We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”
Review of Avenue Diner

Avenue Diner
Ranked #11 of 19 Restaurants in Wyoming
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Exeter, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Place”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stopped in for breakfast, clean nice atmosphere. Breakfast very good. Fast no charge refills on coffee, nice touch. highly recommended

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    15
    5
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful breakfast”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Went there because I saw it was recently voted best breakfast. We went with a table of 6. Greeted nicely at the door. Seated in the front dining car. The waitress was very nice . Place was extremely busy, it was a Sunday. Food came out at a nice pace. COFFEE IS A BOTTOMLESS CUP !! We liked that. Had Smores Pancakes excellent .... A Firemans Omelette ...Very Good ...A Glazed Donut French Toast ...Told it was orginial item ...among other things ... Friendly atmosphere will go back ....Oh and we had more coffee ....

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shirley f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa.
Level Contributor
210 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Average at best”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The dinner is in serious need of a makeover, the booths are just about shot and not comfortable. The food was average at best and the service was fair. It has a great location but needs work.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paddy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
271 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Breakfast is Excellent, Lunch...Not So Much”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We ate here for breakfast several times and really enjoyed everything. The server was good, the food was good, it arrived quickly. Definitely a 5 star breakfast experience. Then one day we went for lunch. This place serves breakfast all day. My husband got eggs and I got a burger.

The eggs were cooked relatively well, especially considering it was lunch time. But the "toast" came out as white bread with a little butter on it. Barely toasted at all. The slider burgers were excellent, as were the fries.

The waitress was completely inattentive and didn't want to hear any problems, even when she asked how things were. She just stared at my husband as he asked her if he could have his bread toasted better, then picked up the toast with her hands and walked away with it.

Another person came by ( I assume a manager) to ask how things were and we expressed our thoughts about the server and the toast, and she just stared at us, nothing much to say.

The cashier also asked how it was, and we again expressed about how the toast was not toasted, and she said "yeah, the toaster gets overworked sometimes, you can't always have your toast toasted". Are you kidding me??? Get a new toaster, how can a diner think it's acceptable to not toast the bread?

Bottom line, I'd give this place 5 stars for breakfast and 1 star for lunch, so I averaged it out to 3 stars. We will only be going during breakfast hours from now on.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 1blessedmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Go to almost any Scranton diner instead”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Food is average, service is slow and impersonal, and prices are more like a nice family restaurant than a diner

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lse1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avenue Diner also viewed

West Pittston, Luzerne County
Wyoming, Luzerne County
 
Wyoming, Luzerne County
Wyoming, Luzerne County
 

Been to Avenue Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing