We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, wonderful service, great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in York
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We were traveling south from upstate New York to southeast Virginia and it was getting late, so we checked the reviews on this hotel and pulled in for the night. We were not disappointed. Our suite was very clean, with comfortable beds and extra pillows. The refrigerator and microwave worked well, and the bathroom was very clean with everything in working order.
Evita (at the front desk) was courteous and took care of us promptly, and Diales (sp?) set us up with a crib for my granddaughter. The fold up crib was easy to set up and had a good, clean mattress.
The hot chocolate, coffee and cookies that are available in the lobby were a nice touch.
We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast. Many hotels now offer a complimentary breakfast, but this one was several notches above most that I have seen. Sausages and scrambled eggs (not the yucky egg patties), with warm tortillas available and ham, salsa, and shredded cheese, in case you want to make a breakfast burrito. Also fresh fruit or cut up melons and grapes, a nice variety of breads, muffins, and bagels, cereal (including hot oatmeal, with fixings like brown sugar, cinnamon, blueberries). There were highchairs available as well.
Traveling with an infant is sometimes a challenge, but they made our stop truly pleasant. We were able to get back on the road feeling refreshed.
We will definitely stop again when traveling through York.

Room Tip: Get a suite if you can afford it, it makes traveling with family less stressful. I woke up before m...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharonD61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 349 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2012

Needed a place to stay for one night while in the York area on business. Read "TripAdvisor" reviews, and this hotel consistently had positive comments. So I stayed there and I was not disappointed. The hotel was easy to find, just a few miles off of Interstate 81. There was a Ruby Tuesdays right next door, and other restaurants within a few miles. The staff was very pleasant, the suite was comfortable and nicely decorated, and the morning breakfast had a good variety and was replenished often. Unfortunately, I did not have the time to use the indoor pool, but it looked as clean and appealing as the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katmanchico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful and kind words about our staff and hotel! We do our very best to make every guest's stay the best it could be!

We hope you will choose us again if you return to York, PA.

Thank you,
Sabrina Bowman
717.747.5833

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Ok wanted to stay here because there was a local event at the York Fair Grounds. Its very easy to the fair grounds from here and only a 10 minute drive. Staff was freindly and helpful. The rooms are all 2 rooms suites, either a kind bed with sleeper sofa or 2 queens and you get hot breakfast included every morning. Rooms are nice and clean and all have micorwave and refridgerator in them. Great little hotel with a perfect location. The hotel has an indoor pool and jacuzzi which is a huge plus after 8 hours of walking at the fair grounds. They also have an outdoor pick nick area with bar-b-que should you get the desire. Also got 3 restaurants in walking distance. You got Ruby Tuesday, Cracker Barrel, and Tailgators Sports Bar as well as a donut shop across the street. The location is perfect with easy on and off from highway 83 with other stores and stuff close by such as gas, Starbucks, and CVS.

Ok here were the minor quirks.

1. First night in my room was hot because the AC didnt work and they didnt have another room until the next day and then I moved. No maintenance guy on staff until Monday to fix it. You would think come April all room AC units would be checked especially since they are a heating unit as well.

2. First day at breakfast they had no eggs so the hot breakfast turned into a continental breakfast more less real fast. Cant really figure out how this happens. One would think when you are are down to your last case of eggs you would order more instead of running out?? At this point the manager of the hotel should have sent someone out to the grocery store to buy a case of eggs until the deliver arrived. The gal also refilling the coffee containers and food trays was really slow. It took forever for her to replentish the danish, muffins, juice, ect.

3. The 2nd day (Saturday) they had eggs and also had 2 gals servicing the breakfast area and the service was slower than with 2 gals than with 1 gal like the previous day. It takes a long time for them to refill the egg trays, coffee, muffins, ect. So this means if you want toast while you are eating your eggs you cant have it because you are done eating your eggs by the time they refill the bread tray. Or if you want sausage with your eggs you may only get toast and eggs because it takes forever for them to refill the sausage tray.

Over all its a great place and maybe when I stayed there and they just had an off weekend but I would stay here again. If you are a light sleeper you may want to get a room on the opposite side of highway 83 because traffic noise can be a bit loud.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank caymankid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We appreciate not only the kind words you had for our staff and hotel in general, but also for the additional information on things that needed improvement! It is only through valued feedback of what was wonderful and what was lacking that we are able to take the necessary steps to correct this so it does not happen again.

I apologize for the issues surrounding both the AC unit and the service at breakfast. As part of our preventative maintenance plan our HVAC units are checked on a regular basis to ensure they work properly and we apologize that the one in your room was missed. I am glad we were able to move you the following day. In regards to the breakfast service, I have personally spoken to our staff and it is an ongoing coaching effort to ensure this does not happen again.

If you have any other questions or feedback, please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel.

Sincerely,
Sabrina Bowman
717.747.5833

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

excellent hotel....pleasant staff, nice pool and a very nice and warm hot tub, good breakfast...we will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rduinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnYork, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our staff! We do our very best to make every stay the best one yet! We look forward to your return!

Sabrina Bowman
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Very nice hotel up to the Country inns standards. Bathroom could have been cleaner. I found hairs in the shower, next time I look before I accept the room.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nhscooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnYork, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your stay! I sincerely apologize for the cleanliness issue in the bathroom and am glad you've alerted me to this. I would like to offer you a complimentary room upgrade upon your next visit with us. Please contact me directly, that I may extend this offer to you. My email address is: sabrina.bowman@countryinns.com

Thank you,
Sabrina Bowman
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We needed a couple of rooms for relatives the night before our son's graduation from York College. This hotel was about three miles from the school. Rooms were well kept with handicapped access for my father-in-law who was in a wheelchair. Staff was friendly and always available.

Free hot breakfast was good but the seating area was crowded. I assume this was because of the other families in town for the same reason. Conveniently located next to a chain restaurant that serves lunch and dinner.

Overall, we had a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cope2945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

This remains our choice of place to stay in south York after many years. We always take a suite which supplies a fridge, microwave, and separate living room with sofabed. We've never noticed them slacking on the upkeep, and almost without exception the front desk staff have been friendly and capable. Rates are in line with comparable properties--possibly even a bit cheaper.

The decor is not exciting or bright, but they clean and maintain it well. The bed was very comfortable this last time, and even on the interstate side of the hotel, road noise was easily masked by the fan, so we slept well. The complimentary breakfast is kept well-stocked with hot items like waffles and eggs, and coffee is available all day in the lobby.

They have an indoor pool for wearing out the kids and a small fitness center for wearing out the parents. Wi-fi is free. We appreciate having the Ruby Tuesday next door, especially if the weather is poor so we don't need to venture far for a meal.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
4.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham York
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton York
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites - York
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn And Suites York South
5.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden York
Wyndham Garden York
#6 of 26 in York
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York

Address: 245 St. Charles Way, York, PA 17402-4643
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > York
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in York
Price Range: $98 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York Hotel York
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, York
Country Inn York
York Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing