We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Left Bank....awesome every time.”

Left Bank Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #1 of 443 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Left Bank....awesome every time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have dined at Left Bank on numerous occassions. It is a wonderful experience each & every time. The food, drinks, service, atmosphere are all top notch. I have been to pretty much in and around York & although others are cheaper, there food just doesn't compare.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hol3673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    68
    19
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

The restaurant dinner was excellent. I was pleasantly surprised. The appetizers and dinner entrees were well done. The server was above average, but pleasant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mrbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Friday Evening Before a Concert - A Great Choice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Before a Friday evening concert at The Strand Theatre down the street, we enjoyed a very pleasant dinner for two at The Left Bank. We started with fresh rolls and a tapenade/olive oil/balsamic vinegar plate. The Spinach Salad and Swordfish Special was superb! The swordfish was grilled and moist, served on a bed of white beans and pulled ham with a sweet red pepper sauce. The Chef's dessert special was raspberry cheesecake that was light and very tasty. Servings were just the right size -- not too big. We dined in amongst old books on the shelves. When we received the bill, it came tucked in an old book, which I briefly read while waiting for our server to return with my credit card. If you are looking for a first class dinner in downtown York, this restaurant is a great choice!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KenPenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, NJ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very impressed with food, service, and ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

I visited recently with a group of business colleagues and found the experience highly enjoyable. We were directed there by a member of the team who resides in York and dines here a few times a year. We weren't disappointed, as the setting was very comfortable and accomodating for a business dinner. The servers were friendly, professional, knowledgable, and attentive. The food lived up to its billing, with the grilled romaine salad, crab mac-and-cheese, and lobster tails and ahi tuna being particular standouts. Overall, a very nice mix of "upscale" and comfortable, recalling the feeling of its Parisian "Left Bank" namesake -- down to the bookshelves and literary motifs throughout.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MB_SouthJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Highly over rated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Living in York all my life, I feel it is a shame people think this is the best restaurant in York. It is small, overcrowded and expensive for what you get. This is not typical of York food-more like your very large cities, which York is not. I guess if you want to splurge once in awhile and pay twice the price for something you can get just as good other places-then this is the place for you.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ethella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Left Bank Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Left Bank Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing