We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the Hushpuppies and Fresh Seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of RockBass Grill

RockBass Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
RockBass Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: RockBass Grill features casual dinning offering fresh cut fish & steaks. We offer a raw bar that changes on a regular basis. Enjoy dining with a view of the Susquehanna River. A private dinning room for up to 30 people is available.
Liverpool, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
614 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Love the Hushpuppies and Fresh Seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

This a a resturant with a great view of the river and the city of Harrisburg. Always have great soup including a daily special and blackboard specials of fresh seafood. Their crab cakes and scallops are very good. The servers are always very attentive. Collin does a great job.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SheriBobLove2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    66
    32
    21
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Spot to Dine in the Harrisburg area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

I had lunch today at the Rockbass Grill and found it to be a terrific place to dine. It is across the river from Harrisburg, PA and is easliy accesible from the city by crossing the Market Street Bridge and turning north. It is immediately on your right. The views of the river and Harrisburg from the dining room are wonderful, but this restaurant offers so much more than a view. The food is delcious and served in a very nice but comfortable setting. the server we had was very friendly and efficient. I had a cup of the Rockbass' seafood chowder and it was creamy, full of seafood and one of the best I have ever tasted. My soup was accompanied by a Tuna steak sandwich that was to die for. The tuna was done to perfection and tasted even better than expected. It was served on a roll that was baked at the restaurant so it was fresh and tasty. They offer a nice wine list and a full bar. Family members have had dinner during the veing hours and have raved about the entre's offered from seafood to steak. It is a nice place to take a date or have a business lunch.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wetsu6567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quite friendly place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

I went to Rockbass Grill with my wife, infant son, and mother-in-law. The restaurant has pleasant views of the Susquehanna River, an good sized wine list, a variety of seafood, and a professional staff. They also have a customer friendly method for ordering, allowing you to order a variety of fish cooked the method of your choice. I was surprised to find a restaurant this far inland that knew how to handle seafood.

The calamari was cooked correctly (not turned to rubber), had a variety of sizes of squid. I had blackened trout: the fish was well cooked, the mango salsa was well done, the seasoning was unfortunately only slightly spicy. My wife was feeling adventurous and initially ordered soft shell crab sliders. She took one bite, declared it too strange, and flagged down the waiter. He confided that he thought them odd, asked her what she'd like instead. She was much happier with their fish & chips, though the portion size was obscenely large. My mother-in-law was quite happy with her salmon in dill butter. They were also quite accommodating in preparing a side of just steamed vegetables for our son. My wife and mother-in-law enjoyed their cake as well.
The highlight of the meal was the staff, they were very friendly, seemed to enjoy interacting with us, and didn't flee at sight of an infant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aeos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top notch seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

The best seafood in Harrisburg with a scenic location along the river. The cost is not cheap, but if you don't mind paying for fantastic food, you will love this place.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2004HD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“too loud!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

There was a lot of noise at this place! The food was a little over priced for what it was.... Some of the worse ribs I ever put in my mouth. But I am used to "GOOD" ribs too, so that might be why I didnt like theirs. I can tell that they were nuked and maybe even steamed. The food was otherwise bland. Just not much to write home about.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank m p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RockBass Grill also viewed

 

Been to RockBass Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing