We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, filthy, awful.”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wormleysburg
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Use the comfort inn instead. Mattresses are old, pillows are 20+ years old (dates on them). Bathrooms dirty. Linen not washed between guests. No bottom sheets on beds (just top sheets folded over). Heat/air is not on in room until you turn it on. Our room was 56 degrees on check in and took until 3AM to warm up. STEER CLEAR of the breakfast, sour (no doubt expired) orange juice (that's the only drink option) and 4 donuts were the continental breakfast. Run as fast as you can.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonBuchanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 56 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Loni C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I were traveling cross-country.
She found this Econo Lodge on her smart phone.
It turned out to be way off the freeway.

It is connected to a "biker" bar.
(My wife and I go to a friendly biker bar about once a month in MN.)
I checked it out to get something to eat.
Not a friendly place.
Also, smoking is allowed in bars in PA.

There are no fast food restaurants in the area.
(we ate some of our on the road packaged snacks)
The room had a slight smell of cigarette smoke.
We almost check out, but were tired so we stayed.

Breakfast muffins, and beverages were in the lobby.
Good; because we were still hungry from the night before.

I understand that this place is close to the downtown area.
If that is where you are going, this place would be O.K.

But don't go out of your way to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartyC984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

As far as hotels goes this was a great hotel to stay in. The front desk guy was awesome and had a great knowledge of the area. He recommend us few places to visit and they were great. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfy, and the bathroom was clean. The location of hotel was easy to find. Don't hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

ECONO LODGE, WORMSLEYSBURG (PA181) | Rating: **1/2
860, North Front Street, Wormsleysburg, PA. Ph: (717) 763-7686
Stay: Two nights (August 29 and 30, 2012). Rate: $59.95 (average/night incl. tax). Room: 400.

LOCATION: Across the Susquehanna River from downtown Harrisburg. Fine if you have a vehicle, otherwise be prepared to do lots of walking or booking of taxis. The 'F' bus runs right past the hotel, but it only operates early morning and late afternoon. A bar is attached to the hotel, and hosts live bands on weekends. My trip did not coincide with weekend activities there so I don't know how loud the music gets or how rowdy the drinkers might become. During my stay at the hotel the bar was whisper quiet. Next door to the hotel you will find the Yankee Doodle Diner, a real throwback to the diners of the past. I ate there several times and found the meals cheap and the staff friendly.

FACILITIES: the hotel is showing signs of age, and could do do with a makeover. I was in room 400, close to reception. The room was more than adequate for one or two people, and everything worked as intended. The air con was loud, cold, and didn't seem to respond to adjustments in temperature - apart from off and on - but it did work. The WiFi reception was ok but had a tendency to drop out. The free breakfast barely qualified as complimentary. It consisted of lukewarm coffee, small muffins, cheap bread and jelly. Maybe the owners have given up and assumed that visitors would use the diner next door, just as I did.

RECOMMENDED: For traveling salesmen and workers on the road between jobs.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim0048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

we're NOT fussy folks, we like clean, well attended,and well run places, we sometimes overlook the obvious clues to shabby places to stay,and are often surprised when we find ourselves quite content in a shabby place because the owners are great,or the staff is great, or the service is great, or the location is great...we ALWAYS try to find some good in places we stay,and without hesitation, we'd say that IF you see this place....keep driving!
The owners try hard I'm sure, and are kind and gentle, but, need to find something ELSE to do, than run a lodging place of this caliber.....it's NOT habitable in it's current state!
I'd STRONGLY suggest passing up a stay at this place....

Room Tip: Don't bother......
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeyflowerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Having had previous positive EconoLodge results, we made reservations for the Econo Lodge at 860, N. Front St., Wormleysburg, PA. At driving in the potted driveway, we parked in front of three windows boarded up with rotting wood and one door framed with it. There were garbage cans turned over in the main entrance and soda paper containers tossed and rolling around in the entry way. When I went into the main lobby, it reeked of tobacco smoke, probably from the construction workers working on the place. There was no one in the lobby, so, after ringing the bell twice, I returned to the car and called Choice hotels requesting a cancellation since the hotel was not ready for "guests". They called the owner who refused to acknowledge it's condition. We had no other choice but to cancel the second night (not protected by the 4pm prior day rule) and make a reservation at a Comfort Inn nearby. This place is disgusting - don't even consider it!

Room Tip: Avoid Harrisburg, what we saw wasn't worth the price of a hotel room.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mellie069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wormleysburg
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Riverfront
Comfort Inn Riverfront
#29 of 50 in Harrisburg
327 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel Harrisburg
Radisson Hotel Harrisburg
#1 of 3 in Camp Hill
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Harrisburg
Hilton Harrisburg
#7 of 50 in Harrisburg
1,113 reviews
2.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg
#13 of 50 in Harrisburg
432 reviews
4.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Harrisburg North
Red Roof Inn Harrisburg North
#35 of 50 in Harrisburg
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 860 N Front St, US 15, 11, Wormleysburg, PA 17043-1024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Wormleysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wormleysburg
Price Range: $48 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wormleysburg Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Wormleysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing