We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Wyomissing
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Amazing Hospitality”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I recently enjoyed an excellent stay at The Crowne Plaza.
I was on a bus trip from Kingston Ontario, Canada, and have nothing but good things to say about the stay.
The room was pristine clean and the staff excellent. When we asked where we could get some tea from front desk staff, it arrived on a beautifully laid tray to our room.
Thanks for such a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reynolds449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpool, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for writing on Trip Advisor and validating out commitment to serving you. I am pleased that we not only met your expectations but like your tea request , we excell in customer service. We all look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    118
    61
    37
    20
See reviews for
131
89
28
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had a bus load of 44 ladies from Canada on a shopping trip. They greeted us in the driveway, treated us like royalty and made us feel like part of their family. The General Manager and staff could not have done more to make us feel right at home. They are Number One in my books

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpool, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Hi Caroyln, thanks for your comments on TripAdisor. We Treated you like royalty because you are royalty to all of us at the Crowne plaza. Yes we greet all buses with our entire staff because we want you to know how very important you are to our hotel and our community. The shopping experience at the Vanity Fare ( the first outlets in the the USA) is something everyone should experience and I am pleased you had that experience
See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I agree with Catalino12, this hotel is a hidden gem! The staff were always ready to accomodate and assist in making our stay comfortable. The rooms and beds were very comfortable. The service we recieved was anything but vanilla. There was a nice assortment of tasty breakfast items in the buffet. The warmth and level of service that all the staff provided will be reasons why we will definitely return.

Room Tip: This hotel is a little out of the way from the cluster of hotels near most of the outlets, but the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abu_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpool, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you Abu_Mom, I love the phrase " anything but vanilla" ..you got it, we strive to give each guest a colorful experience and a memorable experience. We look forward to your return and promise you and every guest that stays a great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a hidden gym in Reading. I stayed at this hotel for a work related function that happened to coincide with their latin night on Thursdays. I have to say the food that was served for latin night is some of the best I have had anywhere in the country. The Hotel is great and the staff is incredibley friendly I would recommend this Hotel to anyone...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catalino12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaReading, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you Catalino for the excellent review and for recognizing that we are a gem . I looked up Gem on Wikopedia and this is what it said>>(This distinction reflects the rarity of the respective stones as well as their quality) Thank you for recognizing that we are not an ordinary hotel but more precious and greater value..like the Gem!
We look forward to your return so we can once again give you great value and give you our diamond service....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2012

My husband and I ,along with our Yellow Lab, stayed at the Crowne Plaza Sept.20-23,2012..From the moment I was warmly greeted at check in I felt like a guest in someone's home. We were impressed with breakfast which changed each day. Chef Paul and his wonderful staff also treated us like family. We had ham one morning, then beef brisket the next,and the last morning we had a pork tenderloin. I was impressed to say the least. It was so refreshing to stay in a hotel where the entire staff acted as if they loved their job and were professional.. A job well done by all and the management !!

Room Tip: We were given a room with a sliding glass door which made it convenient to walk the dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpool, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thanks Joyce for the rave review. We are glad that you had a taste of our hospitality and especially the Chef Paul experience at breakfast. Yes , Paul and the rest of our staff are committed to you and your stay. Not sure if you saw Yappy Hour ...every Sunday when weather permitting we host our social networking hours for dogs and their owners. We serve free butler service yappy tizers and Yappy cocktails to our dogs and owners pay on their own. Typically 60-80 dogs and 100 owners come for this cool networking party. Next time in town stay over on Sunday or get a late checkout and treat yourself and lab to a great event . Thanks for the review we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My girlfriends and I went to a Girlfriends Getaway at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Reading PA on September 14 - 16, 2012. The weekend was fun filled and the service we received at the Crowne Plaza was outstanding. We arrived at the hotel around 8:00pm on Friday evening and received a welcoming package and our room key. Then we were off to dinner in the hotel, the service as well as the food were awesome, there was a large variety of food choices to select from and the wait staff made you feel as though you were the ony persons there. After dinner we went to the club inside the hotel and had a great time. The bar was well stocked, the dance floor and lounge area were very spacious and the music was on point.

On Saturday we woke up to breakfast in the resturaunt in the hotel, once again we were not disappointed, everyone in our group wanted to take the entire staff home with us as the food and service was consistently outstanding. We then were carted away to our spa services and upon our return, we returned to the hotel resturaunt for dinner only to have the best steak dinner, truly, the steak was comparable to that of Ruth Chris ~ yes, Ruth Chris.

Sunday we had to have one last breakfast at the hotel resturaunt and was not disappointed. I used the hotel gym equipment, it was modern and had the necessary equipment to get a full workout in. Major kudos the the hotel staff, manager and general manger at this hotel for an outstanding stay at the Crowne Plaza. We look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: We had a view of the outside view and play area, awesome view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crystal j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpool, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thanks Crystal for this fantastic review. We are so pleased that you were able to take advantage of our full service hotel. Not only full service with our nightclub (Goodnites) , our full service restaurant (Prime) and our fantastic gym, but our culture of full service people. We are focused on making your stay successful and seamless, always trying to stay one step ahead. I will share your comments with all our staff so we can celebrate your review. Thank you and we look forward to your return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is the best value in the area! The rooms are big and CLEAN! The manager, Craig, and Chef Paul can not do more for you. They obviously love what they do and they are more than willing to do whatever you need to make your stay comfortable. The entire staff appears to love their jobs. The breakfast buffet is outstanding. The fitness room and pool are great. If I could have one improvement, it would be the lighting in the room (but this is true in every hotel I stay in). Perhaps, I just like it VERY bright. A few of my colleagues who were staying in different hotels were invited to breakfast, on the house, by Craig. They were so impressed and intend to stay at The Crowne the next time we are in the area. Gloria A.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaReading, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thanks Gloria for your positive comments, and I will make sure we share your comments with Chef Paul and all our staff so we can all celebrate him and his hospitality. Thanks again for giving us the opportunity to invite your guests into our hotel and a chance to show that our value and stay experience is greater than another brands points. We all look forward to your reurn and we will leave the exrtra lights on in your room. I will profile this lighting request and we will add the light touch when we see your arrivals. Looking forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wyomissing
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Reading
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Reading
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Reading Wyomissing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Reading Wyomissing
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Reading/Wyomissing
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wyomissing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Address: 1741 Papermill Rd, Wyomissing, PA 19610-1207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Wyomissing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Wyomissing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading 3.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to join us in the heart of Berks County Pennsylvania. Whether you are here on business, or shopping at the Vanity Fair Outlets, we are committed to making your stay with us memorable. Our professional staff lives the spirit of hospitality with warm welcoming smiles, and the strong desire to exceed your expectations. Every hotel can offer you a bed, free WiFi, and Continental breakfast but they can't do it with the passion and dedication our staff has to you, our guest! Thursday evenings stop by Goodnites Lounge and enjoy "Caliente" our very own Latin night. Featuring authentic Latin food, great music and friendly people. Any day of the week is a great time to visit "Prime Steak & Wine", offering delicious foods that will satisfy even the most discerning palate. Thinking about getting away with the girls for the weekend? Park your car when you arrive and you won't need to get back in it until you're ready to leave. We've got it all here with our SPA-taneous and SHOP-taneous Getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Reading
Crowne Plaza Wyomissing
Sheraton Reading
Reading Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing