restaurant Week menu, as well as the original menu. We all decided the Restaurant Week menu was the better option, but having the choice was a surprise.

We enjoyed all the food options we were served (short ribs, vegetarian meatballs, chicken), service was wonderful, and while we were close to the kitchen you would never know it. We had a fantastic time and already are talking of going back. While it is more expensive than your ordinary restaurant, it is well worth the price for the ambiance and food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CMEDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Fine Dining”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This is a great place to go for a special night out with friends or perhaps to celebrate a special occasion. The food is excellent!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gloria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“AMAZING! A MUST dine location in York.”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We visit this restaurant a few times a year, and monthly in the summer. This is, by far, the BEST restaurant in York County! The items may be a little pricey, but you get what you pay for and we've never been disappointed, even when trying a dish I wouldn't try anywhere else. My husband and I usually get 4-5 appetizers to share depending on how hungry we are and this way we get to enjoy quite a few different dishes. If you go Wednesday evenings they have particular appetizers for $6. This list changes weekly and is always loaded with fantastic choices! Definitely try the banana pepper cream sauce calamari and their seasonal brie selection. They have a WONDERFUL hot & dirty martini. I suggest ordering it "extra dirty with blue cheese olives." You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dkay13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Always a good choice”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The Left Bank is a solid choice ANY time you are looking for an excellent dinner, or maybe just a good martini. This menu is ALWAYS top shelf and the serice is excellent.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Left Bank Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing