We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected better from a Hampton Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Philadelphia / Willow Grove
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Willow Grove
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Expected better from a Hampton Inn”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stayed on this property for three nights. Arrival and check-in were fine. I did notice a train going by as there are tracks very close to this property but was assured that noise wouldn't be a problem. I was assigned a ground level room on the railroad side of the hotel. I thought this was odd since I had just brought up the train and the possibility of noise! Oh well. The second thing I notices was a musty "wet carpet" smell. I returned to the front desk and informed the gentleman there of the smell and asked if I could have another room. He said the hotel was full so no, but he'd send maintenance to see what they could do. What he sent was someone with some Febreze or something similar. The room smelled a little better but was still noticeable. Since I had no choice I figured I'd tough it out. Later as I prepared to get into bed I noticed dark, smudge looking marks on the duvet. I returned to the front desk and asked for it to be replaced. Two hours later someone brought me a freshly laundered one that I had to replace myself. The next morning as I went to open the curtains wearing only socks I discovered the reason for the musty smell. The carpet was wet in the corner nearest the window. Looked as if someone was working on the A/C unit there from the work-boot footprint left on the wet carpet.

Bottom line is that the room should have been placed out of service but wasn't. I expected better from a Hampton Inn property. Breakfast and such was fair but spread out all over the place.

Room Tip: Railroad tracks on the South side of the hotel. The sound of passing trains can be heard as late as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AB_Orlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    148
    100
    53
    32
See reviews for
186
80
48
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Stayed here for business. On its best day, this hotel is average.

Pros - location, friendly staff, continental breakfast looked fine. Did not hear occupants in the hall or in other connecting rooms

Cons - room was dirty. Found pills (hopefully the Tylenol-type) on the floor from a previous traveler, carpet and duvet were dirty, phone was especially filthy. Only one of two elevators is operational. Staff, while friendly, was not particularly professional. A/C is loud. My room was next to the boiler room which provided especially jolting noises during the night.

I am an admitted 4-star hotel fan, so take this review with a grain of salt, but for a mid-grade location, I expected more.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLT_NC_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Had reservations for two and had called in advance to advise we would have a very late check in. Was assured that is not a problem. Upon arrival, we were both given handicap rooms. I asked if we could change, and was told they had a broken water pipe and all rooms were full. Maybe it was valid; I don't know. They did lower the rate a little, so that was nice. The bed and pillows were not the quality I would expect of a Hampton. The room was older and just not quite to the Hampton standards I would expect. Breakfast was good, but not great. it was fine for a quick stay, but not typical of most Hampton's.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohiio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Happy with breakfast, very accommodating with reception/meeting room. Beds were comfy and great. No negatives to report. It worked perfectly for all of us.

Room Tip: no pool at this location. I can't speak to quality of exercise space. Hospitality was great for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Not quite up to par with other Hampton Inns we've stayed in. The staff was helpful, but be aware there are no laundry facilities onsite. Also no pool. We packed light with the extra charge for checking luggage on planes these days and had to go to local laundramat. The breakfast was about what we've had at other hotels we've stayed at recently.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcrcretire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

My wife & booked a room as we were coming from out of town to attend a wedding. We we arrived back at our room around 11 pm we discovered the room air conditioner/heating unit did not work. We called the front desk and spoke to the manager. He said he would try to find us another room in the hotel.
He called back a few minutes later and said the hotel was full so could we stay in the room with a full refund? The room was warm, but we were tired and we did not want to try to find another place or drive 3 hours home. He was very apologetic. He did the best he could in a bad situation. We dealt with it and also knew this was not the normal for a Hampton Inn. For the most part Hampton Inns are very clean and well run and they have used the business model of the fast food industry--consistency.
The only other little issue was that they had run out of hot chocolate at the breakfast buffet.
No big deal though.
The staff were all very pleasant.

Room Tip: When you first arrive always check to see that the room ac/heating unit is operational.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Specman728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy E, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia / Willow Grove, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Mr. S,

Thank you for your review and kind words concerning our staff. We apologize again for the warm night that you had to endure as a guest of our hotel. I am happy to report that we will be getting a shipment of 75 new units this week, so you should find your next trip to our hotel to be a much cooler experience!

Best regards,

Brian Jungling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Stayed here for two nights on business this past week. This place needs some updating. The best analogy I can think of is this: It's like being in middle school and getting your sports team jerseys handed down to you from the JV team who previously got them handed down to them from the Varsity team...though they might still look okay for the most part, wayy too many other people have sweated int it and no matter how much laundry you do it still feels like theirs this un-treatable grimy film.

The Bad:
Rooms were outdated. Toilet seat had mark on it when I checked into room. towels smelled like cigarettes even after they'd been replaced with new ones (I think the disinfectant they use for laundry may be causing this). Iron was very worn and little foil flakes flaked off onto my clothe. Room coffee pot had visible film in it like standing water sat in it for a while prior to just finally evaporating--was afraid to make coffee for fear of mold/mildew. Although I left my AC cranked to the highest it could go, it was still too warm in the room for me to sleep comfortably despite the 40 degree weather outside. I would have been glad to open the window even but that's not an option. Air conditioner was extremely EXTREMELY noisy and made it very difficult to sleep. Still, temperature was too warm for comfort so it was a necessary vice to put up with. Breakfast was nothing to get excited about, very basic and I'd consider it more continental than anything (oh well breakfast at most hotels is nothing to brag about). Elevator door looked like someone took a couple fists to it and one of them definitely smelled like a combination of popcorn and cat urine.

The Good:
Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. No complaint there. Free WiFi and 24-hour coffee/tea was nice.

I've stayed at other Hampton Inn locations in the past and have had much cleaner and more newly renovated grounds. While I won't be the first to check into this location again, I would still be likely to choose Hampton Inn in general.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CuseGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willow Grove
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Philadelphia Willow Grove
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Philadelphia Willow Grove
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Philadelphia Willow Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ft. Washington - Philadelphia
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ft....
#2 of 3 in Fort Washington
96 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia/Ft. Washington
1.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Philadelphia / Willow Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Philadelphia / Willow Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Philadelphia / Willow Grove

Property: Hampton Inn Philadelphia / Willow Grove
Address: 1500 Easton Road, Willow Grove, PA 19090-1221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Willow Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Willow Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Philadelphia / Willow Grove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Philadelphia / Willow Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Philadelphia / Willow Grove Hotel Willow Grove
Hampton Inn Willow Grove
Willow Grove Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing