We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not fantastic but good enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Wyomissing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Check in was good. Hotel restaurant is nice though odd in a main hallway. Pool looks nice though I never used it. No tower room again. I wonder who gets those rooms?

Some parking lot areas are not lit at night. Tough to comprehend that idea.

Room Tip: Get a room close to an outside loading area
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mightygiants71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaReading, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you were satisfied with your stay but we want to exceed our guest's expectation and make their stay fantastic. There was a couple of areas of the parking lot where a recent hail storm had damaged some lights that have since been fixed as well as an area of the parking lot that was designated to another building that has just been sold and will be opening some time in the near future. We do have staff and security on 24 hours a day that walk the property and parking lot to ensure the safety of our guests and property. We apologize that you were not able to get a room in the Tower as the hotel has had high occupancy for almost 2 months because of companies coming in to help with the damage from the catastrophic hail storm and these guests stayed long term. Please be sure when making your reservation that you request a tower room early on and we will be happy to accommodate you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (728)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

477 - 483 of 728 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

I usually don't write reviews but I had to this time I was on a bus trip to Lancaster, Pa to see the play Moses when we arrived the General Manager Craig Poole came on the bus to welcome us to his hotel it was very genuine. Everyone from the banquet manager Geo to the waitstaff to maintance staff and anyone else we came in contact with were always smiling and helpful. Of course they had all the things that you would expect in a nice hotel, Bar,pool,work out room, a very comfortable lobby area. The Hotel is clean and comfortable. Whether it is on another bus trip on on our own if we are the area we will stay there again. My hat is off to Craig Poole what ever you're doing to keep your staff happy keep on doing it.

Thank You

Bill & Margaret Watt
bmwatt01@comcast.net

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank william w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaReading, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you for your review from your stay. It was great to have you here on your recent trip to see Moses in Lancaster. Mr. Poole takes pride in making sure he welcomes you and your group to the hotel. We take pride in making sure our guests are comfortable and happy. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

I don’t give 5 as a rating because most places have a need for improvement. This hotel was very nice and clean with a restaurant, bar, indoor pool, and patio. Generally located, with other restaurants within walking distance. Malls too. Nightclub on premises was OK if you were returning from a wedding and still wanted to party. They didn’t charge guests of the hotel. I don’t know if they charged anyone else. The room had standard accommodations with free wifi on what was labelled a "quiet" floor. The water pressure was so low I can only assume because they wanted everything to be "quiet?" I didn't know how to turn the AC of so I called and they sent maintenance up right away. We purchased the full breakfast with the price of the room and it was fairly good but stay away from the eggs unless you like powered eggs. Overall, it was a nice stay, wonderful staff, OK bar/nightclub, pool and free parking!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnasDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaReading, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are delighted that you had a great stay. We do have a designated quiet floor but your water pressure issue was not due to that. We did have an issue with a hot water heater that has since been corrected. It is because of valued guests like yourself bringing these issues to our attention that we can quickly correct an issues to provide even better service to our guests. Our eggs on our buffet are made from real eggs and soft scrambled as to not be overcooked and dried out when sitting in the heated dishes, they continue to cook in the container on the buffet. We have had quests take items from the buffet to the omelet chef to modify the item. For example browning the hash browns, and recooking the scrambled eggs. We hope that the next time you are in the area that you choose to stay with us again and enjoy another stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Had an opportunity to stay at the Crowne Plaza In Reading, Pa. Attended conference. Customer focused staff. Clean updated unique property. Open, attractive swimming pool and outside area for relaxing allowed me to enjoy the hot humid weather. Features Goodnites Lounge & Nightclub.
Multiple dinning choices.

Breakfast buffet was great! Reasonably priced.
.
Conference, meeting facilities were very good.

Professionalism of staff, dedication to excellent customer service has to be mentioned.

Room Tip: Tell them what you want. They will accommodate.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itsyourbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaReading, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

I would like to Thank you for the recent review you sent on your stay with us. We Strive to give our guests the experience they deserve. We may be in the city but we have a great relaxing atmosphere at the Crown Plaza. We want to make sure you leave here refreshed and revitalized. We hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Traveled for a convention. Room was good. Spacious, and comfortable. I'm handicapped and found that the public restrooms, while labeled handicap accessible, were small and did not comfortably accommodate a wheelchair. The meeting space was large, bright, sound quality was good, and easily accessible from the main lobby. Food a the restaurant was good and plentiful. As a convention we have buffets planned for us. The choices were many, not just one or two choices.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaReading, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thank you for your review from your recent stay with us at the Crowne Plaza. I believe we have the best chef's in the area serving our guests daily, with them how can you go wrong!. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

This is an average hotel, which to me, means its not bad, and worth considering if you are in the area, looking for a place to rest.
Pros: Clean room, and courteous front office staff. Has a work out room and pool. Close to restaurants that are all walkable and near a highway.
Cons: Shower head is extremely low flow. I travel quite a bit and havent experienced one like this. I am 6'4" and the shower head seemed quite lower than a typical hotel shower head as well. The breakfast offering in the Crowne room was less than desireable. It consisted of some overcooked pancakes, cereal boxes, and four pieces of danish that looked like yesterdays leftovers. There was some canteloupe, honeydew, and pineapple that made it palatable.
Overall, next time, i will try another in Reading and see how it compares.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank connecticutreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaReading, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thank you for the review on your recent stay. I would like to apologize for the less then savory breakfast you encountered during your stay. This has been brought to the Chef's attention and there was a discussion on this. We do hope that you will come back and visit us again in the future and give us another chance to set this right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Pulled into the Crowne Plaza on a seniors bus tour (we were close to being the youngest!), we were greeted by a Willy Wonka-type character complete in burgundy suit and top hat who walked through the bus handing out chocolate "gold" coins. We were then greeted by the hotel manager who introduced himself. Had an awesome dinner (chicken in puff pastry) during which the manager again walked through, greeting people. Very nice indoor pool (which didn't announce itself with the overpowering smell of chlorine, like most others) which opened up to an attractive outdoor park-type area. When I went to the gym one morning, I caught the manager and most of the staff in a morning stretch and exercise session. The staff seemed to be having a good time and that reflected on the smiling service by all.. For a nice touch at the end of the tour, about ten members of the staff, including the manager, were outside waving bye to the tour bus ahead of us and then again when we left. GREAT time, GREAT service!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BGRGluvtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaReading, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

We are glad you were able to be here for the Willie Wonka Experience, Where we make dreams come true. We at the Crowne Plaza strive to make sure all of our guests receive the best welcome and a greatest farewell. We would like for our guests to know the we truly appreciate them. We hope you will come back and visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wyomissing
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Reading
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Reading
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Reading Wyomissing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Reading/Wyomissing
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Reading Wyomissing
0.4 mi away
Inn at Reading
Inn at Reading
#5 of 7 in Wyomissing
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading

Address: 1741 Papermill Rd, Wyomissing, PA 19610-1207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Wyomissing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Wyomissing
Price Range: $129 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading 3.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to join us in the heart of Berks County Pennsylvania. Whether you are here on business, or shopping at the Vanity Fair Outlets, we are committed to making your stay with us memorable. Our professional staff lives the spirit of hospitality with warm welcoming smiles, and the strong desire to exceed your expectations. Every hotel can offer you a bed, free WiFi, and Continental breakfast but they can't do it with the passion and dedication our staff has to you, our guest! Thursday evenings stop by Goodnites Lounge and enjoy "Caliente" our very own Latin night. Featuring authentic Latin food, great music and friendly people. Any day of the week is a great time to visit "Prime Steak & Wine", offering delicious foods that will satisfy even the most discerning palate. Thinking about getting away with the girls for the weekend? Park your car when you arrive and you won't need to get back in it until you're ready to leave. We've got it all here with our SPA-taneous and SHOP-taneous Getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Reading
Crowne Plaza Wyomissing
Sheraton Reading
Reading Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing