We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly over rated”

Left Bank Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #1 of 448 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
York, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Highly over rated”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Living in York all my life, I feel it is a shame people think this is the best restaurant in York. It is small, overcrowded and expensive for what you get. This is not typical of York food-more like your very large cities, which York is not. I guess if you want to splurge once in awhile and pay twice the price for something you can get just as good other places-then this is the place for you.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ethella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    69
    19
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Like stepping from downtown York PA to Manhattan”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

After a bike ride from Baltimore to York, 8 people arrived at the Left Bank and were totally delighted! the ambiance, food and service, all equally important were fabulous! We felt as if we'd left York for an upscale New York City restaurant with affordable prices. It was perfect!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SLKj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly Good”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I picked The Left Bank after reading reviews on Trip Advisor, and although the reviews were good, I still was unsure what to expect. All I can say is WOW. The atmosphere was noisy by energetic, vibrant, and fun. The employees were friendly. And the food was great! We each had soup and salad, which came out in bigger portions than we expected. She had sea bass and I had steak (boring I know, but there are sooo many things to pick from). Both were done to perfection. Kudos to the owners, the chef, and our waitress (#67).

A perfect start to our evening out. We will be back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tomrudz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good food, fun atmosphere!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The food is always good, wait staff attentive, fun location! Sometimes is crowded and noisy however.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank HB1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Consistantly good!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Without a doubt, one of York's best restaurants, although a bit pricey it's worth the spend. If you are a calamari lover, don't miss their flash fried version. Wednesday night features selected 1/2 price appetizers at the bar!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ckehrhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Left Bank Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing