We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to Victor's After 10 Years”

Victor's Italian Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Victor's Italian Restaurant is not available through our online partner for your requested time.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 496 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mt. Rose Ave / Prospect St
Description: A neighborhood staple since 1984, Victor’s has evolved into the perfect reflection of an Italian Trattoria. Though the quality of the food, thoughtfulness of the service, and the caliber of wines, beers, and cocktails offered may hint at a more upscale Ristorante, Victor’s remains a cozy neighborhood spot, perfect for all occasions. Executive Chef George Sheffer’s menu changes with the season and highlights local products when possible. Come and enjoy stuzzichini (snacks) at the bar with a pint from a local brewer or pair any of our more than 100 wines (over 1/3 of Italian varietals) on our wine list with Chef’s Prezzo Fisso menu.
Reviewed February 28, 2016

We had not been to Victor's in 10 years. A chef's special was not so special back then and we never returned until last night. We have a tendency to cross restaurants off the list when we have a bad meal.

Some friends of ours selected the restaurant and drove, so we had no choice but to go. Much to our surprise, the service was impeccable and the food even better. I had the Beet Salad and Chicken Parmesan, which was excellent. My wife had the shrimp wrapped in prosciutto and the Winter Gnocchi. Our friends had the Chef's special with pork tenderloin, which looked great and were confirmed as outstanding dishes.

We had the Lava Cake for dessert with coffee.

Truly as fantastic dining experience, with excellent customer service.

We will be back.

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 92 of 195 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2016 via mobile

Food is good and consistent. Service mediocre, but the beer menu is awesome! Atmosphere is nice as well.

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank nikkip07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VixOwner, Owner at Victor's Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are pleased you had an overall great experience. However, we do take our service very seriously as we are in this business to offer excellent service along with food, drinks and atmosphere. We appreciate your feedback and will continue to strive to improve on all aspects of our business. Please visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2016

I had the scallop risotto and it was divine! It came in a small plate portion, which was perfect since it was so very rich. I also enjoy the quaint atmosphere. It can get a little noisy, due to the close quarters and high church ceilings, but it is cozy none the less.

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LivNLifeNTandem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2016

The restaurant in in a former church so that makes it a unique setting. It has outdoor seating in the warmer months. The food is wonderful. The menu changes so you might not always be able to get the same meal but there will be something equally delicious to have. It's a bit pricey for frequent dining but the perfect place for special occasions.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BigVic52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2016

If you are looking for the traditional South Central PA mounded plate of food, this is not your place. If you are looking for good quality food in appropriate portions in a simple setting that's not overdone... this is it! The Caesar salad can easily be shared and makes a great start to the dinner. The menu doesn't have a ton of options because they are fantastic! I'm a fan of the Victor's saute but always request that they add shrimp. My husband consistently orders one of the options with the D'angelo sausage. Make sure that you make reservations and then hang out at the bar after dinner!

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 552lianab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victor's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Victor's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing