We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Apple Bin Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Budget Host Inn(Lancaster)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Lancaster)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Lancaster)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveler rating
318
23
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
318
23
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsapple binbed and breakfastlancaster countyb bthe main housebreakfast mealsmacintosh roomwonderful hostsother guestssitting roomgreat conversationcomforts of homefeel like familybreakfast was amazingthoroughly enjoyed our stayfresh fruitoff the beaten path
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 343 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We recently stayed at the Apple Bin Inn in the Empire Room. We had never been to Lancaster County and we selected the Apple Bin Inn based almost entirely upon the reviews presented by previous travelers. The overwhelming majority of reviewers rated their experience as excellent to nearly so and I must say that we agree as well. Steve and Jamie are excellent hosts and go out of their way to ensure a comfortable and enjoyable stay for their guests. The room itself was very comfortable with a very nice queen sized bed and a large bathroom that accommodated us very well. While we were so busy during our stay of 3 nights we did not get to enjoy the balcony, it was nice to open the half door to the balcony to have fresh air and sunshine fill the room. The room was quiet, other than a bit of street traffic noise and we never heard any other guests while we were there. Steve was especially helpful in assisting us in finding places to go antiquing, quilting and general sight-seeing. He and Jamie are both very knowledgeable of the Lancaster area. They also have a large selection of DVD movies as well as books they make available to their guests. Jamie provided excellent breakfasts that enabled us to skip lunch as were shopping and then we would just eat a nice meal locally for supper. We look forward to returning to the Lancaster area and know we will be staying at the Apple Bin Inn. Thanks Steve and Jamie for a great stay!!

Steve and Laura
Riceville, TN

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We spent a relaxing weekend here in July. We enjoyed the Empire room: room was plenty big enough, bed was super comfy, private balcony was perfect for reading in the mornings and evenings.

From the street, it doesn't look like it could be very special, but once you pull up into the driveway, it becomes a very private little oasis.

Pros:
Steve was very helpful and knowledgeable in suggesting places to visit, restaurants, etc.
Room was clean, pretty, and very comfortable.
Nice DVD collection
While we didn't travel with our children this time, there were 2 other young children staying there, and we enjoyed seeing the interaction between the owners and the children. They clearly weren't seen as being any sort of inconvenience.
We're cat people, so we enjoyed their 2 furry mascots.

Cons:
Breakfast. We had plenty to eat, but both mornings there seemed to be "too much" of 1 thing. One morning most of the plate was some sort of fruity pancake. Good, but too rich to eat that much of it. The 2nd morning was mostly a large square of onion quiche...was a little blah. The fruit, meat, tea, juice, etc were good both mornings. And a blueberry oatmeal was delicious (and I don't even like oatmeal!)
Nowhere to take a walk if desired.

Bottom line:
We'd be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEMom_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We should have known from our first phone call with Steve that the experience at our second B&B would be fantastic and he and his lovely wife Jamie exceeded every one of our expectations! We slept in the Gala Room which included a very comfortable bed (with a homemade quilt) and a separate TV room with two comforable chairs and snacks! The bathroom was perfect and stocked with soaps and other items that you would have in your very own home. Aside from the comfortable facilities, we cannot describe the warmth that we received from Steve and Jamie during all our interactions including the outstanding breakfasts, recommendations for day trips, and dinner. We followed their directions as we visited the Amish Country and could not have been happier with our visit to an Amish farm for homemade ice cream; a country store for freshly made soft pretzels; and the Central Market in Bird in Hand. Their dinner suggestions were spot one and in fact, we ate twice at the Fireside Inn! We can't wait to return to theApple Bin Inn and also, to refer this fabulous B&B to our friends and relatives. Thank you Steve and Jamie for an oustanding time at your home and for giving us a little piece of heaven during our vacaation.

Room Tip: The Gala Room was great!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrojanMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We just completed our 4th visit to the Apple Bin Inn this weekend and it keeps getting better and better. It’s getting to the point where we start speculating about what fantastic breakfast Jamie and Steve will dish up weeks in advance of our trip. And, of course, breakfast is always better than our highest expectations. For those of you who are considering a stay at the Apple Bin Inn, not only will the meal be a treat but you will enjoy meeting the other guests at breakfast who have, without fail, been a very interesting and nice group of people.

This was our second stay in the Gala Suite and it is as comfortable as our own bedroom at home. It has a separate room where one of us can watch TV or the movies without bothering the other in the bedroom. Unfortunately, there is a very comfortable recliner chair which makes it almost impossible for us to stay awake watching TV. We’ve also stayed in the Empire Room twice which has its own unique charms like the balcony where one can enjoy sitting outside when the weather is nice.

The Apple Bin Inn is centrally located among the various tourist spots so you are never more than 15 or 20 minutes away from most places and are only 5 – 10 minutes away from downtown Lancaster. Steve and Jamie are immensely knowledgeable about the Lancaster area and are very helpful with advice on what to see and where to go without being obtrusive. They are two very genuinely nice people.

Another resource that we have found invaluable is the Apple Bin Inn’s list of restaurants. We have visited about half of the restaurants on the list and we have enjoyed each one.

Thank you Steve and Jamie for another outstanding visit and we look forward to seeing you next year!

Room Tip: We've stayed in both the Gala Suite and Empire Room and we would highly recommend both. There is a lot of privacy in both rooms and very quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuntBurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was our first stay at a B&B and we are now spoiled.
We had a wonderful stay.
The breakfast was so good!
We loved everything about the Apple Bin Inn!
We felt as if we were staying with family.
Thanks for making our getaway one of the best trips we've had in a long time.
Wonderful food, wonderful room, wonderful people, wonderful time!

Thomas, Beate with Daniel and Anika, Munich

Room Tip: Take the cottage!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews