We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in the Tower”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Wyomissing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I stayed here in September 2011 while visiting family. My first room was in the basement - it had spiderwebs, smelled damp and had a view of dirt (the basement is partially underground and I was looking up at the ground level). I called the front desk and they moved me to a room in the tower. What a difference! I think the tower rooms are recently remodeled. They are beautiful, clean and spacious. The bed was very comfortable. The hotel is convenient to major highways, restaurants and shopping. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SadieKatiesMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (749)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

652 - 658 of 749 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2011

LOVE this hotel!!!! The place is absolutely gorgeous. It has a fashion scheme which entails different hallways of all the major cities: New York City, Milan, Paris...etc., and the ballrooms are also named accordingly after the most prominent designers: Dior, Armani, Chanel...etc. The decorations are beautiful and elegant and the location is wonderful. It's right off the highway (easy to find) and there are plenty of shopping/dining options right on location. Not to mention the amazing bar and restaurants...! Beautiful.

Our room is exceptional and the staff was very welcoming, helpful, and kind. Craig, Eric Brown, and the front desk lady Jacqueline all added to making this getaway a fantastic one. We will be coming back!!! Definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

I have stayed at this Crowne Plaza outside of Reading, PA a few times with business in the area. Most of the time I stay in the regular rooms but this past week selected the Crowne Room area with a suite. This area is supposedly quieter and nicer. It cost approx $30-40 / night = avg $140/nt which is not cheap in today's competitive market of hotel shopping. If you are able to get a breakfast coupon free for each morning this does add some value as the selection is good with someone there to make eggs/omelets and provide good service. Perhaps this is a $10-12/day value to consider. Wi-fi is spotty at best with each day but does not cost extra.

I did not find the extra cost justified for the Crowne area and some new vision into this hotel management would bring positive change. Management staff should focus on the following:

Pros:
Good location
Nicer hotel for area
Some food / bar / entertainment options

Cons:
Dated - smell is an issue in regular rooms
WiFi - a must to improve as area is business and not casual or vacation spot
Price - too high for area / type

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Case Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2011

Dear 1string,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. The WiFi was giving many of our guest’s issues and I'm grateful you brought this to our attention. I really appreciate your comments; I hope we get the opportunity to show you some of our improvements on your next trip to Reading.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Stayed for a girlfriends getaway. The rooms and the beds were really comfortable. The quiet atmosphere allowed us to relax in peace. The staff were so pleasant - from the front desk, to the restaurant, to Goodnites club, to the shuttle, etc. Would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Level 2 is good as this is the same floor as the main lobby - no steps or elevators to get to the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NESSIE_MC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Recently stayed at this hotel for two nights, Nov. 11th and 12th. Walking through the smokers ten feet from the door is gross and disgusting. Leaves were everywhere and are a tripping hazard at the front door. Desk clerk on phone (personal call) and in no hurry to help check-in. The ABSOLUTE worst breakfast bar service I have encountered anywhere in the world and price is INSANE. After paying for breakfast, I get notified that breakfast is free with coupon but was never told this at check-in. Tried getting monies returned that were paid but that wasn't going to happen in this lifetime. Nobody is ready to help and you have to ask for coffee service and water. I would also like to not have the silly canned response from the customer service people as their words mean nothing. I now know why I stay at Marriott.

Room Tip: Suites are fine and rooms are clean but skip breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank padidm69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

I stayed here for a Girlfriend Getaway weekend the service was wonderful. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean. When we had an issue with something not working in our room the manager personally came to our room with the maintenance guy to make sure it our issue was attended to and also gave us complementary passes for a free refreshments. The staff was very accommodating and attentive. I would recommend this hotel to friends and I am definitely looking forward to going back next year or just going back for a long weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jentb1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

A group of friends recently booked 3 rooms here when celebrating our mutual friend's 50th birthday. This is a very large hotel near a shopping area / business center in the Reading PA area. The rooms were clean and spacious, and the beds & bedding were super comfortable. I slept very well. The lobby was bright and attractive, and there was a much nicer than expected large & lovely indoor pool. If I ever stay here again I would definitely bring a bathing suit. Only complaints were minor - you could hear some traffic noise, the bathroom looked a little dated, and the water pressure & hot water were somewhat lacking in the AM. We visited the bar lounge which was pretty busy with both locals and out of owners (this was on a Saturday night). A DJ blared (and I mean BLARED) nonstop Hip Hop music which made it impossible to carry on a conversation. There was a small dance floor but not many people dancing (I blame the "music" :-) We eventually moved our party back upstairs which was MUCH better! Overall I would certainly recommend this as a hotel, but not as a night spot (unless you enjoy Hip Hop anyway).

Room Tip: Rooms away from the highway might be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2Travel_19438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wyomissing
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Reading
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Reading
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Reading Wyomissing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Reading Wyomissing
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Reading
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Reading/Wyomissing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading

Address: 1741 Papermill Rd, Wyomissing, PA 19610-1207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Wyomissing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Wyomissing
Price Range: $107 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading 3.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to join us in the heart of Berks County Pennsylvania. Whether you are here on business, or shopping at the Vanity Fair Outlets, we are committed to making your stay with us memorable. Our professional staff lives the spirit of hospitality with warm welcoming smiles, and the strong desire to exceed your expectations. Every hotel can offer you a bed, free WiFi, and Continental breakfast but they can't do it with the passion and dedication our staff has to you, our guest! Thursday evenings stop by Goodnites Lounge and enjoy "Caliente" our very own Latin night. Featuring authentic Latin food, great music and friendly people. Any day of the week is a great time to visit "Prime Steak & Wine", offering delicious foods that will satisfy even the most discerning palate. Thinking about getting away with the girls for the weekend? Park your car when you arrive and you won't need to get back in it until you're ready to leave. We've got it all here with our SPA-taneous and SHOP-taneous Getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Reading
Crowne Plaza Wyomissing
Sheraton Reading
Reading Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing