We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent seafood, great homemade dressings”
Review of Black Dog Cafe - CLOSED

Black Dog Cafe
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Reading
Level Contributor
66 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood, great homemade dressings”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was our first visit since new management took over. Was a little disappointed that they removed some of the old favorites, like the triple entree' dish, seasoned potatoes and the incredible roasted root veggies. Service was excellent. Meals arrived piping hot. Meals were good. I thought the prices were reasonable both for the drinks and the food. Atmosphere, although old, but still very interesting and very cozy. I will go back again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Carole N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    8
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
reading, pa
Level Contributor
204 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service, Unique Menu...”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This was our first trip since the ownership change and we were impressed. Unique menu offerings as well as the old favorite, Pork Diablo. The others both ordered a filet with a side of seafood and it was excellent as well. The carrots in herb butter were delightful. Prices are reasonable. We hope they add a website soon. We were able to view the menu via facebook.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank initfrfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myerstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“You'll want to keep going back for more.”
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We've been going to the black dog for a couple of years now. There food is excellent, they are masters at making delicious sauces. Once you go a couple of times, they make sure they know you by name. The waitresses are very nice and the hostess/owner Diane is wonderful. They will do everything they can to make sure you enjoy your meal. We've never had a bad meal there. You can ask for special requests, and since everything is made to order, they will make it how you like it. We really enjoy going to the black dog and will recommend it to anyone looking for a delicious meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great surprise in the middle of nowhere”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This eclectic little place was warm, interesting and just right. The wine list was surprising for the area, the food better than I hoped for and well..the place is just pretty charming in an upscale back country kind of way. The waitress was fighting with the hostess when we arrived, and made no effort to put on a face for customers and she remained cool and harsh for our entire meal - it must have been the company but we took it as part of the fun of the evening and she seemed to fit right in with this place and it's quirky surprises.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank abstractmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schuylkill Haven, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Food is consistently fantastic!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

After dining at the Black Dog Cafe three times now, I feel I can give a fair review. The restaurant has a warm, casual feel - anything goes regarding your attire - jeans are fine if you wish! The parking lot is small, but we have always been able to find a space. The bar is charming and comfortable, holds approx 8-10 bar chairs. The dining room is small but the tables are well placed and you do not feel squished up next to any other diners. I have never seen the private dining area. We have only ever had Mary as our waitress and you just want to give her a big hug by the end of the meal - she is so sweet and smiley! She has worked in the restaurant for 14-15 years! The menu is not huge - which is a plus in my opinion. Last night we had their home made onion rings for an appetizer with dipping sauce - yummy! I ordered a veal Marsala type dish and it was excellent! My friend ordered a pork dish which she said was very good but next time she would order the cream sauce on the side -she said the flavors were fantastic. Our husbands both ordered lamb and obviously were very pleased with the meal as all that was left on their plates were a few bones! They said it was also excellent! For dessert, pear sorbet. It was amazing! So creamy and fresh - not icy - really amazing taste and texture! It was another wonderful meal!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueleena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Dog Cafe also viewed

 
Womelsdorf, PA
Womelsdorf, PA
 
Womelsdorf, PA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing