We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eaten alive by bed bugs”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in York
york pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Eaten alive by bed bugs”
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in room 346 for work at brunner island power plant. The first impression was what is that smell in the hallway which was covered up by cheap perfume by that didn't last to long. Then started to notice the itching spots all over my body so I ripped the sheets off the bed only to find bed bugs!!! OMG never again will I not check every little nook and cranny of the bed I'm about to sleep in

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davejose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbp0123, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback for our property. We are sorry about your experience here, I can assure you we do not have bed bugs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    28
    17
    6
    25
See reviews for
25
18
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rome City, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

This motel is not going to receive any awards in the immediate future, but it provided a pretty good night's lodging for me. I used a travel coupon, which brought my total bill for the one night to $47. This was quite a bit less than the other area motel rates I'd been given when calling around. It's showing its age in places but my room was clean, quiet and comfortable. The room included a microwave and fridge and the wifi signal was strong and reliable all evening. I would be glad to stay here again if my business takes me back to the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbp0123, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback to our property. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are continuously making improvements including the bedding and breakfast items. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The room was clean and the staff was nice.The only complaint I have ,and it isn't the hotels fault was the noise level of the other customers.All through the night people were in and out of the hallways and making lots of loud noise.Slamming dooors and such laughing and speaking loudly in the hallways.It was through out the hotel because my teammates had the same complaint.We were in town for a powerlifting competition at York Barball and none of us got a restfull nights sleep

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to complain about the noise ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Albert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbp0123, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank You for taking the time to provide feedback for our property. We are sorry you had a bad experience in the past. We are making improvements around the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed at the Econo Lodge while on our summer, week long vacation. Overall it was a good experience. However, when we called to get more towels we were told that we would have to go to the front desk to get them ourselves. In addition, the wifi barely worked and the breakfast was substandard. We called ahead of time asking if we could check in 2 hours early and were told it would be okay, but when we got there, we were denied and told to come back in 2+ hours. On the plus side though, the General Manager was very helpful. When there was a problem he would go above and beyond to solve it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gimlinoe01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbp0123, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank You for taking the time to provide feedback for our property. We are making improvements to the property. The internet is working great. We have updated the bedding and got different items for breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We booked the Econo lodge for one night because we were in York, PA for a show at the Strand theater. Overall, we were pleased considering the price for one night (approx. $60). Even though the hotel is just off of the 30 Hwy, it wasn't noisy (we were facing away from the hwy, so it may be slightly noisier on the other side).

We were right at the end of the hallway, so we were woken up by the door slamming (other guests leaving the hotel) occasionally in the night. So, if you were to book the Econo lodge, it would be best to get a room away from end of the hall.

The complimentary breakfast at the Econo was okay. There was juice, toast, danishes, fruit, muffins, and cereal. However, the cereal options were not all that healthy - cheerios, fruit loops, captain crunch (with fruit pieces), and another similar cereal (sugary). It would be nice if they could include some healthier options in to their continental breakfast. However, it was nice that they had so much fresh fruit available.

Overall, we thought the Econo was very good value. The room wasn't spectacular, but it was great for what we needed it for (just the one night in York).

Room Tip: To avoid excess noise, choose a room facing away from Hwy 30 and away from the hallway doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erin888899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbp0123, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank You for taking time to give us feedback for our property. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willmar, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here and I will never stay at another Econo Lodge!!! It appeared someone was either murdered or vomited on the mattress - both beds!! There was something splattered up the wall that I did not notice until the next morning. The comforters were both VERY stained!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbp0123, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback for our property. We are very sorry to hear you had a bad experience here. We would have immediately corrected this problem. We are doing updates to our property including the new bedding, also new items for breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earlville, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I spent five months here, as I transitioned into a new job and location. The staff were friendly, courteous and helpful. The price was fair and the stay enjoyable. It is well located and there are plenty of food and entertainment venues near to the motel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbp0123, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thx for staying with us Kelly, we really enjoyed having you here with us. We hope you have adjusted well to your new job and settled into the area. Come see us soon and anytime you need some time to getaway or just enjoy the pool :) Thx again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites York
0.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham York
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Westgate Inn
4.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton York
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites - York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 222 Arsenal Rd, York, PA 17402-1951 (Formerly York View Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing