We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont judge a book by its cover” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Central Family Restaurant

Central Family Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 442 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Diner, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Central Family Restaurant is located 1 mile from Route 30 and is within walking distance of Historic downtown York. We offer a variety of Homemade Specials and Desserts. From Hand rolled potpie, Steaks and Prime Rib, Award winning Cream of Crab Soup to a Spanish Omelet for Breakfast. Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner we cover all the meals even a late night snack.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Dont judge a book by its cover”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

What a great place to eat dinner. I travel weekly and this place was amazing. From the outside you may wonder what this place really is. But once you come in, and sit down, it is a great diner. The food is amazing and the service is outstanding. The apple dumpling is GINORMOUSE!!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    29
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Feels Like Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is such a wonderful family restuarant. Great food and service. We always feel welcome and it's fun to see what's new on the menu. This really is our favorite family restaurant in York.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York Haven, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
224 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Great server, good sense of humor and more than attentive. Breakfast was great, pancakes are sweet and fluffy. Definitely a local regulars spot, many of the folk around us new the staff on a first- name basis. Nice menu, lots of specials and choices.

Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, PA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“York Tradition”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

The Central Family Restaraunt is a casual place. The food is fresh and good. We only had one unsatisfactory entree in 10 years. That was taken care of with no problem. Most servers there are veteran to the restaraunt. It's like seeing family when you go in there.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bittenatthebayside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralFamily, Owner at Central Family Restaurant, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thanks We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Plymouth, New York
Level Contributor
133 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stopped for dinner. Extensive menu but felt some of the prices were a bit steep given the location and the building in general. It's clean but shabby and stuck in the 40's-50's. Staff very friendly and attentive. We both had the homemade chicken pot pie with homemade noodles. Came with two sides. The pot pie was tasty and plentiful, but you'd be hard pressed to find any chicken in it. One of the sides we both chose was baked apples. Simple but very, very good. Interestingly enough, they offered game on the menu, something we're not used to seeing in NY (venison and maybe buffalo?). The desserts looked very good and were homemade but we didn't partake. Believe maybe we would have rated it higher if we had chosen a different main course.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ljc2tall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Central Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing