We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Irish Pub around the town!”
Review of Maewyn's Irish Pub - CLOSED

Maewyn's Irish Pub
Cuisines: American, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Maewyn's, located at 110 North George Street in Downtown York is an Irish pub and eatery - featuring traditional Irish fare as well as American cuisine. There are over 20 draught beers and a large selection of bottled beers. We take great pride in pouring "The Perfect Pint" of Guinness!
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Irish Pub around the town!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Maewyn's is a nice Irish pub in Central York, PA...perfect for pre-game (York Revolution - A Baseball), pre-theater or concert (Strand Capitol Theater), or any time (really). Actually, it's pretty darn good for post event activities too! Always cold beer (Guiness!!!), an oyster bar, and of course a full menu of American and Irish specialties. Dinner sized portions of fish-n-chips are very generous and the reuben egg rolls are out-of-this-world. Homemade chips are served complimentary with your food order and are incredibly delicious. I love this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeStheRef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    8
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Dinner prior to Strand Capital. Service was great, food was pretty good. Close to Strand Capital and easy parking.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown
Level Contributor
164 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

First time here and we started out with cheesesteak egg rolls as an appetizer and wow...they were great! I had the Scallops Chesapeake and that was even better than the appetizer with a tasty sauce, great potatoes and nice veggies. One person had the chicken sandwich and said was good but not anything special. The burger got by another was big and delicious so not disappointed with that. Finally we split a lobster Mac n Cheese which wasn't quite as good as Devon's in Hershey but very good with pieces of lobster in it. The service was excellent and the atmosphere was great so we look forward to coming back again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, PA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We went to Maewyn's before a show at The Strand. We sat near the kitchen in a table for two. Service was extremely slow. We watched wait staff go by all evening to wait on other guests. At least two tables that were seated after us were served before us. Beverage glasses sat empty on our table for quite awhile. The restaurant was not extremely busy that night. We would write it off to a bad night except we already did that once. This was our second visit with similar poor service. We won't be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank halfwitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, PA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“bad food, decent atmosphere”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Went downtown last night with another couple for dinner. The wait at the White Rose was an hour and a half (not worth that!), so we walked to Maewyn's. It was half empty on a Saturday night at 7:30. We should have known better. Ordered appetizers and fish and chips from a waiter with a fake Scots accent (it was bad). The wings of all things were the best thing we ordered. The fish and chips were dry, and were served with prepackaged catsup and tarter sauce--we had to ask for more of both--not a nice touch. The atmosphere was nice, as there was an accomplished female vocalist performing. Our waiter had our check in hand each time he came to the table...he was obviously ready for us to depart before we were!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LB K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maewyn's Irish Pub also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing