We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable food and service”
Review of RockBass Grill

RockBass Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
RockBass Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: RockBass Grill features casual dinning offering fresh cut fish & steaks. We offer a raw bar that changes on a regular basis. Enjoy dining with a view of the Susquehanna River. A private dinning room for up to 30 people is available.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Reliable food and service”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Rockbass is casual, with a very wide ranging menu and reliably good quality. Portion sizes are large, and you won't leave hungry. The parking lot fills up on Friday and Saturday nights, but there is overflow lot across the street. I have eaten there 3-4 times a year for the past three years, and have always had a good, reasonably priced meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    68
    33
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vicenza, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Disappointing Food, Nice Location”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We wanted to like this restaurant. We had driven by it a number of times over the last few months and finally decided to try it on a lovely Friday afternoon. We arrived about 2:30 to a fairly empty restaurant and were seated on the outside deck within a few minutes. We had good service, but the crab cake sandwich was mediocre and the fries were cold. My husband's fish and chips meal was decent; a huge piece of haddock on unfortunately, cold waffle fries. Despite not being the best food we decided a second chance was necessary to give it a fair shot since we were not there when the kitchen was fully operational.

So, four of us went for a Sunday brunch. The service was a bit challenged, but not unfriendly. However, the food was dreadful. The crab hash was pretty good, though there was little crab, while the eggs Benedict that two of us ordered was awful. The bacon was not fully cooked, the Canadian bacon hardly existed and there was just a smidgen of hollandaise sauce. All of it was cold. The sausage seemed boiled or microwaved and it too, was cold. One of us ordered a $26 rib eye. It came out hot, but sort of a grey color with no juice. We had decided to share an order of stuffed French toast between us all. Another cold dish with three pieces of dry toast and boiled looking sausage. We sent back 3 of our dishes and waited for about 15 minutes for replacements. The replacement dishes were better, but not up to par. We didn't finish them and decided that was enough.

Though they gave us 10% off our bill, it a disappointing birthday meal. Two tries is enough for us. They need a change in the kitchen or they'll go out of business one customer at a time. We certainly won't be back any time soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marchelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

This is supposed to be Seafood restaurant. They do have seafood, but the two dishes I had say that the seafood they used was not fresh.

I had prawn cocktail to start. The prawns were decent size but looked old and smelled fishy. It tasted the same.

The second dish was stuffed flounder. Same story as the prawns. Fresh Lemon couldn't even mask the fishy taste.

The bread and hush puppy's were great!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaystr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was our third visit and I doubt that we'll return. Maybe on Sun. evening, the "B" team is in the kitchen? 3 out of 4 of our meals had to be sent back and we weren't the only table with issues. Grilled swordfish and tuna entrees came out cold, tough and dry, as though they had been sitting too long. The waiter did give us fresh portions that were at least warm although my husband had to track him down to get his attention. Folks who ordered tuna were not asked how they wanted it cooked I guess they just assume people want it cooked to death, which it was. Service was mediocre. We were seated at a table outside directly in the sun even though there were lots of shaded tables available and one of our diners was elderly. Took a while to get 2nd glass of wine and checks took forever. It just seems like things are sliding downhill and that there's a lack of hands-on mgmt. When 3 meals go back to the kitchen from the same table, a manager should be involved and there should be some accommodation in the bill which there was not. The swordfish and tuna which were allegedly on the chalkboard as "fresh catches" tasted like they came right out of the freezer. Beautiful spot--hope they can get their act together, even if it is an off-time like Sun. evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Business Lunch Hot Spot”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Was recommended to try this place for a business lunch, and was quite happy with it. Place was very busy with professionals looking for good food in a nice venue. The menu was quite extensive and we were pleased with our selections (including the hush puppies served in the bread basket - yum!). The view of the river is fine (not much else to see here), as is the view of the City of Harrisburg. Staff was friendly and professional and it was nice to dine in a non-chain restaurant. I would definitely select this restaurant again for lunch.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RockBass Grill also viewed

 

Been to RockBass Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing