We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer, shame about the ambience”
Review of Vault Brewing Co.

Vault Brewing Co.
Ranked #1 of 45 Restaurants in Yardley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $16
Cuisines: Pizza, Bar, Gastropub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Vault is a Brewery and Restaurant located in an 1800s bank complete with a vault. They offer an ever-rotating list of beers brewed in house and a seasonal menu featuring creations out of a copper-clad wood fired oven
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great beer, shame about the ambience”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

This long-awaited Yardley brew pub delivers on tasty beer (an excellent albeit limited range) but doesn't seem to know whether it is a pub, fine dining establishment or wine bar.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    99
    21
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Funky and eclectic food, micro brews and jazz...what's not to like?”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Pretty much says it all. Funky-smart and sensitive reno of a century-old bank, with many original architectural accents preserved. Reservations a must, even though we had to wait a bit for our table - could use some additional, casual seating while waiting for a table. Big on the micro-brewery experience, right on site, with smart-looking "flights" of micro beers on offer - great marketing. Limited, but innovative menu - "designer" pizzas, sandwiches, ground lamb or seafood entrees. Limited, but decent wine offerings, if beer is not your thing. But, really, it's about the beer and the "buzz". Jazz is what u get, based on who's in town. Brings a mellow vibe to the place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TripperGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Yardley has an awesome microbrewery in our town.”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

First things first- Wow. Beautiful. James you did it right. Thank you for the great talk. It was awesome meeting you and the brothers. Food, live music, and hand crafted beer from a cask pump. Love it! Also, families run business as well. That is a rare thing these days. What else can you ask for Brother John? Customer service was out of this world. The pies are amazing and I was lucky enough to be a guinea pig on some new sandwiches in beta test even after the kitchen closed. The decor, atmosphere, open design flow is gorgeous. James and company cosmetically worked in the history of the building's architecture originally occupied by 4-5 banks, with BOA being the last stop. The colors work in concert with Vaults Brewing Company not only on the palette of your mouth, but also visually stunning to even further excite your taste buds.

Folks with the 2-3 stars, I challenge you below to educate yourself a bit ore, give t another shot and see how you feel. I am not putting you down, as I also started in the same place. However, micro brews made in the US accounts for less than 5% of gross beer sales. The industry is dominated by conglomeration of big boys Anheuser-Busch, who owns, Stella, Bass, Becks, Boddingtons, even some craft beer praisers like Goose Island; Miller who owns Peroni, Nastro Azurro, Pilsner Urquell, Molson; Coors owns Grolsch, Blue Moon, Zima. Combined they're over 300 of the major beer labels spilling more beer a day then some micro brews make in a year. FYI- Anheuser-Busch, the 5th, sold out- No longer American after they acquired and crushed Latrobe, and rolling rock for profits and killed the '33".
James brought in the dream team to a much-welcomed neighbor of beer connoisseurs and beer/wine drinkers. OR does Yardley REALLY know what we now have in our own town? If you do not know a think about beer, you will still love it as long as your understand what a micro brew is all about. Talk to James or the friendly and knowledgeable bar keeps and learn. You will be amazed about the history of beer. If you never had beer from a cask....stop now.... what you are doing.....get up...and try it out...old school dispensing of beer without the CO2 push. It is an amazing taste.



and America.

-

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hip atmosphere and great beer and pizza”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

It's so nice to have a new restaurant in Yardley, especially one that provides a hip atmosphere. The beer is great and we have really enjoyed the expanded menu. It's one of our favorite places in Yardley. Looking forward to the outside patio!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aruba67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“My First Beer”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This place has been open for several months but I finally got around to visiting it after my kids went there for dinner. I hesitated to go because I'm not (wasn't) a beer drinker. But the variety of beers offered here has changed me. We started with the 4-beer sampler. The lightest one was very enjoyable to me. I drank the whole glass. Mind you, it was a mini-glass but it was my first time.
Had an interesting flat bread pizza. Don't remember all the ingredients but the peaches got my attention and it was delicious.
The stools are tall so don't have too many beers. It was a little noisy but I imagine all local beer establishments tend to be that way.
I'm looking forward to trying out the deck which was still under construction when the weather cools off a little. It's well worth a trip to Yardley to enjoy this experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vault Brewing Co. also viewed

 

Been to Vault Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing