We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Wyomissing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2011

I am in my third week of a 6 to 8 week stay at this hotel and it has been excellent so far. The entire staff has been very accommodating from the first time that I called and talked to the sales staff until my most recent interaction a few minutes ago.

The pictures on their website do not do justice to the beautiful indoor/outdoor pool, sand volleyball court, hammock, and caribbean beach setting. This hotel also has a night-club, restaurant, business center, 24 hour fitness center, and a massive amount of meeting space and ballrooms.

Also, the location is very convenient to area attractions in Reading, plus ideally situated between NYC, Philadelphia, Washington DC, Baltimore, and Hershey Park. This could easily be a base for other day trips.

Oh and by the way, I am usually the type to gripe and complain not write good reviews!

Room Tip: The less expensive rooms near the pool are very nice, but i hear those in the tower are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristopherRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (731)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

656 - 662 of 731 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2011

My husband I stayed at the Crowne Plaza from 7/21 thru 7/24 for a convention and it was a amazing experience. We remember some of the front office staff from last year and they made us feel like family returning back home. Due to a convention in town, there were a large number of guests that were checking in throughout the day but the personnel were professional, courteous and very accommodating. Our hotel room was nicely furnished and we enjoyed all of the amenities. This is our 3rd stay at the Crowne Plaza and we will be returning back again next year for our convention. Kudos to all of the staff!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denise4monty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Everything was so neat and clean. Staff was fabulous. Plenty of parking. Rooms alittle small, as was the pool. No complimentary breakfast. Perfect location to do major outlet shopping!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

go up for antique extravaganza in reading pa! hooters in parking lot. supermarket 2 min ride. Great Beds !!! great shampoo etc. they give you ear plugs to sleep! nice view of the Pagoda !! have comedy club on site!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrissyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCare at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2011

Dear chrissyfan,

Thanks for the great review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Keep us in mind next time your in town.
We look forward to hosting you again.

Katie Jolley
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

The recently remodeled hotel has so many amentities ie concierge service agent, beautiful pool, actual sand volley ball court, great bar and restaurant. The general manager was available and helpful. The concierge was very accessible, and she was helpful in introducing me to individuals in the area for my business, as well as where to go in the area for eating and entertainment. I travel every week for my work, and found this hotel's employees to be the most friendly and accomodating of any place I have ever visited.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark48420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCare at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2011

Dear mark48420,

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel.
I am particularly appreciative about your comments about our staff.
It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge
the staff concerned. We welcome and look forward to any future visits to our hotel.

Thanks again,

Katie Jolley
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

No one said that this room was getting complaints when we booked it. It was so loud we wanted to get a discount and we were willing to suck it up. They had us move at 1 AM so they could keep the 167 they charged. Very overrated.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bscan916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCare at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2011

Dear Bscan916,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience. We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and create memorable experiences. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations.

We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Sincerely,
Katie Jolley
Case Manager
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

No one said that this room was getting complaints when we booked it. It was so loud we wanted to get a discount and we were willing to suck it up. They had us move at 1 AM so they could keep the 167 they charged. Very overrated.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bscan916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wyomissing
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Reading
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Reading Wyomissing
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Reading/Wyomissing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Reading
0.4 mi away
Inn at Reading
Inn at Reading
#5 of 7 in Wyomissing
401 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Reading Wyomissing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading

Address: 1741 Papermill Rd, Wyomissing, PA 19610-1207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Wyomissing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Wyomissing
Price Range: $123 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading 3.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to join us in the heart of Berks County Pennsylvania. Whether you are here on business, or shopping at the Vanity Fair Outlets, we are committed to making your stay with us memorable. Our professional staff lives the spirit of hospitality with warm welcoming smiles, and the strong desire to exceed your expectations. Every hotel can offer you a bed, free WiFi, and Continental breakfast but they can't do it with the passion and dedication our staff has to you, our guest! Thursday evenings stop by Goodnites Lounge and enjoy "Caliente" our very own Latin night. Featuring authentic Latin food, great music and friendly people. Any day of the week is a great time to visit "Prime Steak & Wine", offering delicious foods that will satisfy even the most discerning palate. Thinking about getting away with the girls for the weekend? Park your car when you arrive and you won't need to get back in it until you're ready to leave. We've got it all here with our SPA-taneous and SHOP-taneous Getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Reading
Crowne Plaza Wyomissing
Sheraton Reading
Reading Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing