We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot in Philly Suburbs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Philadelphia Willow Grove
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Willow Grove
Naperville, IL
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Spot in Philly Suburbs”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Fairly new, very clean and very well run, easy to find. Exceptional breakfast and clean, modern breakfast area. No restaurant on the property, but the Bonefish Grill and several other nice restaurants are a short drive away. Not convenient if you don't have a car, but then, what are you going to do in the suburbs without a car anyway? Comfortable, clean bedding on a very comfortable bed. Rooms are fairly new and well kept. I'll stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NaperNewf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shs_phlwl_gm, Manager at SpringHill Suites Philadelphia Willow Grove, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Hello NaperNewf,

Everyone here at the hotel loves to hear positive things about our hotel. We thank you for taking the time to write this very welcome review. We're glad you enjoyed breakfast, as a brand SpringHill Suites rolled out a new breakfast program last year and combined with our new spacious, open, and inviting breakfast area the combination cannot be beat. We do lack a restaurant on site as you noted but there's plenty of places to go in the local area and we have information on anywhere that you might be interested in going. As for getting around, it can be a challenge in the suburbs at times but we can arrange a cab to pick up guests at the hotel if needed. Thank you again for your review we hope to see you back soon.

Stephen Ryan Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    107
    43
    9
    12
See reviews for
102
30
9
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We were there as part of a large group (room block). Part of the reason we chose the hotel was the breakfast availability to avoid having to make inconvenient stops with a group of kids.. Imagine our suprise when we saw such horrible options on a Saturday and Sunday. The food that was out on Monday morning was much better. Not sure why? We had people in the food area getting their boxes of cereal or jimmy dean sausages, and the staff was putting stuff away from under our noses, including the coffee. Then, as were sitting in the breakfast area on Sunday morning, the staff began cleaning the area, including just about banging into our ankles and chairs. Finally they told us we had to move. Front desk staff was nice. Housekeeping entered my room to clean it despite the fact that I had the do not disturb tag in my door - I'm one of those people that don't like my room cleaned while I am there for a short stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shs_phlwl_gm, Manager at SpringHill Suites Philadelphia Willow Grove, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Hello C D,

We were sorry to hear about the trouble you had during your stay. We hope any trouble you had here at the hotel did not spoil your trip. We do have a varying breakfast menu from Weekdays to Weekends. This is an attempt to keep the menu fresh and inviting for our guests. The needs of our weekend guests are sometimes different than those of our weekday guests and we do our best to cater to all of our guests. We welcome and desire to have guests use our spacious public area and lobby. However, as we're sure you can imagine we want and need to keep this space clean so our guests can enjoy it without having to worry about a mess from breakfast being left behind. If we asked you to relocate from the area it would have only been temporary and with your best interests in mind as we imagine you and your group appreciate clean and inviting public spaces to utilize. Again we’re sorry that your stay was impacted by these negative occurrences and wish to see you and your group back at our hotel in the future.

-Stephen Ryan Operations Manager-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Stayed here for a manager meeting in February 2014. This hotel is a decent place to stay. It is not the higher end Marriott properties but adequate. The beds were good, room were clean. The only complaint I have is that the bath towels are like sand paper. The staff was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travlinguy517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shs_phlwl_gm, Manager at SpringHill Suites Philadelphia Willow Grove, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hello Travelinguy517,

Thank you for posting your views about our hotel. We welcome all feedback and especially appreciate positive feedback. We would like to make you aware that we are working towards replacing all of the linen in the hotel, with new, fresh, very soft terry that will go right along with the renovations we have had here at the property. So we hope to see you and your colleagues back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Business trip and early meeting at hotel. No walk-to restaurants because of adjacent busy expressways. We took taxi to a nearby restaurant for dinner. So looking forward to full hot advertised breakfast. Disappointing. Fruit was canned Del Monte fruit cocktail. Coffee urns disappeared back to kitchen before 9:30 am plus milk and juices locked up despite our clear interest.
Front desk friendly & helpful. Bed was comfortable. Room very clean & quiet. Good free wifi service. Skimpy towels.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lois_Ottobot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shs_phlwl_gm, Manager at SpringHill Suites Philadelphia Willow Grove, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Hello Lois_Ottobot,

As we wrap up our renovation here at the hotel one of the last components has been the re-haul of our food service area. From the restaurant and seat area to the kitchen itself a lot of work had to be done. Due to the construction we modified our breakfast temporarily in the best interests of our guests. We will be back to the full SpringHill Suites breakfast program shortly, with scrambled eggs, assorted breakfast meats, waffles and the fixings soon. So you know for your next stay also, the Carrabas Italian restaurant is within walking distance to the hotel on an adjacent street. We also have many options available for food delivery to the hotel. Please on your next visit do not hesitate to inquire at the desk whenever you have a question.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutherville, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Quick trip to PA for a concert at the Keswick. The staff was great. The room appeared ok but my bed was so uneven from wear I had a tough time getting to sleep. Add an all night party across the hall, well, you get the drift. And the breakfast options were not what I expected. Jimmy Dean microwave breakfast sandwiches? I expected fresh scrambled eggs and a meat... Oh well. I'll allow some slack as many guests were dislocated from their homes as they lost power days ago from the ice storm... I'll return knowing next time what not to expect. Maybe I'll be surprised.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CandyMan627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shs_phlwl_gm, Manager at SpringHill Suites Philadelphia Willow Grove, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hello CandyMan627,

We were sorry to hear about the trouble you had with your recent stay. The hotel is just coming out of undergoing major renovations, which included replacing all of the bedding in the hotel; including brand new mattresses for every bed in every room in the hotel. The inability to get a good night’s sleep is very frustrating; we wish you would have contacted us so we could have tried to locate a bed you would have been comfortable in. As for the party across the hallway, anytime you have trouble, at our hotel or others, please do not hesitate to contact the staff and we will expedite any situation immediately. We appreciate that you did find us accommodating and friendly we aim to please and hope to see you back at the SpringHill Suites WIllow Grove soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel recently for 5 nights, and were very disappointed. While the reservation website noted a hotel renovation in progress, it really didn't disclose the extent. In fact, it was only on the day of check-in that I received an email from the hotel staff regarding the extent and time of day for the constuction. It wasn't until check-in that we were advised that one floor of the hotel was entirely clsoed, and that another floor would be taken out of service during our stay....leaving only 1 floor operational. (the website "photos" are not accurate...the must be proposed renderings after the renovations are completed).

The banging was loud, and continued for our entire stay. Much of the time, it could be heard very clearly within our room. That's not all. The contractors propped-open the outside doors, negating any security for the hotel (our room was located very close to these doors, which are supposed to be accessible via a room key only). Furthemore, the contractors saw fit to use the parking lot adjacent to the door - and just outside the window of our room - as a staging area, parking 2 tractor-trailers there during the day. When we left in the morning, our vehicle was surrounded by workers, trucks, a forklift, and other construction related materials and debris. All of this was done with no advance warning. I think we have some pictures to prove it. In a nutshell, my family and I felt like we were living right in the middle of a construction zone!

I understand hotels get renovated from time to time...and this one certainly needs it. However, had I known prior to arrival of the extent of the renovations that were actually in progress during our stay, I certainly would have reconsidred my hotel plans.

When my wife complained to the front desk about the noise, asking for a rate adjustment during our stay she was told "sorry, there's nothing we are going to do for you." Marriott has a better reputation than that, and we were definitely taken-back at the way our complaints and concerns were simply brushed-off.

Please note that we've stayed at this hotel many times in the past - even going back to when it first opened - have have never had such a poor experience.

Room Tip: Stay away for now...wait until the renovations are complete.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shs_phlwl_gm, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Philadelphia Willow Grove, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
We understand that staying at a property under renovation can impact your stay and am sorry that your recent experiance was not to the level you expect from Marriott. Due to the variances of a renovation schedule, we were only able to post limited information about the extent of our renovation on our website, but did have it posted there as well as other travel sites.

Marriott takes the security and care of our guests very seriously, and we have steps in place to ensure that all entrances are secure during non-working hours of the renovation. We also have limited the time of construction to reduce the impact on our guests.

We are excited with the changes to both our rooms and public spaces and should have our renovation completed by the end of January. We will be sure to update our website upon completion of the renovation with new pictures of our property, but in the meantime the current pictures show prototypes of what the property will look like upon completion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I've stayed at quite a number of hotels in my travels, but the SpringHill Suites in Willow Grove was one of the best, one of the very best, hotels I've ever stayed at. The room was super-spacious, clean, and comfortable beyond belief. The staff was poilte and helpful, giving accurate directions to various desinations I needed to go. The price was more than affordable. One other selling point is that the hotel is loated close to Philadelphia--a straight shot along Easton Road. I never thought I'd hear myself say this, but compared to some of the hotels I've stayed in in New York, for example, the SpringHill Suites in Wilow Grove comes out on top. I would unquestionably recommend this hotel to anyone. Wonderful place indeed!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schomburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shs_phlwl_gm, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Philadelphia Willow Grove, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent stay, and I'm gratified that thestaff took great care of you and your room. I will be sure to share your comments with all our staff. I also want to let you know that we will be undergoing a total renovation of our rooms and Public Spaces starting in November, and I know you will really love our new look. We look forward to hosting your future stays in the Willow Grove and Philadelphia area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willow Grove
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Philadelphia Willow Grove
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Philadelphia / Willow Grove
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Philadelphia Willow Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Philadelphia Willow Grove
1.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Philadelphia / Willow Grove
2.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Philadelphia Horsham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Philadelphia Willow Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Philadelphia Willow Grove

Property: SpringHill Suites Philadelphia Willow Grove
Address: 3900 Commerce Avenue, 2480 Maryland Rd, Willow Grove, PA 19090
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Willow Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Willow Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Philadelphia Willow Grove 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly remodeled SpringHill Suites Philadelphia Willow Grove is off of the Pennsylvania Turnpike just a short drive from Philadelphia International Airport (PHL). Our refreshed hotel rooms in Willow Grove feature spacious king and double/double suites. Experience sound nights of sleep on comfortable beds topped with plenty of fluffy pillows. Rooms afford guests flexible work spaces with spacious desks, free Internet access and kitchenettes equipped with microwaves, mini-refrigerators and coffeemakers. Enjoy a daily complimentary New Breakfast buffet in the re-imagined lobby area as well as our updated Market offering beer, wine, convenience foods and snacks. Additional onsite amenities include an indoor swimming pool, state-of-the-art fitness center and newly renovated business center featuring computers and facilities for printing, copying, scanning and faxing. Our Willow Grove hotel is close to popular attractions including Sesame Place(R), Peddler's Village, New Hope and Center City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Philadelphia Willow Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Philadelphia Willow Grove Hotel Willow Grove
Springhill Suites Willow Grove
Willow Grove Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing