We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in York
NYS
Level Contributor
80 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hotel was clean. Our room smelled like air freshener. They have a free hot breakfast. They had scrambled eggs, bacon, french toast, oatmeal, toast, juices, milk, coffee and more. They have a small indoor pool that's open late. They had a coupon in the "Hotel Coupons, Northeast Edition" green book that you can find on The Thruway or at Visitor Centers for a discounted room price as a walk-in.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    80
    41
    26
    30
See reviews for
142
50
25
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salina, Kansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

This was a nice, clean hotel with a congenial staff that went out of their way to be helpful. The room was very comfortable and the hotel was located in a nice area adjacent to the interstate. The breakfast was great and there was a restaurant adjacent to the hotel. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed the night before my daughter's college graduation. Location was very convenient, close to the highway and the college. The place was inviting as you first walked in with a cozy fireplace and seating area in the lobby. Check in was fast and friendly. Our room was clean and comfortable with more than enough space for three of us (2 queens beds). Breakfast was good enough. For the cost I would stay there again, no question.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathybanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archbald
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Hotel was clean & sevice was good. The bed was just ok. It could of been better. The breakfast was ok too. Edible, not enjoyable!! Location was good for us... minutes away from York College. Restaurants/ dunkin doughnuts are near by too. Over all it was a good stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Ceja, Antioquia, Colombia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 12 days while I was working on a project team at my employer's office in York. Our rooms were booked as a block, so we had a good price, but I know that many of my colleagues regularly stay here when they come to town.

That said, I thought the stay was OK, but not great. The property is a little out of date.

Positives:
- Friendly staff. I found them to be energetic and helpful.
- Low cost washer/dryer ($1.00 each per load)
- The indoor pool looked nice, though I did not use it.

Negatives:

No mini-fridge. This is not a big deal if you are there one night, but when you are there a while, you like to have snacks or a place to keep a six-pack cold. I would not stay there with my small children, as we definitely need a fridge to keep milk cold.

Old-school cathode ray TV. It's been a long time since I stayed in a hotel without a flat screen.

Slow standard internet. The standard internet speed is way below today's standards. You can upgrade to a very good speed for only $3.00, which is well worth the money if you want to stream video.

None of the above was a deal breaker for me, but one of my colleagues did move to another hotel as he is a big TV and mini-fridge fan. I was a little annoyed to have to get ice to cool my beer.

I would stay here again if the price were significantly lower than nearby hotels and my kids were not part of the trip.

Room Tip: Do ask for a room away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coolcoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed in one of the suites at the Country Inn & Suites in York, PA for two nights in March 2013. Location is great, right off highway. Check in/out were both very easy and fast. Breakfast was good and the room was very much to our liking - spacious and very clean.

My only complaint was the bed quality. Our room had a king size bed and the mattress cover pulled off from all 4 corners almost immediately upon lying down. It was rather unpleasant to wake up touching the scratchy mattress. But the bed itself was the bigger problem. It was incredibly squishy, and you sank about a foot if you were lying in the center of it. My boyfriend and I had to sleep on opposite ends of the bed, as close to the edge as possible, otherwise we'd fall into the "hammock" of a bed at the center. Like I said, the overall hotel quality was great but the beds are in dire need of an update.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amberrose527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was only here for 2 nights. Very convenient location off the highway, near shopping and restaurants. Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean, comfortable. As Usual County Inn and Suites don't disappoint

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mom0rem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn And Suites York South
4.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham York
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites - York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York Southeast
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - York
5.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden York
Wyndham Garden York
#6 of 25 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York
Address: 245 St. Charles Way, York, PA 17402-4643
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > York
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York Hotel York
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, York
Country Inn York
York Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing