We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Storm Sandy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in York
Rochester, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Super Storm Sandy”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Recently my family and I had planned a cruise of of Baltimore, of course hurricane Sandy changed all that. After arriving at the port, we were informed the cruise had been cancelled moments earlier , of course we had been checking on its status on our way down to Baltimore (6 HR drive) and it was still a go until 2:30 PM. Well now we had no choice but to start for home, high winds and rain made us seek shelter outside of Baltimore, we chose The Country Inn and Suites in York, PA. We were greeted by Mary, she checked us in, explained about services available and breakfast in the AM. There was a problem with the toilet in one of our rooms, Mary had us switched to another room in minutes, we ended up staying 4 days, had thought maybe 2 days would be enough but weather was not on our side. We enjoyed our stay, personnel was friendly, helpful and very considerate. Oh, the breakfasts were very good too. This was an excellent place to stay hurricane or not. We plan to stay there next year after our rescheduled cruise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milton W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    84
    45
    28
    34
See reviews for
156
55
25
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mill Hall, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I have been staying at this hotel since it was built. This is the cleanest, quietest, friendliest hotel, I have ever stayed at. The location is just perfect for the York TCA train meet & the free breakfast is great. The hotel was at full capacity, yet the rooms were so quiet, I was able to sleep just fine. Jim Hill, Mill Hall PA

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Lived for 1 1/2 years in a similar type of temporay residence. Country Inn and Suites by Carlson in York, PA is every bit as comfortable and accommodating. Would definitely recommend as a short or long term stay facility. Very clean, tidy, cozy, inviting. The staff were all friendly and extremely helpful. Thank God the front desk had emergency hairspray. A lifesaver for me as I had an important interview that day. Thank you sooooo much.

Room Tip: My room was in the front near the entrance and a busy road and parking lot. It was completely quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZGR8NTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This was my second stay in a Country Inn and Suites, the first in Niagara Falls, Canada. In both instances, you immediately feel like you are visiting a familiar, comfortable place. As you enter the York location, you walk into what looks like a comfortable parlor with comfortable seating with a carpeted staircase leading up to the second floor. It had the look of being in someone's home versus an industrial-like appearance. Off to your right is the breakfast area that, too, feels more like someone's home. The check-in desk, immediately to the left as you enter was staffed by pleasant, helpful staff. Our room was simply decorated and clean. In time, the older tube TV will be replaced by more current flat panel TV. The room included free wi-fi and worked fine. The breakfast was competitive with that offered by Hampton Inn that, to me, is the benchmark for high hotel breakfasts for quality and variety. Although I thought the price was just a bit high, overall, this was a fine hotel and hit all of the high grades for being comfortable, clean, and safe.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike-20024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The hotel is clean and the staff is friendly. Well maintained property with an indoor pool and a great full breakfast bar. It is a non-smoking premises but has plenty of nice places outside for those who do smoke. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant Park, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Allowed us to use the 'walk in only' coupon and allowed us to check in VERY early. Room was very clean and smelled nice. Staff was helpful, pool was wonderful, breakfast was yummy and plentiful! Walked to lunch and lots of food options nearby. Would stay again, even if it was for more than one night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janace J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ham Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Everything was ok and there was a full breakfast. We had room 109 and that was ok but don't take a room at the back because off the interstate

Room Tip: don't take a room at the backside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeoandMagda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
4.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham York
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton York
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites - York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - York
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn And Suites York South
5.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden York
Wyndham Garden York
#6 of 26 in York
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York
Address: 245 St. Charles Way, York, PA 17402-4643
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > York
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York Hotel York
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, York
Country Inn York
York Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing