We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love the Bonefish!”
Review of Bonefish Grill

Bonefish Grill
Ranked #5 of 87 Restaurants in Willow Grove
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Glenside, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We love the Bonefish!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

European style wait staff, great food, nice atmosphere (dining room, particularly) - this Bonefish rocks! A bit pricey, so be prepared.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tc82193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    79
    15
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Romantic atmosphere great for dates”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I visited this restaurant with my husband for the first time in this location. I was seated quickly and couldn't help to notice how DARK the place was. If you like to see your food well , this place may not be for you . The food was great but the daily special alcohol drinks were more like soda . I couldn't taste any of the "spirit". Btw I don't even drink much(maybe once a month).the service was good also. Enjoy

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sukiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslyn, PA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good food, iffy service”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We’ve come to the Willow Grove Bonefish Grill location several times over the last 6 months, and although most of the food is excellent, there’s usually one person in our party that has a complaint: food was overcooked (dry), undercooked, oily, etc. I can honestly say I always get the Bang Bang Shrimp Tacos, and they are EXCELLENT (as well as one of the more reasonably priced items on the menu) - my mouth waters just thinking about them! My husband usually gets one of their Steak offerings, which are good, but recently had an issue where they confused the heat on his steak with another member of our party of 7. We decided simply to switch out the steaks, but it was a pretty big error considering only 2 members of our party ordered steak. We also always get an appetizer, with their Crab Cake being a favorite (one of the best we’ve had), and the Thai Coconut Shrimp are delicious as well. My cousin got their Ahi Tuna Sashimi before, and said that was excellent too. Our kids always get their mac-n-cheese, and absolutely love it. Also, there is paper down on the tables, so the kids can draw & keep themselves entertained.

The one downside for us is the service. At least the last 3 visits, our servers seem kind of indifferent, disingenuous and almost like they don’t want to be there. On our last visit, a member of our party got a flavored coffee, and the whipped cream was running down the side of the glass onto the table, and the waitress just left it there and moved on – we had to ask for some napkins to try to clean it up. The managers always stop by to make sure you’re enjoying your meal, and come across as genuine. Overall we are, so we do not draw attention to these little items as we are mostly having a good time.

There is always a wait though, so call ahead for a reservation if you can. We had a party of 7 and they let us call ahead; I’m not sure if all sized parties can do so. Even so, it’s not a true reservation as we had to wait 15 minutes to get our table. Not bad overall, but it wad freezing out, and packed with people, so not much room to stand. For the nicer weather, they do have a cute sitting area outside. Also, when the restaurant is full, there it can get quite loud with all of the people talking at the same time, so don’t expect a quiet dinner out (unless it’s a weeknight). The restrooms are generally neat, and the décor of the restaurant is nice. Having children, we appreciated that they use the fake flickering candles instead of real ones in their votives. We will definitely be back, but are hoping for better, more genuine service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KalsLoisLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
122 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Ya gotta try the Sea Bass...”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The bones on the sign will look very much like your plate when you visit Bonefish Grill for their famous Chilean Sea Bass. Love this place! In addition to the amazing Sea Bass, they have great steaks and seafood on the menu. It's a bit pricey but not crazy. Lounge area is also very nice. Bartenders are attentive to your needs. If you show up and have to wait for a table, count yourself lucky. Just go visit the bar. Also a good wine list to pair with your steak or fish. Never had anything that wasn't good here.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aero-Yeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
175 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Nice seafood options outside the city”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Bonefish is definitely a higher quality restaurant than your typical "chain" restaurant options. The restaurant itself is presented in a upscale fashion. The menu has a lot of nice options, primarily seafood. The drinks from the bar could have been a bit stronger, but that's what happens when they don;t have to pour them in front of you. Bacon wrapped scallops ap was cooked to perfection. House salad is average tasting, and the main entree of shrimp and scallops was satisfying. The haricot verts were blanched to perfection

  • Visited December 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeepGirl19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonefish Grill also viewed

 

Been to Bonefish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing