We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Pool, friendly bar staff, great breakfast buffet for priority members”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Wyomissing
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, NC
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice Pool, friendly bar staff, great breakfast buffet for priority members”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I made 3 one night visits to this hotel in 4 weeks and the hotel was consistent in it's cleanliness, very friendly bar staff at restaurant. The drawbacks were the very slow, check in clerks, twice I was put in a handicapped room, which I do not have on my profile and once after confirming I had requested a regular room, I was moved not once but twice to handicap rooms. They also need to provide an elevator for those placed on the 1st level. Carrying your suitcase and computer bags 2 flights of stairs, will be a dealbreaker for me if I come back again.

Room Tip: Make sure you are notified there is no elevator if you are given a 1st floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rioja44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaReading, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are so glad you enjoyed your time at our restaurant, and appreciated the cleanliness of our rooms! Even though you did not request a handicap room, this might have been the only standard king or double available in our property when you made your reservation. With our standard accessible room, the only difference between that and a standard room is a larger bathroom. Our first floor feature rooms are also accessible via driving in two wings, where there are entrances without stairs that we can direct you to. Please contact me directly at: ksickles@readingcp.com, so that we can update your profile to include your room and floor preferences. We would be happy to do that so your next stay, and check in process is a lot smoother!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    119
    62
    37
    20
See reviews for
131
89
28
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel is located within walking distance of several restaurants and shopping. There is also a shuttle to take you to the Vanity Fair Outlets.

The rooms are spacious and clean. Very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan52999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaReading, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your most recent stay! We are so happy you enjoyed our beds and our rooms. We are so happy you got to take advantage of the area, and found our hotel to be an ideal location. You are always welcome back, and we look forward to your next stay with us next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneco, CT
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had a great time. The pool in particular is nice. Great skylight over the swimming area, and at night, several trees on the large patio are wrapped with lights, that you can see through the large glass doors as you swim. We were in the Tower section of the hotel, always my preference. Common areas are well maintained. Room service was very good, and accommodating to special diet needs. Generous breakfast buffet with good choices. This is my second stay, and I would not hesitate to return. In fact, I'll make a point to go back again.

Room Tip: Request the Tower section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank OutThereCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpool, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Wow!!! Thanks for the great review. We are excited when we have guests and reviews from our guests that have used all the advantages and amenties like our indoor pool , room service and our cool island style patio. These are some of our differentiators that set us apart and give our guests great value and memories. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here Aug 2-4, 2013. We where here for an event at West Lawn UMC nearby. We had gotten a great rate on the room. I was very happy with the hotel. It was very clean. The front desk was very friendly and very helpful. The room we got was on the ground floor. It was quiet where we were. The room was clean. We utilized the breakfast buffet that they had each morning that we were there. I was very pleased to see the selection of food that was available. The price was not too bad. I did not use the pool but from what I did see it looked very nice and clean. We had a very nice stay there and I hope to be able to go there again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ike712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpool, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your response on Trip Advisor and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and our breakfast buffet during your weekend get away. United Lawn has been a wonderful partner with us as well as they are a wonderful community leader and asset.
We look forward to your return to Reading and the Crowne Plaza .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Close to the mall and area restaurants. Indoor pool and room service was fine. Beds were ok. It's overpriced for what you get. We've stayed there a few times over the years because it is near where our family lives - not because it is a great hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaReading, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit, and we appreciate you choosing to stay at our property. We pride ourselves on our exceptional service, and our hotel really cares about all our guests and their experience while they are staying with us. Our prices are based upon occupancy and demand in the market. We are one of only two full service hotels in the area, and offer a wide range of amenities, such as: our pool, patio/ courtyard area with gazebo, coy pond, and volleyball court, our restaurant Prime Steak & Wine, and Goodnites Bar and Lounge. We also host various events during the week such as live bands, Caliente Thursdays, live DJs, and are constantly adding new theme nights, such as Rumba Night Friday, which will debut on September 6th. We also host manager's receptions poolside or in the bar every Wednesday to welcome our guests. We hope you chose to stay with us next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I chose to stay here based on a lot of good reviews on this website. I was surprised to see the level of care afforded to selected guests and conventions. Ordinary people like me are treated differently and pay very high price. I spent more than $180 a night for a smelly and noisy room. I asked for tooth brush and tooth paste and was told by the clerk that somebody will bring to my room. Well, nobody showed up. Next morning, I had a pretty expensive breakfast which was below average. The hotel is very well decorated but had no value to my stay. I do not recommend this place.

Room Tip: Request elite room Not just any ordinary
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaReading, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We take customer service and guest comfort very seriously at our property for all our guests, and we are disappointed you did not enjoy your visit. Please contact me directly at: ksickles@readingcp.com, so we can discuss your stay further in a more private setting. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2013

what a great place to unwind and relax. a very curtious staff. and a nice family atmosphere. lots to do and great food. specially the all you can eat breaksfast buffet.excellent place to be with loved ones.

Room Tip: any room in the tower section are excellent and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaReading, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. We strive to create a great atmophere and we are proud of the service provided by our staff. Our chefs work really hard to create an outstanding breakfast buffet because they understand how important that first meal of the day is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wyomissing
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Reading
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Reading
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Reading Wyomissing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Reading/Wyomissing
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Reading Wyomissing
0.4 mi away
Inn at Reading
Inn at Reading
#5 of 7 in Wyomissing
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Address: 1741 Papermill Rd, Wyomissing, PA 19610-1207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Wyomissing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Wyomissing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading 3.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to join us in the heart of Berks County Pennsylvania. Whether you are here on business, or shopping at the Vanity Fair Outlets, we are committed to making your stay with us memorable. Our professional staff lives the spirit of hospitality with warm welcoming smiles, and the strong desire to exceed your expectations. Every hotel can offer you a bed, free WiFi, and Continental breakfast but they can't do it with the passion and dedication our staff has to you, our guest! Thursday evenings stop by Goodnites Lounge and enjoy "Caliente" our very own Latin night. Featuring authentic Latin food, great music and friendly people. Any day of the week is a great time to visit "Prime Steak & Wine", offering delicious foods that will satisfy even the most discerning palate. Thinking about getting away with the girls for the weekend? Park your car when you arrive and you won't need to get back in it until you're ready to leave. We've got it all here with our SPA-taneous and SHOP-taneous Getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Reading
Crowne Plaza Wyomissing
Sheraton Reading
Reading Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing