We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised in an out of the way strip mall”

Bel Paese Italian Ristorante
Ranked #45 of 452 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
PA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Surprised in an out of the way strip mall”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I have only been to Bel Paese for lunch, but the food is great! While the pizza is delicious, it is more than a sub and pizza shop. A nice atmosphere, good service and great food. It is fresh and handmade. I recently had the chicken panni - made with pesto and fontina cheese - fabulous! My husband had Joe steak sandwich, made with peppers and a combination for meats. It was great! The location is a bit out of the way for many business people, but it seems to attract them anyway - always a good size crowd. The food is very good and worth the trip.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mittens5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    42
    13
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Jewel in York”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

I have been here several times with customers while visiting York and decided to try it tonight for dinner. I tried the soup of the day-a fish soup with little one inch long strands of a very small pasta. It was very hot and very tasty. For my entree I tried the only steak on their Italian menu- a very large delmonico covered with sautéed mushrooms. The steak was a little more to medium than I prefer but it was very good and the mushrooms were great! For $22 it was a bargain. Their bread was good but the olive oil served for dipping tasted quite old.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Was surprised that they're dinner would be so tasty. Great selection and great service. Not that big of a place, so the service always tends to be very quick.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank jmjacoboski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great little Italian place off the beaten path”
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We had a very good meal at a reasonable price.although the restaurant was quite crowded on a Saturday night, we were seated within 20 minutes without reservations.

Helpful?
Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Ohio, United States
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Decent, not Great...”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Atmosphere is nice, service was excellent. As pointed out in other reviews, the prices would suggest a higher quality of cuisine. We took my inlaws there for lunch and expected to be "wowed" (not an unrealistic expectation, given the prices). Just didn't happen. Decent, yes, but frankly expected more. My wife had eggplant parmigiana and reported that the eggplant itself was very mushy. I had the whole what penne vegetarian; nothing spectacular. In an Italian restaurant, the sauce can make or break the meal. Nothing special about the sauce here. Lunch for four set me back around $90. For that, the lunch should have been memorable. Simply wasn't.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bel Paese Italian Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Bel Paese Italian Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing