We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freight Train railway right next to hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Philadelphia / Willow Grove
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Willow Grove
Massapequa, New York
Level Contributor
143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Freight Train railway right next to hotel”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Last week I had two rooms at the Hampton Inn Willow Grove. The hotel is nice, the staff is pleasant, the rooms were clean...should be a 4 or 5 dot rating.

But, if you have seen the movie My Cousin Vinny, then you can relate to the location of this hotel. Adjacent to the hotel parking lot is a freight train railway. Two times in the early morning, a freight train rumbled through. When I say through...It seemed as if the train was running between the two beds in my double bed room.

Upon checking out, I asked if many others complain about this and the hotel staff person said yes, often. She also mentioned that because it is freight railway, there is no schedule, can happen any day/time during the week.

Room Tip: Ask for an even numbered room. That is on the opposite side of the building from the railway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia / Willow Grove, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank You for chosing the Hampton Inn Willow Grove and appreciate the feedback with regards to your stay.

I know it's very hard to get a good night's rest with the train and wish the train did not reside right next to out hotel.

Glad to hear that the staff was pleasant and the rooms very clean and will share that with our staff.

Thank You again,

Suzanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    148
    101
    53
    32
See reviews for
187
80
48
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

A friend and I stayed here two weeks ago while attending a wedding a few blocks away. This hotel could not have been more convenient…right off the turnpike and midway between the church and the reception hall, all on the same road! The hotel itself was very nice. It was very clean and comfortable. The staff was what made it special. The people we spoke with were all very helpful and friendly. When we didn't see the usual rack of tourist info in the lobby a staff member directed us to a place where they were displayed. This helped with our plans for the next day. One of the nicest aspects was that the hotel provided a special room for the people who attended the wedding to enjoy breakfast with the new bride and groom the day after the wedding. Very nice complimentary tea/coffee/hot chocolate area. Nice amenities in the room, too. If traveling in this area again I would definitely stay here and I recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PittsburghPASaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia / Willow Grove, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for your nice review. We look forward to hosting you on your next trip to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Good Hotel - clean, quiet, good breakfast, courteous staff, warm cookies. Many times stay at Hampton Inns. Was there for wedding and provided separate room for the wedding party to sit for breakfast. Bed was comfortable. Would have liked a refrigerator. That is very important to me on trips. A suggestion to you Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia / Willow Grove, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You so much for staying here at the Hampton Inn-Willow Grove. We appreciate the great comments with regards to the staff and breakfast.

We are looking into refrigerators for our guest rooms. Our King Deluxe rooms have the Micro/Refridge in the rooms.

Hope to see you soon on your next visit to the Willow Grove area!!!

Thank You,

Suzanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Rooms are adequate. Rooms facing the railway tracks tend to be noisy. Complimentary breakfasts are okay and the eating area is fine. Front desk is helpful and responsive to needs. Internet access requires login every time. Housekeeping service needs vast improvement. Sometimes the room is not cleaned to our satisfaction and bathroom towels, etc are often not seen to.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Henry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Whenever I'm in the Willow Grove area I always stay at the Hampton Inn. It starts off with the friendly staff, to a nice clean room to a wonderful breakfast. They also have a great little workout rm. The price is right also

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jerseygirl E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia / Willow Grove, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the Hampton Inn-Willow Grove, Pa. I will pass on the great comments to my staff members.

Thank you so much and hope to see you at the Hampton Inn on your next visit to the Willow Grove area!!!

Thank You,

Suzanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollis Center, Maine
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

In addition to the great clean aspects of hotel, as well as an outstanding complimentary breakfast, the staff was very helpful. One thing that stood out was the friendly attitude of the entire staff, even the housekeepers in the halls. This was so different from many hotels that we have stayed at around the country and world, that it was very noticeable and worthy of comment.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Lenvang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miamisburg, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Our stay at this hotel was very good. The location of this hotel in the greater Warminster/Philadelphia, PA area worked well for our nearby family wedding. I would recommend anyone to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia / Willow Grove, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our Hampton Inn-Willow Grove for your family visit. We appreciate the kind words regarding our Hotel!!!

Come and visit us soon when you come back to the Willow Grove area!!!

Thank You,

Suzanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willow Grove
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Philadelphia Willow Grove
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Philadelphia Willow Grove
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Philadelphia Willow Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ft. Washington - Philadelphia
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ft....
#2 of 3 in Fort Washington
97 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia/Ft. Washington
1.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Philadelphia / Willow Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Philadelphia / Willow Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Philadelphia / Willow Grove

Property: Hampton Inn Philadelphia / Willow Grove
Address: 1500 Easton Road, Willow Grove, PA 19090-1221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Willow Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Willow Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Philadelphia / Willow Grove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Philadelphia / Willow Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Philadelphia / Willow Grove Hotel Willow Grove
Hampton Inn Willow Grove
Willow Grove Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing