We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Candlewood Suites-Williamsport” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Williamsport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Williamsport
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Williamsport
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Candlewood Suites-Williamsport”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Spent the last weekend(5/30/14-61/14) at this hotel. Was our first stay at this hotel but not in Williamsport(we come here every 2 years while my husband works in DC as this is about the half way point for us to meet). We traveled with a teenager and a pet, so the king suite worked well. Un happy that there wasn't a grassy area for me to walk my dog other than a small spot by the grills. The A/C for the room really didn't cool the separate bedroom so we ended up wal-mart to buy a fan. Pool says indoor heated, the room the pool is in is very warm but the pool wasn't. The hot breakfast was shared with the best western so that meant we would have to go to the next hotel over(short walk) to eat. My boys opted to sleep late and we went to Denny's. Check-in/out staff was very friendly as was the housekeeping staff. King bed was comfortable and my son was happy on the sofa sleeper. The kitchenette was great also we bought some snacks back after our big day out. They also offer a late check-out which we used so we could a few minutes longer as a family.

Room Tip: Many restaurants within walking distance. Also ask for a room on the back side of the hotel although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donovan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Williamsport, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Donovan M,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted to hear that you were pleased with our friendly hotel staff and comfortable room accommodations. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to know that we were able to meet some of your expectations.

I apologize for the shortfalls that hindered you from fully enjoying your stay. I have noted your feedback and shared them with our hotel management to consider looking into areas that needs improvement.

It was real pleasure that you chose us for your travel needs and hope we have the chance to host you again next time.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    27
    12
    12
    9
See reviews for
33
13
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We picked this hotel because it was the closest "nice" place to Cherry Springs State Park (approx. 2 hours out.) The place has studio-style rooms with kitchenettes and also has a gym and free laundry machines there.

If you're planning on camping out up there or are doing a longer roadtrip, this would be a great oasis. You could save money by cooking for yourself in the well-outfitted kitchenette and maybe get through some of the laundry for long trips.

No complaints - good location (off highway), great amenities for people looking for quality on a budget and nice staff.

Note: Make sure you look at the Google Maps view before driving there - the location is behind another hotel off the main road so it took us a few minutes of circling to locate the actual place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill
Level Contributor
109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The location is easy to get to and handy to fast food and the highway. It's quiet--not a lot of noise from the highway. The fridge was useful, and there is a free breakfast provided across the parking lot at the Best Western. This is not a fancy hotel, but it was clean and quiet. The downside was the bed was just OK and the bathtub drained slowly. Room cleaning is just every 3 days. For ambiance, pick a b&b or downtown hotel. For cost, pick this one.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbaChapelHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Williamsport, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear mbaChapelHill,

Thank you for staying and taking the time to post a review about our hotel. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to the condition of our beds and bathrooms. Rest assured that I have shared your feedback with our hotel management to consider improvements where needed.

I hope to have another chance of hosting you should your travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

The Good: The hotel room was clean; access to a kitchenette is great, particularly for longer stays; the lending libraries and honor system for the snacks is a nice touch; location is good.

The Bad: The stairwells were dirty; if you are sensitive to smoke, the smokers gather at the front lobby of the hotel, so it's not the most inviting welcome; Amenities state "spa" - there is no spa here. There is a "heated" pool that is supposed to be 80 degrees, but it was cold.

The Ugly: We typically stay in 3 and 4 stars, but are on an extended road trip and didn't want to drop a grand on hotels, so we went with this 2 star hotel through "Express Deals" on PL.

Having just encountered this in our stay in Hazleton, upon check-in, they attempted to provide us with a single queen bed. I hadn't slept the night before at our CW Suites room and my heart sunk when we booked this "Express Deal" through PL and this hotel's name popped up. The front desk personnel told us she could not change the room we booked.

After calling PL, she phoned the front desk at CW Suites and was told we would be charged $65 additional dollars to "upgrade" to a room with two beds. So, we'd be paying double for our $90 hotel room once taxes were added for a two star? NO THANK YOU! PL basically relayed that we were out of luck if we didn't pay the additional $65 and the PL customer service rep said that the hotel was charging us too much for the room. The front desk then phoned her manager and was told she could change us to a king sized room. This hour long ordeal was frustrating and seemingly deceptive.

I've never stayed in a hotel with only one bed that isn't a king. Most often, there are either two beds or a king. PL's express deals policy is that the accommodations will accommodate two people. The only circumstance most people wish to a share a bed with someone is when you are with your partner. However, what if you don't want to share a queen bed with your fellow traveler, as when you travel with a co-worker or any other person who isn't your partner?

I'm not sure who to be more disappointed in - Candlewood Suites for offering what feels like deceptive practices of offering one queen bed to accommodate two people or Priceline for allowing them to do that? I've never run into that issue at any other hotel until these two Candlewood Suites locations.

Room Tip: Confirm bed choice before booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vagabond_Yogini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Williamsport, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Vagabond_Yogini,

We appreciate that you took the time to leave a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good.

I would love the opportunity to regain your faith in the Candlewood Suites Williamsport, PA Hotel and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding your stay.

Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Williamsport hotels

West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I stayed at this property in late March for an extended business trip. I felt very comfortable there and the rooms are nice and clean. I would recommend this hotel for it's great accommodations as well as central location! I will be returning in June for another stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

On my recent trip to Williamsport, I stayed in the Candlewood for a business trip. The hotel was very clean and Laurie at the front desk was very accommodating. The hotel is very close to several restaurants and within walking distance of the Friday's Restaurant. The price was
just right and close enough to the downtown area. .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrazySeminole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

First I would like to state this is my second long term stay at this hotel....actually 3rd; and there are No Bugs here....if there were bugs they came with you. This place is awesome. Obviously the person making this complaint has a personal issue. I stayed here while you were here Amy G. and your husband was asked to leave because he was intoxicated and threatening staff and children of guests; as well as making racial slurs. Now for most of the human population they know using a debit card at a hotel is an issue. My suggestion....use a credit card....debit card procedures are explained at check in...maybe your husband didn't quite get that. Thirdly...Candlewood is considered a long term hotel...all long term hotels clean every few days or weekly. Please educate yourself and control the drinking before publicly bashing. These people are.great people and work hard to give us that stay here the feeling of home. They are superb in their abilities and go above and beyond. This is a great hotel where I and my children can feel safe and welcomed. It is clean and comfortable....traveling 49 weeks a year I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Williamsport or the surrounding area.
.

Room Tip: This staff will help you pick the perfect room for your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moniquez412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsport hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Williamsport
Comfort Inn Williamsport
#9 of 14 in Williamsport
4.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Williamsport Inn
BEST WESTERN Williamsport Inn
#5 of 14 in Williamsport
4.0 of 5 stars 286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsport Faxon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Genetti Hotel - Williamsport
Genetti Hotel - Williamsport
#4 of 14 in Williamsport
4.5 of 5 stars 467 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Williamsport
1.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Williamsport
Red Roof Inn Williamsport
#11 of 14 in Williamsport
3.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Williamsport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Williamsport

Property: Candlewood Suites Williamsport
Address: 1836 E 3rd St, Williamsport, PA 17701-3914
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Williamsport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Williamsport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Williamsport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Williamsport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. Our brand new Candlewood Suites Hotel is located off I-180 in beautiful Williamsport, PA, home of the Little League World Series. The Candlewood Suites Hotel is just minutes from major Williamsport businesses such as the Williamsport Regional Airport, Pennsylvania College of Technology, Lycoming College, Brodart, Woolrich, Kellogg's, Susquehanna Health Systems, Textron Lycoming, & Grizzly. Our hotel offers great relocation rates through Williamsport's GMAC, Remax, & Prudential offices. Located in the heart of central PA, our hotel is close to many area attractions that include Penn State Football, Pennsylvania Grand Canyon, Knoebles Amusement Park, and various PIAA & NCAA tournaments. At the Candlewood Suites Hotel in Williamsport we put the amenities where they belong, in your room! The fully equipped kitchen allows you to cook meals and relax in the overstuffed recliner while watching a movie from our free DVD collection. An executive style desk allows you to work in the comfort of your room and access the web with our free high speed Internet. Working out just got easier in our free fitness center or take advantage of our free laundry room! Great alternative to a corporate apartment. The Candlewood Suites Williamsport is also within walking distance of many local restaurants including TGI Friday's. Receive 1,000 Priority Club Points when you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Candlewood Suites Williamsport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Williamsport
Williamsport Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing