We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Judge a Book by its cover for sure”

Coomb's Incorporated
Ranked #63 of 445 Restaurants in York
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American, Bar, Steakhouse, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Carlisle, PA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't Judge a Book by its cover for sure”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Not a fancy place, kind of off the beaten path, but food was a pleasant surprise. Waitstaff very friendly and courteous. Went with party of 5 for lunch and all our food was good and the desserts were yummy. They are known for their steaks and crab cakes. Table beside us ordered a steak and it was huge, and customer seemed very happy with it, I plan on going back to have one myself. Nice artwork on walls, cozy neighborhood bar/restaurant, but does have a back dining area for those who don't want in the front bar area. Would take my children there without hesitation. Prices were reasonable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank irish566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    23
    9
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Part of our Trip”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I travel once or twice a year to an event near York, and sometimes pass through the area on my way to points East. I always make time for at least one dinner at Coomb's Tavern. The food has been excellent each time I've been there. If it is a week night, I enjoy sitting at the bar to eat, but have brought friends to show off what a great place I found, and have also sat at tables in the dining room. The filet mignon has never failed to be cooked exactly right, and is always tender and YUM. On our last visit, a friend had the lobster special and it was REALLY good. I looked over the other reviews and was surprised to see negative comments - I have always had good food, good service and a good time on my 10-12 visits here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CJF53713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Joy
Level Contributor
115 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“DINNER OUT!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have been to this restaurant numerous times and always had a great experience. We took another couple for their first time Sat night. The food was terrible. We both had the Queen cut and it was tough and fatty....the service was horrible. Our server could have cared less if we were there and showed it, had to ask for everything......then argued with us about how the menu read about sides......won't go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bunch1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainsboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't Judge a Book by its Cover”
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

From the street, this looks like a small local gin mill. Inside is actually a fun little restaurant with a good chef, nice staff and good food. The prime rib is well known but the specials can be terrific. I had a crab/lobster cake my last time here which was great and priced fairly.

The place will always hold sentimental value to me as my late father's local haunt but once you get past the no frills decor you will definitely get a good meal at a fair price.

Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The best restaurant. Nice place to eat a meal we love it the servers could be a little better but the food is amazing

Helpful?
Thank Rjb34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coomb's Incorporated also viewed

 

Been to Coomb's Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing