We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just ordinary!”
Review of Prime Steak & Wine

Prime Steak & Wine
Ranked #17 of 75 Restaurants in Wyomissing
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Reading, PA's premier steak and wine restaurant located at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading. Prime cuts of beef, pork, lamb and seafood are served in an upscale yet casual ambiance. The wine bar offers tastings from its award winning selections.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just ordinary!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Although this restaurant was highly recommended by other Trip Advisors, we found it to be more like a coffee shop than a steak house even though it had filet mignon which wasn't bad.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    7
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
137 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Desperately wants to be a steakhouse but fails”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

First, the ambiance of this place is dreadful. It's open to a hallway for the hotel and feels more like an old school hotel restaurant than anything.

They desperately try to market this as a top-notch steakhouse but it really doesn't measure up. To charge $30+ for the steaks they serve is insulting to those who are steak lovers. I had the NY Strip ($31) and it was cooked to my liking but was over seasoned. It was one of those meals I just wanted to be over and the only reason I ate is because I was hungry.

The sides were fine. The mashed potatoes were actually pretty decent and the side of asparagus was to my liking.

The main reason I decided to eat at Prime was because it was snowing outside and I didn't want to venture out. What a dreadful mistake.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LucWise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Crowne Plaza's Ultimate Resturant”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

When preparing for the Boscov's Berks Jazzfest, why not start the night with dinnerr at Prime Steak & Wine at the Crowne Plaza? You will have a pleasant experience, great food, excellent service, a wonderful selection of wine. A lovely start to a fun evening.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thea49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Steak a must have comparable to Ruth Chris”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Awesome service received from the entire staff ~ everyone from the front desk staff to the general manager.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank crystal j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
89 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

this is a convenient if your staying at the crowne

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ellsworth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Prime Steak & Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing