We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our performamce palace”

Appell Center for the Performing Arts
Ranked #5 of 48 things to do in York
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
York, PA
Level Contributor
120 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Our performamce palace”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This great former movie theater complex was renovated with local funds a couple decades ago, and continues to book top name performers.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank K&CYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    23
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

I brought my 11 & 7 year old girls to see The Russia Ballet''s Sleeping Beauty for great report card grades. We are never disappointed when we see a show here. My girls love theater. We get a wide variety of off Broadway shows, ballet, comedians, old movies (they were thrilled when they showed White Christmas) and orchastra's. It's fabulous and we love coming here. I would love an opera show... Hint hint:-)) Keep up the amazing work you are doing!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angegarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The Strand-Capitol Performing Arts Center is a beautiful restored theatre complex in downtown York. There is not a bad seat in the house for any production. We've seen stage plays as well as musical productions. We've always enjoyed the experience. To top it off, there are several fantastic restaurants within walking distance.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Myrna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallastown
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“saw Ron White”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

beautiful historically significant theatre. wonderful accoustics and plush surroundings. very clean and extremely well organized. you can tell they've been in business for a long time, very smooth and no glitches in operations. oh and they have wine :)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank DallastownVickie_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, PA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Love this little theater”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A place with a huge variety of shows and concerts, this "little" theater brings beauty and enjoyment to the stage in a comfortable way that is balanced. Meaning it is not the over the top you feel you can't take your children there, but easily nice enough to dress to the nines and share a special evening. a Great little Gem of York,.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linnaya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Appell Center for the Performing Arts also viewed

 

Been to Appell Center for the Performing Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing