We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First rate sushi” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ooka

Ooka
Ranked #1 of 87 Restaurants in Willow Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
182 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“First rate sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

By far Ooka serves the absolute best sushi anywhere!!! I've had sushi everywhere and they are the best. They also have good tempura and steak teriaki and desserts. I have only been to the Willow grove location and it is always crowded. My favorite menu items are the mango summer roll and out of control roll. I've eaten here dozens of times and I am finally writing a review. Just celebrated my sons 21st birthday here and couldn't have been a better meal. It is BYOB.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aweiss00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    38
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Willow Grove, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, small menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Went to this place with girlfriends. We had a great time. Food was excellent, price is a bit pricey but worth it. Server was very friendly and helpful. Will definitely go back again

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarach R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Like Sushi? Like Hibachi Steak Houses? You will LOVE Ooka!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Ooka, a Japanese Sushi and Hibachi Steak House, is not a new restaurant in Pennsylvania. These are 3 restaurants in the State all located near Philadelphia: one in Mongomeryville, another in Doylestown, and then there is the Willow Grove location in which I enjoyed the cuisine.

If you think that that Ooka is just another traditional Steak House then you, my friend, have not sampled the delicious food that this restaurant has to offer. Ooka was voted "Best of Philadelphia" in 2010 for that very reason, and in my opinion, that title should be reinstated.

Ooka serves such non-traditional entrees as Dim-sum Vida, a delicately cooked duck breast with ratatouille, micro mustard greens and fried leeks, offering a delicious surprise to your palate. Yes, you can order a traditional Bento Box, but then there are nouvelle cuisine dishes such as Semolina Calamari Couscous served with roasted jalapeno aioli, spicy Amazu and a lightly delicate Ponzu.

The decor is also a feast for the eyes. Appropriate for the business or casual diner, the decor and lighting will support a romantic evening as well. Modern Japanese furniture and spacious booths are set under low-light decorative lighting that affords the diner with the opportunity to see the food offered and converse without having to squint.

So, whatever you think of Japanese cuisine, traditional or fusion, the environment and food at Ooka should not be missed. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fototravlr01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenside, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gotta love Ooka!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We've eaten sushi and Japanese all over the area. Ooka does it best. Great food and good service. Bring your own sake ;)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tc82193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
202 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Outstanding food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Up here for a swim meet and it was right around the corner from our hotel. After living in Japan for 3 years, I haven't had good Japanese food since we left. This place was so good were going back tonight.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gozzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ooka also viewed

 
Willow Grove, PA
 

Been to Ooka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing