We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has to be better choices than this”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Philadelphia / Willow Grove
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Willow Grove
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Wow, wish I read the bed bug post before I checked in but while I thankfully didn't encounter bed bugs (I did check under the mattress) , I did have to deal with poor front desk service - both checking in and out, a "fitness" center with 1 (yes 1) treadmill, an air conditioning unit that just screams "loud" all through the night (unitl finally unplugged), a microwave with a persistent clicking sound that finally stopped when I pulled its plug - didn't realize the noise until I turned off the a/c - and outdated room interiors - . On the plus side - you do get free wifi in your room and a "free" breakfast that I would gladly pay $1.99 for.

If you have no choice, lower your expectations - think motel 1 1/4 - then you can at least reach a level of some satisfaction.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel or at least until better trained staff are available and significant upgrading...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_now1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (610)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

555 - 561 of 611 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2012

I have previously stayed at many Hampton Inns and had good experiences.
This one was a major disappointment.
It is aged and in need of updating, but that is of minor concern compared to what wakened me in the early morning of June 21, 2012.
Bed bugs. One gave me a bite and with the light turned on I discovered many others crawling around the pillow. I captured a few and presented them to the front desk person who said he would reverse the room charge.
Avoid this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank RoadWarriorBluffton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Dear Guest,
We sincerely apologize for the bad experience you had while staying with us at the Hampton Inn Willow Grove. It has been a very unfortunate occurrence in our industry that these insects, known as hitchhikers, have begun to resurface in hotels across the country. Please be assured that the management and staff here at the Hampton Inn Willow Grove take bedbug reports very seriously.
We take proactive measures as soon as the report is made and immediately send our Housekeeping Manager and myself to the room to inspect. We also place the room in “out of order” status and simultaneously notify our pest control company, whom responds to the hotel on the same day. After preventative measures and any treatments that are needed occur, the pest control company will issue a certificate to say the hotel room is bedbug free. Our incidences of these insects has been very low, however, we do realize that once is one too many! We are truly sorry and do stand by our “100% Satisfaction Guarantee” and hope that we can see you again in the future.
Please feel free to contact me with any additional questions or concerns. Thank you again for your feedback.
Yours In Hospitality,
Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights and had a very good experience. It was clean, a nice continental breakfast, and a very friendly staff. Mr. Leslie (first name) worked the night shift and he was so friendly. He always said hi and carried on conversations with my three year old daughter. If we go back to that area we will positively stay at the Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: We chose this hotel because it was more reasonably priced but still within a 20 minute drive of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaron s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

We appreciate your business and glad you enjoyed your stay here at the Hampton Inn-Willow Grove. Thank You for the positive feedback and we have posted your comments to our Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stayed on this property for three nights. Arrival and check-in were fine. I did notice a train going by as there are tracks very close to this property but was assured that noise wouldn't be a problem. I was assigned a ground level room on the railroad side of the hotel. I thought this was odd since I had just brought up the train and the possibility of noise! Oh well. The second thing I notices was a musty "wet carpet" smell. I returned to the front desk and informed the gentleman there of the smell and asked if I could have another room. He said the hotel was full so no, but he'd send maintenance to see what they could do. What he sent was someone with some Febreze or something similar. The room smelled a little better but was still noticeable. Since I had no choice I figured I'd tough it out. Later as I prepared to get into bed I noticed dark, smudge looking marks on the duvet. I returned to the front desk and asked for it to be replaced. Two hours later someone brought me a freshly laundered one that I had to replace myself. The next morning as I went to open the curtains wearing only socks I discovered the reason for the musty smell. The carpet was wet in the corner nearest the window. Looked as if someone was working on the A/C unit there from the work-boot footprint left on the wet carpet.

Bottom line is that the room should have been placed out of service but wasn't. I expected better from a Hampton Inn property. Breakfast and such was fair but spread out all over the place.

Room Tip: Railroad tracks on the South side of the hotel. The sound of passing trains can be heard as late as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AB_Orlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Stayed here for business. On its best day, this hotel is average.

Pros - location, friendly staff, continental breakfast looked fine. Did not hear occupants in the hall or in other connecting rooms

Cons - room was dirty. Found pills (hopefully the Tylenol-type) on the floor from a previous traveler, carpet and duvet were dirty, phone was especially filthy. Only one of two elevators is operational. Staff, while friendly, was not particularly professional. A/C is loud. My room was next to the boiler room which provided especially jolting noises during the night.

I am an admitted 4-star hotel fan, so take this review with a grain of salt, but for a mid-grade location, I expected more.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLT_NC_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Had reservations for two and had called in advance to advise we would have a very late check in. Was assured that is not a problem. Upon arrival, we were both given handicap rooms. I asked if we could change, and was told they had a broken water pipe and all rooms were full. Maybe it was valid; I don't know. They did lower the rate a little, so that was nice. The bed and pillows were not the quality I would expect of a Hampton. The room was older and just not quite to the Hampton standards I would expect. Breakfast was good, but not great. it was fine for a quick stay, but not typical of most Hampton's.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Happy with breakfast, very accommodating with reception/meeting room. Beds were comfy and great. No negatives to report. It worked perfectly for all of us.

Room Tip: no pool at this location. I can't speak to quality of exercise space. Hospitality was great for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willow Grove
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Philadelphia Willow Grove
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Philadelphia Willow Grove
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Philadelphia Willow Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia/Ft. Washington
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ft. Washington - Philadelphia
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Horsham Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Philadelphia / Willow Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Philadelphia / Willow Grove

Address: 1500 Easton Road, Willow Grove, PA 19090-1221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Willow Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Willow Grove
Price Range: $81 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Philadelphia / Willow Grove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Philadelphia / Willow Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Philadelphia / Willow Grove Hotel Willow Grove
Hampton Inn Willow Grove
Willow Grove Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing